We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, comfortable fabulous place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #101 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable fabulous place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel ticked all the boxes for me and my daughter for a three day city break to Amsterdam. Neither of us had been to holland before so were grateful for all the advice and help from hotel staff, be it reception, bar and restaurant. Our room on the first floor was roomy, clean and modern with the black cube as the bathroom(see photos) we don't use minibars so didn't notice prices, we found that prices for food and drink were similar to those in the city and our ribeye steaks were really good. Breakfast was included in our deal and everything was fresh, fruit, breads, cooked courses are kept hot so nothing spoils and the choice is plentiful.
trams #7 and 10 would take you west towards the museum sector along the canal. The connections then head into Central station we bought a day card which lasts 24hrs from time of purchase ideal if you know what your plans are- you can get two or three day passes but we only needed the one as everything else we had planned on seeing was within walking distance of each spot. To get direct from the hotel to Central station walk a little further east and there's #9 or 14 straight there, there's also the metro but we prefer to see the sights as we travel. Our hotel gave us a great little city map which show what bus and trams run along which direction- an absolute must until you get used to the city plan - I just love maps anyway. We didn't stay out in the evenings not being sure what times the trams stopped although we were walking all day so were ready for a lovely meal and drinks before planning our next day's entertainment.
In all the time we spent sightseeing, museums, eating and drinking we found the people here very friendly and helpful - thanks go to two tram ticket booth guys ( on the tram) they were so helpful and had a great sense of humour - doesn't matter what language you speak they can convey your wishes in a flash - wish I could say the same in some other countries!!
Take a good look at these staircases in the Arena they are awesome. We'll be back

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SIB444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    984
    387
    147
    101
See reviews for
183
1,507
78
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I visited this hotel for my partners graduation and our four year anniversary so were expecting great things. The hotel was beautiful with well structures furnishings and friendly staff. Our room was on two floors which was a pleasant surprise. The only downfall of this hotel was the cleanliness our room did have dirty marks on the floor and fecal matter left from the previous occupant still on the toilet seat. The curtains had some dirty marks on them but everything else was nice and clean. I would really recommend this hotel and hopefully visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demixwootten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My Wife and I spent two days here in November and cannot fault the hotel on anything at all. the Hotel is Brilliant, we decided prior to arrival to upgrade to a studio and found the room much better than we had anticipated, the heating was perfect and the bathroom was very spacious and the bed was more comfortable than my own at home. The whole Hotel was spotlessly clean. the staff were very pleasant and very helpful with everything, I had ordered the airport return Time wrong and reception got it changed for me straight away with no fuss at all even though they had no obligation to do it. The bar prices were no Different to Central Amsterdam and the Food in the Restaurant was Delicious. the Hotel is about 20 minutes casual walk to Rembrandt Square in the centre of Amsterdam and about 9 minutes by No9 tram to Dam Square. we will be returning again in February as we were so impressed with this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonlout64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the arena on a 70th birthday bash too Amsterdam . 6 blokes and we found this hotel absolutely fantastic ....... Some of the guys had visited Amsterdam lots before and all said by far the arena the best hotel they stayed in ....... Would recommend and return

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haren, Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Disappointed as need wifi and it is used by too many people in the hotel, they claim, and therefore it does not work. Location is fine, decor too. Building beautiful, staff friendly. Would not go here again unless they can guarantee wifi will work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bettie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

One of the best features in this hotel is that some of the rooms ( like the one we had) have "two" floors, where there is a difference between the living area and the bedroom. It felt a bit like having an small apartment. The location is brilliant as you can get a tram to both ends of Amsterdam so you are really spoiled for choices. The hotel itself is impressive, but the services available i must say left us a bit indifferent. The cleaning services didn't replace the towels once and another time they left us with non. The teas and coffees; i had to go down to reception desk twice in a week to get them as we didnt have any. Expensive but a good exprience with a bit of hitch but still i recomand the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKMIca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is a tram ride away from Central Station (tram 9) however it doesn't take too long to get to the hotel. There are also trams to Leidseplein (trams 7 and 10) where there are many bars and restaurants.

The hotel was very clean and had the building had its own character which you wouldn't get from chain hotels. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful.

Our room was very clean and the room had very tall ceilings which I thought was an interesting feature. The shower was very good and the TV had lots of channels including BBC. The bed was good and we slept well although we had twin beds put together to make a double.

I have no really complaints about the hotel. Would I stay there again, yes. Although the tram stop is convenient, if you the sort of person who wants everything within walking distance you might want to try somewhere a little more central. Saying that, the price we paid was very good and you will similar prices in central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank accusedcashew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#129 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#82 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#62 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Property: Hotel Arena
Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 55, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arena is located in one of the most beautiful parks of Amsterdam, the Oosterpark. In the popular East side of the city and at only 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre. The hotel is located in a historic building that once functioned as an orphanage and nursing-home. Besides hotel rooms, Hotel Arena has a café- restaurant PARK with amazing food and great views on the park, a hidden patio, creative studios for meetings & events and an old chapel to be used for events. With high ceilings, large windows, sloping walls, wooden beams and original ornaments no room in our hotel is the same. But each room does have a flat-screen TV, air conditioning, seating area and private bathroom. The hotel offers 24-hour reception, free WiFi, bicycle rental and a host that is always there for you to share various insider tips during your unforgettable stay. The hotel's entrance is accessible via the Oosterpark. Parking is available via the underground garage. Several trams stop are around the corner and offer good and fast connections to the main attractions of the city such as Museum Square, Leidseplein, Rembrandtplein and the Dam Square. Experience Hotel Arena: a green oasis in the vibrant centre of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing