We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room; helpful staff; easy access to city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #101 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice room; helpful staff; easy access to city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Business stay at the hotel so used the restaurant a few times, food was good and breakfast OK as well. Nice area to sit out if the weather is fine. Some of the decor and furnishings are a bit battered and in need of a change/paint. Had a top floor room which was really quiet. Easy tram and metro access from the hotel. Not much within walking distance for eating out.

Room Tip: Top floor very quiet, but only 1 lift and no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Shug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you had a good business stay in our hotel. We are currently renovating some rooms and we have put our priority at maintenance in all rooms.
I would like to invite you to come back in a small period of time, so we can show you the work we have done.

Thank you again for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    984
    387
    147
    101
See reviews for
183
1,507
78
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have just returned from a weekend break at the Hotel Arena, where I booked a suite which I was very much looking forward to staying in for my husband's 40th birthday. the suite was a wonderful size with gorgeous high ceilings and huge bath, however very disappointing that it was in desperate need of decorating, the walls were all stained and mould around the shower.
The toilet when flushed also splashes all over the floor. I didnt complain as I didnt want it to tarnish our stay.

The staff were incredibly helpful and the communal areas of hotel gorgeous. although out of the centre of Amsterdam where we have stayed before, this was actually nice and easy to hop on the train or tram.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Murphy2012,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to read that you liked the suite, staff and location of our hotel. Concerning your other comments, please rest assured that we have already resolved the problem with the toilet and I also briefed the maintenance and housekeeping department to prevent future occurrence.
It was a pleasure having you in our hotel, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Myself and my husband have just returned from a short break in Amsterdam and stayed at the Hotel Arena for the 2nd time (3rd time for my husband). Yes, the location is out of the main city centre but in some respects this is nice - it's a lot quieter and is certainly in a picturesque area right beside The Oosterpark. The tram ride to the hotel was about 20 minutes from Central Station and 10 minutes from Dam and Rembrandt Place (the main shopping and nightlife areas). This was by no means an inconvenience to us as we took in the sights during our tram rides.

We were treated so well by all staff at the hotel and they couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and were attentive to our needs.

We were fortunate enough to stay there whilst they held a Latin Salsa Party Night in the nightclub that adjoins the hotel. As residents we were given free entrance to the club and enjoyed a great night out without the hassle of having to travel far to our hotel room...... Once we were back in our room we couldn't hear any noise from the club which closed at 4am!!

Our Deluxe Studio Room was superb. In a quiet part of the hotel with an amazing queen size bed, lounge area and wet room with bath, we couldn't have asked for a more comfortable stay.

We will certainly be returning once more to stay at this wonderful, characteristic hotel.

Room Tip: The deluxe studio room we had was at the top of the building so no noise from guests above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Marc,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy you could experience the Latin Salsa party at our hotel. I have forwarded your kind words to my entire team. It will help them to continuously strive for perfection within Hotel Arena.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in Amsterdam for another stay at Hotel Arena!

Warmest regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel as a building is amazing. Rooms are very spacious, clean and the bathroom is very well designed. The breakfast buffet was great however, they didn't serve fried eggs. I would definately choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Efrosyni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Efrosyni,

We are very pleased with your kind words on Tripadvisor. I will share your comments with my team.
I am very sorry that there were no fried eggs available. I have forwarded your comments to our chef and food & beverage manager. We normally offer boiled and scrambled eggs on the buffet and as we have an open kitchen, we are happy to make guests a special if requested.

Thank you again for your feedback. We will be pleased to welcome you again in Hotel Arena.

Best regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have just returned from a few days' break at the Hotel Arena in Amsterdam. The hotel itself is lovely and the communal areas have been well kept and are in keeping with the old building. Our room was in the quiet area of the hotel, and apart from the odd door shutting, there was little noise. The room was well decorated, though some TLC is required, There was some mold on the trim of the shower area, but as one reviewer has already indicated, you need to be careful when showering as the shower area is completely open. We sorted this out by angling the showerhead away from the toilet and putting the bathmat as a barrier to contain the water. All a bit unnecessary in a 4* hotel. Also some attention to the house keeping duties did lack. We were given a choice of tea bags. We only used one type and on returning to the room after cleaning, the tea bags were not replenished. We also found that the towels were not collected on another day, although they were in full view of the housekeeping staff. All of these little points make a hotel a 4* and not 3*.

The only real problem with this hotel is the location. Whilst it is in a residential area of Amsterdam, it is definitely not near anywhere to walk. It would take you over 30 mins to walk from Central Station to the hotel. So, you need to take trams everywhere. If you don't factor in the costs of the trams, then you might be in for a surprise.

All-in-all, a good hotel in quiet surroundings. If you are looking to be able to walk to a restaurant in the evenings after a hard day sight-seeing - this is definitely not the place for you. The hotel does have a restaurant but it is exorbitant prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie24Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Mrs Charlie,

Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor.

Working in our hotel on TLC is one of our priorities of which we have already made a good progress. It is an ongoing process and I am sure we will succeed.
It is true that our hotel is situated in a residential area near the Oosterpark and the zoo. This gives you the possibility of enjoying the typical Amsterdam lifestyle. If you would like to go to the main sightseeing spots, we also offer the possibility of renting a bike for a fixed rate at our hotel. By riding a bike, you will see Amsterdam in a unique way.


If we have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future, we will be able to show you the progress and good work. Please ask the reception to find you a suited restaurant in the area, we have plenty nice restaurants at walking distance. Hopefully, see you soon!

Warmest regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

we stayed here the weekend commencing the 23rd May.Convenient location,very clean,really super breakfasts.The room itself was bright and airy with a fantastic shower/wetroom,the only downside was the twin beds,they were,by far,the worst beds i have ever tried to sleep on and my partner agreed.As we were only there for 2 nights it wasnt worthwhile complaining,so we didnt bother,but it really spoiled the experience

Room Tip: ask to try the beds first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrvyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Merrvyn,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you had an overall good stay at our hotel. Nevertheless, the state of the bed/mattress worries me. I have instructed my maintenance manager to check every bed, as sleep comfort is very important for us and our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in Hotel Arena.

Warmest regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend (May 24/27). Our initial observations was that it looked really nice. There is a restaurant out the front ( which is over priced and not fantastic) and a very welcoming reception area. Unfortunately, as you descend into the hotel in any direction away from the entrance, the cleanliness and style starts to waiver. Our room was filthy.....we had to ask to be moved. I know you expect scuff marks and detritus on the carpets from people walking etc but it was gross! The bathroom was another issue. The style of the hotel is that our bathroom is next to your living area with just a transparent black pane of glass separating them so every time the lavatory was required the other person had to leave the room just so to have some privacy! After we got moved, the standard of the room was much better and we were happier but it seems all the rooms are very much the same in regards to the bathroom and lack of privacy!
The reception staff were very polite and welcoming....as were hotel staff around the building, but two out of the three mornings we were woken up by house keeping coming into the room even though the 'do not disturb' sign was on the door!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaporin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Mr. Aquaporin,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

Please accept my sincerest apologies concerning the cleanliness of your first room. I have forwarded this issue to our housekeeping manager, please rest assured that we will take appropriate measures. We are happy to read that you asked for a second room and that the cleanliness was to your standards.
We have also addressed the housekeeping department concerning the disturbance when you had the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the door. This should not have happened and I apologize for the inconvenience.
Finally, I would like to thank you for your kind words concerning the staff friendliness.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you better in the future.

Warmest regards,

Willem Bleuland van Oordt
General Manager Hotel Arena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#129 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#82 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#62 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Property: Hotel Arena
Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 55, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arena is located in one of the most beautiful parks of Amsterdam, the Oosterpark. In the popular East side of the city and at only 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre. The hotel is located in a historic building that once functioned as an orphanage and nursing-home. Besides hotel rooms, Hotel Arena has a café- restaurant PARK with amazing food and great views on the park, a hidden patio, creative studios for meetings & events and an old chapel to be used for events. With high ceilings, large windows, sloping walls, wooden beams and original ornaments no room in our hotel is the same. But each room does have a flat-screen TV, air conditioning, seating area and private bathroom. The hotel offers 24-hour reception, free WiFi, bicycle rental and a host that is always there for you to share various insider tips during your unforgettable stay. The hotel's entrance is accessible via the Oosterpark. Parking is available via the underground garage. Several trams stop are around the corner and offer good and fast connections to the main attractions of the city such as Museum Square, Leidseplein, Rembrandtplein and the Dam Square. Experience Hotel Arena: a green oasis in the vibrant centre of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing