We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a better location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rembrandtplein Hotel
Ranked #316 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Firstly I'd like to say that people who write negative reviews about this place should have the common sense to read reviews before booking then they might not be so disappointed! I read the reviews before I booked so wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the reception staff, a pug and a hairless cat!! We were given a room on the top floor so had a hike to the room but was expecting this due to the hotel being a typical Dutch canal house. It is run down and needs a re-vamp (the staff don't deny this) but the room was a decent size, comfortable bed and clean bathroom. I didn't have time to worry about whether the TV worked or not as we were too busy going out, exploring the city. Pierro on reception gave us a map and a very detailed description of the best places to visit and how to get there. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Amsterdam as the location is perfect and the price was affordable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19 on the top floor which was fine for us as we're not shy of a bit of exercis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

thank you for your time to write us a review ,it has been a pleasure having you as our guests. we think your review describes correctly our hotel . being an old monumental building brings a lot of maintenance and we experienced a broken cable from the TV signal , It has been fixed finally.Luckily Amsterdam has to offer so much more to compensate the TV . Our building is a very old monumental canal house build on wooden polls, due to weather condition the buildings in (old )Amsterdam are moving and causing cables to break , plumbing to leak etc. as you saw some building lean over to the left or right . we look forward to welcome you back anytime. sincerely Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

First off - this hotel is in a great location.

The hotel itself is quite old but as long as you aren't expecting 5 star rooms, it's very comfortable. It's an old building so there is no lift, only stairs and there are 4 storeys so beware you will be carrying bags/luggage. We stays on the third floor. I must admit the walls are thin so you will hear your neighbours. We only had a 2 night stay and were on a budget so for us, being in the room was really just for sleeping only. Other than that, the bed was comfortable, the room itself and bathroom were clean.

The staff were very friendly and more than accommodating. The owners also have a gorgeous pug dog that is usually in reception for play time.

The hotel has free wifi - but nearly everywhere we went does, so you won't really have to rely on being at the hotel to get it.

The hotel also has a basement room for smokers :) and there was also a bar and meal area on the ground level. 1 night after drinking out and everything was closed, the staff served us at the bar and put music on etc. Much appreciated when everything else closes. Sorry that we drank most of the alcohol they had in stock. :)

Room Tip: If you can get room 21 or 22 i think on the top floor - much bigger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

thank you for your time to write us your review , we appreciate it and it has been a pleasure having you as our guests in the hotel . we will continue to seek for improvements to make your next stay an even more memorable one. we look forward to welcome you again in the near future , sincerely. manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Shabby run down interior, not clean, no towels, tv or wifi. Staff try but seemed embarrassed by poor quality. No hot water after eight, don't et in room attracts mice so manager said, it really is poor quality.

Location is great and staff tried but overall it's just done, sign on stairs says neer renovation so not the case.

Room Tip: Don't believe if they say you have been upgraded lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Therunt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

we regret you didn't enjoy your stay with us , within the budget and classification that we are we did our best to make your stay a pleasant one. we will evaluate your review and will do our best to improve the experience to stay with us. sincerely manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

excellent location, very friendly staff and decent breakfast, but very poor conditions (old bed sheets, cold and very small room, hotel not renovated, small stairs, thin walls).
i would not recommend it if you have other reasonable priced options. certainly not for couples.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Radu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Room Tip: Advise more pillows be available to guests, mattress in our room could do with being replaced, unabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rembrandtpleinhotel, Manager at Rembrandtplein Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Loved staying at the hotel for my friends 21st. The staff were lovely and the rooms were clean only downfall was bedding had a few stains which we asked to be changed but they were only swapped around rather than being changed

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 374 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 374 in Amsterdam
662 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#213 of 374 in Amsterdam
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#203 of 374 in Amsterdam
490 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#187 of 374 in Amsterdam
364 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#305 of 374 in Amsterdam
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandtplein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandtplein Hotel

Address: Groenburgwal 27, 1011 HR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £64 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rembrandtplein Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Rembrandtplein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing