We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, stay elsewhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Ranked #206 of 253 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Staff are so rude, stay somewhere else. We saw a guy try to have a shower 5 minutes after he checked out and was told to get out. Obviously these guys make you pay up front. We tried to cancel some of our nights to go elsewhere but they wouldnt refund any money. Rooms have nowhere to put anything, limited seats and beds are very very close to each other. Stairs to get up there are a pain. Showers and toilets are not good because you share with so many people. Sometimes they are clean if you're lucky. The common area is tiny (one couch) and breakfast is not good.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelcosmos A, General Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Hi Craig,

Thank you for staying! We are sorry that you had a bad experience, we did not know about this when you stayed with us. But if people check out, than it is a bit strange they come back and shower? Normally our guests do that before they check out. Maybe there was a reason (privacy/safety) to ask that guest to leave that you don't know about.

You could have let us know if you found the toilet dirty, we will clean it. We do our best but sometimes we have to wait for the moment that it is possible.

In Amsterdam the rooms of hostels are similar to ours, so we do our best and offer comfy beds and clean rooms.

We also have terms and conditions you accepted before booking, so please read them to avoid disappointments. It is normal you pay on arrival as in every other hostel. We offer free coffee and tea, so maybe you had the breakfast at another hostel?

We are sorry if you thought we were rude, we really want to have a good atmosphere and no difficulties.

We would really like to make it up to you, so when you are back in Amsterdam, please let us know.

Kind regards,

Cosmos staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

We turned up fairly late (around 11pm) having driven over from Bath that day and were met with the news that there had been a mistake with our booking, and that they were really but we were being moved to a private four person dorm instead of a 12 person dorm (there were 4 of us). What a result!!

The hostel is a little far out, but to be honest if you are travelling or are a student then you should be used to walking as it's cheap. And if you're really lazy the tram takes about 10 minutes to the centre. The walk is about 25 mins.

The catering area is basic, you wont be cooking gourmet meals there, but if you want to save money and buy sandwich supplies there is a toastie maker, a kettle and fridge that they are happy for you to use. The bathrooms / showers are nice and clean the water runs lovely and hot.

Overall this was an excellent stay and I'd highly recommend it. I would note that there is a lack of bag storage / lockers. If we hadnt have got the upgrade we would have been making a lot of trips to the car for valuables (nearest cheap car park is about 25mins walk away from town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alastair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I'd been travelling all over Europe for 2 and a half weeks in numerous hostels all with good experiences for the cheapest price I could find. I understand that I'm paying very cheap prices and don't expect luxury but when I turned up to Hotel Janson this was a different story.
3 bunk beds are crammed into this box room with no space to store my bag or use of lockers to store personal items.
Later the manager storms into the room unannounced at midnight and places a mattress and bedding on the little floor space left and says 'someone is staying here tonight'.
Only one plug socket is useable for everyone and a broken shower for 7 people is available with cold water.
Breakfast is only at 7.15am till 7.30am with very little people turning up.
Baggage storage for this place is being charged 3 euros to place your bag in a public hallway unlocked.
Towels and bedding smell musty and damp causing me to use my sleeping bag and travel towels
We had mice in the room that chewed through my bag.
Our checkout time was at 10am, at 9.30am the manager banged and opened the door moaning that we needed to checkout people wanted to checkin, the rooms werent even being cleaned before the next lot.
I'm not criticizing the comfort of the bed, the street noise or internet quality etc etc but you expect basic hygience, security and respect no matter how cheap places are.
Personally avoid this place there are numerous hostels situated around Amsterdam that are closer to the city centre and off better quality.

Room Tip: The white tulip in the centre of Amsterdam is the best place to experience the red-light district an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Spend 2 nights in a 6-bed dorm.

Location: A very centrally located hostel. Every major sight is within walking distance. Also walking distance from the Central train station. Very big plus point for a affordable price in Amsterdam (things are not cheap there).
Hostel:
Pros - The room was sufficiently cosy, not too squeezy for 6 people. They had nice comfy pillows and beds (better than many hostels I've tried). There was even a basin in the room (however, it only had cold water).
Cons - The stairs up to the hostel reception and the rooms were very steep and small! Not suitable if you are carrying big bags or luggages. Maybe all places in Amsterdam are like that (bcos we went to Anne Frank's House, and it was like that too). There isn't much of a common space other than a small seating area for morning coffee / tea.
Staff / service: The staff were really friendly and nice. Normally, coffee / tea would be served from 7am. One morning, we had to leave early, at 630am. And when I spoke to the staff, he said he would wake up early just to make our beverage for us. That's really good service. Also, they provided a free map of Amsterdam (maps cost $ at the tourist info offices!). And, one of the staff also gave us tips on what time to visit Anne Frank's House to avoid the crowds. He was right - and we ended up first in line!
Oh and as a bonus, you'll get to meet Simba, the cute little resident cat in the hostel. :)

Overall, great staff, nice rooms, best location. My only little gripe is that the stairs are really steep and squeezy - not suitable for heavy bags or people who cannot walk in small stairways.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheep1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My friend and me spent two nights of vacation in this hostel in downtown Amsterdam. The rooms are just like the average hostel with bunk bed, sink and a couple of chairs.
Pro's: It's very close to Central Station and to the main streets (Dam square too); it's quite cheap compared to other Amsterdam accomodation and nearby there is a very good Bike Rental that is a must to see the city in the right way.
Con's: to get to the rooms you have to cope with a very steep stair (watch your backpack!), there is no breakfast (just some tea that we avoid to drink) and there are just two showers and two toilets for all guests (30 people when full).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gennaro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Loved Amsterdam:))))) Cool, crazy, funny, intereresting people;) Hostel is a bit small but cute and clean, which was A big plus.........also the staff is GREAT. No problems there and the best cat in the world, that happens to ruleeeeeeeeee. Location can not be better, we walked everywhere and found out how central we were located. Really made my visit to this city more fun........

Room Tip: Room 14 is great for 4 buddies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank missy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hostel is ideal if you're on a trip with friends. We shared a 6-bed room with 3 other girls from Germany and everything went fine. I chose this hostel because of the good reviews on tripadvisor and I must say they were right.
If you enter the hostel, it may seem a bit -how shall I say it- poor. The building is very small and the stairs are very very dangerous :D But the politeness (!) of the staff made everything OK. We felt at ease immediately and they were very helpful. There is also a nice coffeeshop across the street and the beds are very very (!!!) good! The shower is clean, but be sure to wake up early if you want to shower without standing in line ;)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eline-vh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
International Budget Hostel
International Budget Hostel
#179 of 253 in Amsterdam
220 reviews
A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
#46 of 253 in Amsterdam
668 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#63 of 253 in Amsterdam
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostelle
#34 of 253 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel
#193 of 253 in Amsterdam
450 reviews
Train Lodge
#52 of 253 in Amsterdam
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071 RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 253 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £18 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmos Hostel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing