We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well-located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Ranked #197 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“well-located”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The room I was in had 8 beds and a bathroom, but it was very small. The kitchen is the same size of the bedroom. The coffee was good, had bread, peanut butter, jelly, tea and coffee.
The hotel is well-located, very close to the museums and the "I amsterdam" sign, but a little far from the city center. (you can go walking, is not very far. but in the end of the day, tired, you'll probably want to take the tram ou bus.)
It's easy to arrive from the airport, just take the bus 197, the stop is museumplain. You'll just have to walk 3 blocks.
The staff was very helpfull. The shower was good, but there was only one in my room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cássia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    43
    79
    44
    83
See reviews for
5
30
67
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

the rooms and passages are small and the room i stayed in only had one plug. breakfast is only coffee and toast but included in the price. chilled vibe and the people are helpful. good wifi. a bit far to walk to city centre, consider taking the tram.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room that was just slightly bigger than a closet for what was kind of too much money but everything in Amsterdam charged out the nose, so I don't think it is ALL the hostel's fault. The location is very nice and I think thats what you are paying for. It is quiet, clean, and has a cat named Simba that lets you pet her. The steps are treacherously steep. As others had mentioned we also didn't like the fact that you had to turn your key into the desk before you left for the day, but they probably got their keys lost by too many drunk and/or stoned people so I can't blame them. None of our belongings got stolen so ces't la vie.

Room Tip: room 17 is crazy small with twin sized bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherW924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennes, Bretagne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We liked the location--really close to the museums and Vondelpark, and although it's not right downtown, it's within easy walking distance of the town center (we found it pretty easy to walk just about anywhere). If you're expecting a deluxe experience, look elsewhere, but you won't find friendlier staff anywhere! I had a nice time. Plus, the wi-fi worked really well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

They tried to stole our money from the credit card. basically they cancelled our reservation one day before (without telling us) because they tried to take all the amount from the credit card and not only the deposit (that they claimed they didn't have). At the end they gave us the deposit in cash before we called the police. STAY AWAY

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank juliette2289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hostel is ideal if you're a budget traveler and you want a cheap place close to Museumsplatz. The other hostel I normally stay at was booked, and this place offered dirt cheap prices in the spring that were definitely hard to beat. The layout of the lounge is weird, and the beds are really noisy, so I wouldn't stay here for longer than a few days, but if you're in Amsterdam for one or two nights and want to save your pennies then it's not that bad of an option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlowerGypsy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This is, by far, the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. The place in tiny, dirty and the staff is unfriendly/rude. There is a no alcohol and no guests rule policy. Only 2 toilets and showers for the entire hostel. Just an awful experience. The hostel requires you to leave the key to your room at reception when the last person in the room leaves (which is a normal policy). However, when we returned to the hostel after dinner and drinks, the hostel staff claimed that we never turned the key into them and that we lost it. After arguing for about 10/15 minutes it turned out that the employee from an earlier shift had taken our key to go into our room to make himself tea and forgot to take the key out of his pocket before he left. Why he needed to enter our room to make himself tea is still a mystery to me and makes me feel uncomfortable. I would never ever think about staying here again. My recommendation to anyone looking for affordable accommodation in Amsterdam is to keep looking.

Room Tip: Don't stay at Hostel Cosmos
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDF17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelcosmos A, Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for stay! We are sorry that you feel this way. Nothing bad really happened and the dorms are being used by different persons. That is why we have lockers, cameras and 24 reception. We also helped you guys out with your bookings. You changed your booking more than 3 times before arriving.

Kind regards,

Cosmos staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amigo Budget Hostel
#182 of 229 in Amsterdam
414 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#199 of 229 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
Dutchies Hostel
#36 of 229 in Amsterdam
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#9 of 229 in Amsterdam
498 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Cocomama
Cocomama
#27 of 229 in Amsterdam
451 reviews
A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
#63 of 229 in Amsterdam
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Property: Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071 RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmos Hostel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing