We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Ranked #202 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Was a simple but clean and fun hostel. Was exactly what I needed and in a great location, also compared to other places at least affordable.

If you are not picky and spend more time exploring the city than inside, you will like it. If they put a few chairs in the room and some hangers for clothing it would be perfect!

Staff is kind and will do their best to show you good places to see.

Room Tip: Room 310 was more than expected
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank jessica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

85 - 91 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The bedrooms are atrocious. No shutters, so if you're coming in the summer be prepared to have sunlight shining on your face at 6AM. Staff didn't seem concerned with this as they had "never had complaints". The rooms are extremely hot and claustrophobic and the pillow you'll sleep on is like a leather cushion from a sofa or something. The cherry on top of my first night? Waking up to a chewed bubblegum stuck to the pillow. Staff couldn't care less, just changed the cover of the pillow. Wi-fi is kind of a joke, as it almost never works in the room. You'll have to go to the "common room" (which is basically the reception), and sit amidst everyone else's bags. The staff is so gratuitously rude it's almost laughable. They talk to you like your dumb and charge you 3 euros for holding your bag for a couple more hours after you checkout. They're not helpful and they're just annoying. It's a minimum effort mess of a place to be honest. Pay an extra 30 euros to go to a better place or use airbnb, there's absolutely no value for money here

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vozas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostelcosmos A, Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Jose,

Thank you for your stay! We are suprised by your comment. You choose to stay in our biggest and cheapest dorm. We cleaned your pillow and gave you brand new linen. We use normal curtains for our rooms. You really were the only that told us about light coming in the room, we thank you for this and will see how we can improve. We are not sure why you see our staff as rude? If you mention a company like Airbnb than a hostel is maybe not your thing? Because that is a website for apartments, which is a total different type of stay, but we don't know if they have any for 1 person only.

We still hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and we will use your feedback to improve;)

Kind regards,

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms are absolutely tiny and filled to capacity with bunks, room was directly by the street and because of the packed nature of the room windows had to be left open meaning a very early wake up.
Breakfast time is provided according to room number so if you're on the first floor it's 7am to 7.45am or too bad. I do not recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cameron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

the place is nothing special but it`s a good value for the money you pay. the staff is very friendly and the location is nice too. they have free w-lan for the guests and there is a nice cat called simba

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
5  Thank Andreas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Me and a friend went here at the start of backpacking through Europe, so we were on a budget however it wasn't too modest. The accommodation was one of the cheapest we found, so it does seem €33 is allot for a hostel but others were much higher. I'll get to the basics I wanted to know as a first time traveller.

Location: 30 mins from central station walk, 10 mins on tram. Don't be fooled by the "central station" yes it is the centre however this hostel is right next to Van Goch musem, Vondlepark and another few good places so it was very central if you don't mind the initial walk.

Bed: bed is a bed. That's all we wanted travelling. Clean enough. Only problem is there was only one extension lead in the middle of the room, which meant however unlikely theft might of been you couldn't charge your phone etc over night. You had to sit at stare waiting for it to charge as it was right next to somebody else's bed. We learnt through other hostels they all had plugs and little shelves etc next to beds which was definitely missing here.

Breakfast: tea or coffee in and all plastic cup, hot floppy bread and jam. The usual

Bathrooms: toilet, sink and shower in room room and three of these, one for each floor. Never had a problem with being busy, bit cramped and not as clean as a hotel (and for €33 it is like a hotel) but is as what you would expect.

I would stay again if this place wasn't in Amsterdam, which cost an arm and a leg. Staff were friendly enough. And there was a cat.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Craggles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We paid €33 per night but this seems to be a general reflection of Amsterdam. It's an expensive place. The hostel was clean, guests were friendly and the staff helpful. Slice of hot floppy bread and jam for breakfast. It was an OK stay. The area was nice but it took around 30 mins walk to get the station with a hefty rucksack. I would stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Johntyboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Cheap. Clean. Staff is very friendly. Beds are not that comfortable and there is no ladder to get on the upper bed. Tiny bathrooms but clean. Rooms are small in general. Simple breakfast: toast with jam or peanut butter and tea and coffee. Wifi is good. Free city maps. Easy to find. In total: it's quite okay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank carmen511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#203 of 238 in Amsterdam
176 reviews
Dutchies Hostel
#35 of 238 in Amsterdam
88 reviews
International Budget Hostel
International Budget Hostel
#158 of 238 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
#54 of 238 in Amsterdam
615 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#8 of 238 in Amsterdam
578 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel
#189 of 238 in Amsterdam
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071 RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £17 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmos Hostel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing