We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, bad service”

Five Bells Bar and BBQ
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Five Bells Bar and BBQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,174 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, bad service”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were walking around and decided to eat somewhere close, in that same street. The waiter sat us at an outside table. The seats were old and didn't match (that's ok) but one of the seats was wet. (It didn't rain that day). but, okay... we changed that ourselves. At that moment we also noticed big shattered pieces of glass under the table.

A waitress came to us, didn't speak Dutch, so we spoke to her in English. What first made us doubt if we really wanted to eat there, was the fact that the young waitress had a white blouse with several obvious spots of grease on it. (even the children noticed this).

When ordering drinks, she asked if we wanted small or large, we took large (she never mentioned that it was about 4.50 per drink), when the drinks arrived the ice was melted and the drinks were getting warm. She put everything just at the end of the table where she was standing and walked away, not even bothering to put the plates in front of each person. We had to pick our plates ourselves (which I didn't mind doing, but this is basic stuff when waiting tables).

The burgers were average, the pizzas were pretty greasy. We did not even bother to see what for desserts they had. We paid and went somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EP725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    41
    44
    16
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This restaurant was not particularly busy but the time we had to wait for the meal seemed like forever, and the meal was very average. Only went the once.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRAMBO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

stopped here on the way back to our hotel was fun had a cocktail and a boogie around at 1 in the morning!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank eyluel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“what a ripoff joint”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

now i am back in the usa i feel save again this place is run by a bunch of hoodlums order 2 bacardi and cokes the BACARDI was WATER i am not KIDDING when i confronted the bartender and told him about it he showed me the bottle and said it was real i am drinking bacardi 30 years and i know what it taste like then i asked him to give me a shot of bacardi in a different glas which he didnt wanted to do then i offered him a 1000 EUROS if it was real bacardi now the manager got involved (ANOTHER SHADY CHARACTER) and said it was real we ended up leaving fearing for our safety paid for the drinks in advance what a mistake this place was be smart walk by the place a bunch of dishonest people btw when we left my brother seen them taking the bottle away from the shelve NEVER AGAIN THEY SHOULD CLOSE THIS PLACE DOWN

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank nickholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good prive-quality relashionship”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile


Not Bad, for this price. Good location. Good service.

Not Bad, for this price. Good location. Good service.

Not Bad, for this price. Good location. Good service.

Not Bad, for this price. Good location. Good service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Onunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Bells Bar and BBQ also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Five Bells Bar and BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing