We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worse at all”

Five Bells Bar and BBQ
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Five Bells Bar and BBQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,175 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Lierde, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worse at all”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Service was good. Like also the food was very good. Free wifi is great too. No comments for bad things.

Helpful?
Thank Foefelare
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    41
    44
    16
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
187 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We popped in for lunch as it was next to our hotel and we needed to pick up our bag later. Didn't look too bad from outside. Not good. The guy inside looked surprised to see us. After taking our order he sat down to play with his phone. From where we sat we could see the kitchen which didn't look good. Service and food poor. Avoid !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It is fine, pleasant enough”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Don't get me wrong this place is nothing special but it doesn't deserve some of the harsh criticism in the other reviews.

We stopped but mid afternoon on a Sunday (a couple of days before Xmas) so the atmosphere wasn't brilliant but then I didn't expect it to be. We came here because they showed English premiership football which is what we wanted after a few hours walking about in the pouring rain to be honest. The food was fine, nothing spectacular but what you pay for. I could have made it myself but it was tasty and I ate it all.

It is also very close to our hotel (The Convent) so can't explain. The service was fine, again nothing spectacular but it wasn't slow like some of the other reviews (although it was on the quiet side). I think it is where a lot of British people come for a drink!

It is worth a visit even if it is only for one or two drinks. It is never going to be the best place in Amsterdam but it certainly isn't the worst. I was also able to use their free wifi whilst my husband watched football!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Okay food, terrible service.”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Staff talking loudly among themselves, waitress was nice, bar man who took our payment needs a lesson in customer service- never experienced such terrible attitude due to my card not working.. Food was okay, not great. Won't go here again based on the service and definitely wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank jmtk0790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for a quick bite”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Nice location and extremely convenient if you're staying at the Inntell Hotel next door. Food and drinks are very affordable and the food is on a par with bar food in Scotland / England.

Worth a visit, even if only to try some of the Agwa cocktails!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Bells Bar and BBQ also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Five Bells Bar and BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing