We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - Awesome place”
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #32 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in the garden room. Everything was fantastic. the house is beautiful, room was great and with very modern amenities. Bed was super comfortable and nights were quiet.

Breakfast was out of this world. If it was a person, my wife would have left me for it in an instant.

well deserving of its reputation on here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peezd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed in the Garden Room for three nights in July/August, A double en suite bedroom overlooking neighbourhood gardens. Very quiet and restful. Comfortable night sleep. Typical Amsterdam architecture. Everything is thoughtfully prepared for the visitor to Amsterdam. The common areas are spacious and welcoming. It was a great location and nearby restaurants were very good. The information given beforehand about car parking and transport was extremely helpful. Breakfast is very good and plentiful.

Room Tip: We liked the Garden room. It is on two floors - the upper being the en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The B&B is located in several locations. We were right on Singel canal so it was always easy to find your way back (although you can't see the canal from the room we were in). The B&B is just lovely. We had a room with two twin beds and private bathroom. The room was comfortable, bathroom spacious and it was very clean. The host was very friendly. The breakfasts were ok - sometimes by the time we got down, several items were already gone (my son just loved the croissants so was disappointed that they were gone by the time we ate.) The location is great - you are close to many of the major attractions and it is only a short walk from the center of town and bus. We did not get to meet the owners (they were out of town) so that was a bit disappointing since we heard they were great about giving tips on where to go. I was traveling with my son (22) - he loved location too and wondered why anyone would stay in a hotel when they could stay at a B&B (his first time at one). Note that the host was only there for a short time in the morning so do not expect to be entertained by the host. You do get their number to call if you should have any issues. This B&B was recommended by a friend and I would recommend it to anyone I know who needed a place "like home" to stay. While there was no great view from our room - we overlooked a small courtyard and it was quiet. I know that on my next trip to this wonderful city - I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location-easy walk to Centraal Station, Anne Frank House and tramline, with a variety of nearby restaurants. Breakfast was great (who doesn't love freshly baked croissants), owners and staff friendly and engaging. Need screens on the guest room windows so as to not provide an all night buffet to the voracious mosquitos. Rugs could use a deep cleaning. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwglobetrotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Would not recommend this place, I would never go back. The room wasnt clean at all, furniture is old and crumpy and owners are unfriendly, rude and not customer and service oriented at all. The owners are more absent than present and if you really need something that is your own problem. But you are lucky if you dont cross them too often, if you complain about anything you just get insulted. The price is just not worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moontat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladimir M, Owner at Maes B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

We would like to respond to this review. We are truly surprised by the comments made in this review. Although reading the other review this person wrote we also truly believe as the other establishment, that this reviewer has not stayed with us and this review was meant for another B&B.

As TripAdvisor actually will never follow up with a report from businesses that it could be a fake review as they are truly a one sided anonymous search engine that hide entirely with no remorse, behind all the small letters on their site. We felt the need to respond to this our only recourse for such a review, to make certain our potential guests understand that we fully believe this is not us.

We are always around for our guests if they need us but to be fair we are not 24/7 available. We are actually a B&B not a hotel. Although since we live on the premises it is fair to say you can find us if needed at any time. If one of the guests are in our annex building they have the use of a telephone to contact us at all times. For rooms not being clean we find this also not very constructive in an anonymous review with no dates that correspond or a description of something to prove they were with us at all. We try desperately to be up top hotel standards as much as is possible. But cleanliness is high on our agenda at all times. although a room may not be cleaned everyday it is checked for any rubbish, dirty towels new amenities etc...by our staff.
As for being rude and insulting we find this very hard to believe as we both have been doing this for over 20yrs and hospitality is our business. Guest can always can come to us for information at any time for advice or other information. We also feel that they can give us constructive criticism at any time as we relish on feedback to improve our services. There is no insults or rudeness involved with that situation.
We hope that TripAdvisor will get back to us with a positive view on this review being not for us but if not ( most likely not) but then we are able to express ourselves too.

The owners of Maes B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed for three nights in mid August and had a great time. We followed Vlad's instructions on getting to the address and when we drove up Milo was waiting for us to get us settled in. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfasts were well done, and the baked goods were excellent. Vlad recommended some places to eat in the neighborhood, and they were hits as well. Our hosts made our stay in Amsterdam that much easier to enjoy. The neighborhood was quiet, but within easy reach of all the sites on our list. Rick Steves recommended this B&B and his recommendation was spot-on. The stair to the room on the third floor were very steep, but hey...we're in Europe call it character. If we were to ever return we would try to stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank vanausdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Maes B&B with our two teenage children and loved it. We were in the house on Singel, which faces the canal, and it was beautiful. There is a nice living area with huge windows facing the canal. We had two connecting basement rooms which were large and quiet. (I did wish we'd had a view of the canal, though.) The place is spotless and the beds were very comfortable. The buffet breakfast is great: pastries, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, ham, cheese, cereal, yogurt, and baby Dutch pancakes! The location is perfect, walking distance to practically everything and so pretty with all of the canals and canal houses and houseboats. Vlad was a great host. This was the perfect place for us to stay in while we explored beautiful Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#70 of 338 in Amsterdam
77 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#48 of 338 in Amsterdam
121 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#23 of 338 in Amsterdam
297 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 338 in Amsterdam
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £84 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Bed And Breakfast
Maes Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing