We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Nights”
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #36 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Good location, just a 10 minute walk to Dam square, 5+ minutes to the Anne Frank house. We took the tram one stop from the central station and lugged our bags to the B&B, whose directions we a little confusing.. It really wasn't that far so we did the same on the way back to the airport. This is an old canal house, that is narrow, & there are very steep stairs. If you have difficulty with stairs, this is not for you. Vlad (owner) & the other person there were very helpful, friendly and carried all our bags up for us. We had a very large room, really two rooms. A very large living room with 2 sofas and several chairs, a smaller bedroom and a very modern bathroom in between the rooms. The bathroom had both a shower and a tub.

It was hot in Amsterdam. Much warmer than expected during our stay and there isn't any air conditioning in the B&B, which we knew. We had windows in both the bedroom and living room and two small fans but it never really cooled off, so be aware if your booking during warm weather.

Breakfast wasn’t served until 9am so, you’re if you need an early start, you are able to grab something from the kitchen on your own. It was a nice selection of breakfast breads, cheese, meat, fruit salad, yogurt & after 9:00am someone was there to make coffee and tea

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looking372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

I can't gush enough about Mae's B&B. From the start, our communication with them was fast and informative. They are relatively a short distance from the Centraal Train Station, but having walked it with our bags, I'd probably recommend a taxi just for comfort reasons. We were met by Milo and taken to our amazing room and apartment about a block away from their main headquarters. Just let them know what time your train, plane etc... arrives and what time you think you'll arrive at their headquarters so they have someone to meet and greet you.

Our room was beautiful. The building we were in took 3 years to renovate and they created an oasis of luxury for B&B prices. At 125 Euro per night, our room was big, our bathroom was a spa with a 2 person bathtub and separate glassed in shower with rainshower head. Just delightful. We had 24 hr access to their kitchen and main living area which were beautiful. If you wanted to cook you had access to everything. Breakfast was included was a very deluxe continental spread. Fresh fruit, fresh breads and pastries, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juices. Absolutely delicious and anything leftover from breakfast was fair game in the fridge at night! I had a bowl of fresh fruit after a night out and it was wonderful.

Lastly, Milo offered us a free app we could download to our iphones that was programmed with maps back to the hotel, restaurant & activity recommendations and a way to quickly contact someone at Mae's should you need them. It was really a tourists dream app. Hotels in Venice should get together and do this. It made wandering around great and we never felt lost. ,Again, I can't say enough great things. I am only sad I did not get to meet Ken & Vlad who are the proprietors of Mae's. We will definitely go back and hopefully meet them next time!

Room Tip: Our room was below the street level and seemed pretty quiet and it was also nice and dark for sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kfabbrolous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Herrn on Singel Canal for 2 nights on route to a cruise. This bed and breakfast is amazing! Everything about it is wonderful - the location is perfect, we walked everywhere! It's a beautiful, historic building, decorated impeccably. It is clean, quiet, spacious and very comfortable. Host Vlad was friendly and a wonderful host. There's a delicious
breakfast with, juice, coffee, eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, bread, meat, cheese and little warm pancakes. This is the best bed and breakfast I ever stayed in and would go back and recommend it to all!

Room Tip: Downstairs room was cool, bright and spacious. with private bath. Easy to get down with large luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musicteachjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Maes B&B 4 nights. It was so awesome. Vlad and his crew were super friendly and worked very hard to make our stay comfortable and easy. We arrived before our room was ready. They brought us coffee (we had been on an overnight flight) and after we got checked in, we were invited to have breakfast even though we had not stayed the previous night! They told us about a free app with restaurants, etc to make our site seeing easier. The restaurant suggestions they gave us provided delicious food. Our room was very neat and clean. Breakfast was abundant and so delicious. We will stay here again when we get back to Amsterdam! Thank you Vlad and crew!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaxterPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit in 2 years to Maes. Vlad greets us, shows us everything. We are very comfortable in our quiet room. Breakfast is abundant. Good coffee. Exc location close in. We buy dinner food/wine at the nearby AH & relax in the living room. Reserve early; they fill up.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Spent 2 nights at Mae's . It was ideal, great location. We had the attic room with own small lounge area. Hosts were friendly. Breakfast was brilliant and it was very informal chatting with other guests from other parts of the world. Would definitely return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank leeshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Ken and Vlad were on hand to greet us personally at Maes B&B, located a short distance off the Herengracht in Amsterdam, in the lovely Jordaan neighborhood. We enjoyed an apartment with a large, fully-equipped kitchen overlooking a peaceful back garden. The shower room was separate from the tiny toilet room, which can be helpful when two people are sharing the facilities. The free wifi connection was fast and reliable. Even though Amsterdam is a bustling metropolis, our sleeping quarters were quiet.
The included breakfast is served in an upstairs breakfast room reached by extremely narrow and steep stairs (common in many Amsterdam houses). The breakfast offered ham, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit, pastry, breads and jams. The crew whipped up cappuccino on the spot, greatly appreciated. A note of caution: the breakfast hours at Maes B&B are limited to 9A-11A. I was in Amsterdam for a meeting of a large international group, and our activities often began before 9 AM, so I was not always able to eat breakfast at the B&B. Not a big deal, but something to be aware of.
The Jordaan is a neighborhood where one can sit on the stoop in the evening with a beer in hand, and watch the bicyclists and walkers go by. It’s an enjoyable location in one of the world’s truly great cities.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, request the ground-floor apartment.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 3Islanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
928 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#65 of 338 in Amsterdam
64 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#24 of 338 in Amsterdam
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#34 of 338 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 338 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Breitner House
#12 of 338 in Amsterdam
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £84 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Hotel Amsterdam
Maes Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing