We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #32 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed in both the B & B and the apartments. It was quite a great place! It is centrally located, at both their locations, and they are very helpful. The breakfast at the B & B was delicious and just what was needed for a day out exploring! Quite a nice stay, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnybutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    81
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
111
324
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After a wonderful stay at the Heren B&B (also operated by Ken and Vlad, who own Maes B&B), we returned to Amsterdam and stayed at Maes. The experience was similarly outstanding. Maes is located on an attractive street with many excellent restaurants in the Jordaan district. Our room was on the first floor, and included a living room overlooking the street, a huge modern bathroom with both tub and a stall shower, and a very comfortable and quiet (silent) bedroom on the back of the building. The extensive and delicious breakfast was served at a communal table in the kitchen (Milo, thank you for the pancakes!). Service was friendly and outstanding, inclusive of helpful travel and restaurant recommendations. You'll need to make reservations early for this gem, which offers a perfect location, and superior facilities and service--five stars, at three star prices.

Room Tip: Guests may be assigned to Maes or the nearby Heren B&B; we've stayed at both, and found them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a wonderful gem of a B & B to stay in. We received a warm welcome from Milo and Vlad. Our room was large with updated Italian bathroom fixtures. The beds were comfortable and the fans kept us cool at night. The breakfasts were incredible and we loved the terrific expresso coffee. Vlad provided suggestions on local restaurants via an app and map. The B & B is close to the tram lines, shops and Anne Frank House. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Purchase a 2-5 day GVB metro pass from the office near the Central Station. You can buy a 24 hour p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 740Kitty_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This was my third stay at Maes. This year I was with my son and grandson. We were delayed in London due to the French air traffic controllers' strike. Instead of arriving at 3 in the afternoon we arrived just before midnight. I was quite stressed and concerned that we would not be able to stay at Maes that night. I needn't have worried. Although Vlad and Ken weren't there, they were on holiday, they had very, very capable assistants to replace them. We were greeted warmly and taken to the house at Singel. The room was beautiful, the breakfasts were magnificent and the assistance and advice was invaluable. This is a beautiful B & B in a charming city.
Another great thing is that they always seem to have really friendly guests staying there. While we were there the other guests were mainly American and Canadian. We had some very friendly conversations over breakfast.
I would recommend Maes very, very highly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CricketUmpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Good location, just a 10 minute walk to Dam square, 5+ minutes to the Anne Frank house. We took the tram one stop from the central station and lugged our bags to the B&B, whose directions we a little confusing.. It really wasn't that far so we did the same on the way back to the airport. This is an old canal house, that is narrow, & there are very steep stairs. If you have difficulty with stairs, this is not for you. Vlad (owner) & the other person there were very helpful, friendly and carried all our bags up for us. We had a very large room, really two rooms. A very large living room with 2 sofas and several chairs, a smaller bedroom and a very modern bathroom in between the rooms. The bathroom had both a shower and a tub.

It was hot in Amsterdam. Much warmer than expected during our stay and there isn't any air conditioning in the B&B, which we knew. We had windows in both the bedroom and living room and two small fans but it never really cooled off, so be aware if your booking during warm weather.

Breakfast wasn’t served until 9am so, you’re if you need an early start, you are able to grab something from the kitchen on your own. It was a nice selection of breakfast breads, cheese, meat, fruit salad, yogurt & after 9:00am someone was there to make coffee and tea

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looking372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I can't gush enough about Mae's B&B. From the start, our communication with them was fast and informative. They are relatively a short distance from the Centraal Train Station, but having walked it with our bags, I'd probably recommend a taxi just for comfort reasons. We were met by Milo and taken to our amazing room and apartment about a block away from their main headquarters. Just let them know what time your train, plane etc... arrives and what time you think you'll arrive at their headquarters so they have someone to meet and greet you.

Our room was beautiful. The building we were in took 3 years to renovate and they created an oasis of luxury for B&B prices. At 125 Euro per night, our room was big, our bathroom was a spa with a 2 person bathtub and separate glassed in shower with rainshower head. Just delightful. We had 24 hr access to their kitchen and main living area which were beautiful. If you wanted to cook you had access to everything. Breakfast was included was a very deluxe continental spread. Fresh fruit, fresh breads and pastries, meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juices. Absolutely delicious and anything leftover from breakfast was fair game in the fridge at night! I had a bowl of fresh fruit after a night out and it was wonderful.

Lastly, Milo offered us a free app we could download to our iphones that was programmed with maps back to the hotel, restaurant & activity recommendations and a way to quickly contact someone at Mae's should you need them. It was really a tourists dream app. Hotels in Venice should get together and do this. It made wandering around great and we never felt lost. ,Again, I can't say enough great things. I am only sad I did not get to meet Ken & Vlad who are the proprietors of Mae's. We will definitely go back and hopefully meet them next time!

Room Tip: Our room was below the street level and seemed pretty quiet and it was also nice and dark for sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfabbrolous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Herrn on Singel Canal for 2 nights on route to a cruise. This bed and breakfast is amazing! Everything about it is wonderful - the location is perfect, we walked everywhere! It's a beautiful, historic building, decorated impeccably. It is clean, quiet, spacious and very comfortable. Host Vlad was friendly and a wonderful host. There's a delicious
breakfast with, juice, coffee, eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, bread, meat, cheese and little warm pancakes. This is the best bed and breakfast I ever stayed in and would go back and recommend it to all!

Room Tip: Downstairs room was cool, bright and spacious. with private bath. Easy to get down with large luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicteachjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#164 of 368 in Amsterdam
280 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 336 in Amsterdam
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#21 of 336 in Amsterdam
295 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 336 in Amsterdam
916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#15 of 234 in Amsterdam
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Property: Maes B & B
Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Hotel Amsterdam
Maes Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing