We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly as reviewed...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #27 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Exactly as reviewed...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

I won't reiterate what others have documented before as I found the Maes to be exactly as reviewed by most others- Great location, decent service- only decent because I had hoped to meet Vlad or Ken, but they were out of town- the fill in staff was very attentive in their absence.
Neat street, great kitchen access to stock your own goodies if so inclined.
Only downsides- stairs could be a problem for some, but the staff insisted on hauling our luggage to our room, so getting yourself up and down the stairs was the only chore, but commom to most other stairs in Amsterdam we saw. Also, the temps were hot, and we needed to leave the windows open, and we had street noise deep into the night, but certainly not a bad reflection on the property.
All in all, a fine location in a nice "apartment" in a great city. Spend some time on the porch above the kitchen as well- very peaceful.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Capsu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    79
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
111
315
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

I'm not the type that splurges on hotels. For me it is a place to crash between expeditions. However the only room they had left was the garden suite and oh was I happy to have gotten it.
It features a whirlpool bathtub. Need I say more? My poor feet and legs were sore from walking all day. Not to mention my shoulders from the backpack.

Get the whirlpool bath. It's goooooood

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7mary4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

My husband and I spent two nights at Maes B&B while in Amsterdam. It was like having our own apartment right in the middle of Amsterdam. The location is about a 15 minute walk from the train station and a 5-10 minute walk from the Anne Frank House. Our host, Vlad, was great. He even waited for us when we were late arriving our first day. He gave a wonderful recommendation for dinner as well. The accomidations were very cozy and the room included several travel guides and maps of the city. The breakfast in the morning was delicious as well. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boilers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit County, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

My wife, two teenage daughters and I had the good fortune to stay 4 nights in an apartment run by the Maes B&B. The street-level "Herenstraat" apartment consists of a living room equipped with 2 single sleeper sofas (for the teenagers), a nice shower room plus sink, a small master bedroom with a very comfy queen-size bed, a small toilet room, and a well-equipped kitchen plus eating area. Internet was included in the rental price and there's a nice television (if you need that sort of thing in Amsterdam!). The cozy neighborhood includes small shops of all kinds and some really good restaurants. One of our favorites was a relatively new tapas bar and restaurant right next door, the Tasca Bellota. We felt like we were within walking distance of everything and we very much enjoyed coming "home" each evening to our apartment. There is a bit of street noise during the day but the neighborhood was quiet at night. One can also hear the comings and goings of those at the B&B upstairs but, again, this really only happens during the day. Vlad, one of the owners and managers of Maes B&B, was a warm and welcoming host and he provided an excellent orientation to the apartment and neighborhood. This included a terrific restaurant recommendation for our first night, the Cafe De Reiger. Overall, the Herenstraat apartment offered by the Maes B&B offers excellent value and a memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Science_Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

This B and B is charming and well kept and the garden room in the back of the house is spacious and quiet and comes equipped with a loft bathroom containing a large soaking tub under the roof gables. Ken and Vlad are the perfect hosts, available yet unobtrusive and very helpful with suggestions for restaurants and activities that highlight the city. The house is located in a nice area, not far from Dam Square and the Anne Frank House and easy to get to from the Central Station. The breakfast is quite impressive and the mid level kitchen is available for guest use all day. Like most of Amsterdam, this hotel has steep stairs to reach the higher levels so come prepared!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anabnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while in Amsterdam. We stayed in the main house of the B & B. Our room was quite big for European standards with it's own private bathroom. It was very clean and had free wi-fi. The breakfast was excellent and included in the price. Ken and Vlad were very gracious and kind hosts. The location was great, we walked there from Central Station in about 10 minutes. In fact, we were able to walk to all of the attractions we wanted to see. You really get great value by staying here and if we go back, we'd absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abalko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

This apartment is located in a good place near from Central Station and all main places to visit. Very welcoming owners, very good interior, very good service. 100% recommendations for this place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mushka22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#161 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#62 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#31 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#25 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#21 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Property: Maes B & B
Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast and Apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Bed And Breakfast
Maes Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing