We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #33 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed 10 June 2006

We spent 2 nights here after our trip to Africa. Other than the rather steep stairs, which we should have expected, our accommodations were excellent. We were warmly greeted by Ken, one of the owners, who quickly pointed out some added plusses we hadn't expected, such as free, always available internet, a phone to use as needed, 24 hour access to the kitchen and its treats. All this besides a well appointed, very comfortable room with a large, very nice bathroom. The young man who provisions the rooms and the kitchen, Arnel, is a very competent, eager-to-please guy who made us feel very special. The only people this b&b would not work for is those who might have a problem with steep stairways. We are in our 60's and had no problem. We loved this place!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Harriet_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    81
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
111
324
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 May 2006

My sister-in-law and I stayed at Mae's B&B late in April this year. It was one of the highlights of our long European vacation. The place is beautiful, the location is great and the ambiance is European luxury without breaking the bank. Ken and Vlad are the perfect hosts. Vlad is funny, caring and was our "Mother" during our stay. He was funny, informative and a truly caring host. Ken is awesome as well. When our taxi did not arrive at the exact moment it was requested, Ken was on the phone immediately. We were pampered and truly felt like we were in a good friend's home. We had kitchen priviledges, which I did not encounter in any bed and breakfast we stayed in. There were always snacks available and we could make coffee or even bring our leftovers home and store them in the fridge. Everyday there were fresh flowers everywhere and on the last night we had orchids in our room. We were so spoiled that no bed and breakfast anywhere in Europe we stayed could come close to Maes B&B. I would love to go back and stay for at least a week. I would tell anyone planning a trip to Amsterdam not to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 May 2006

We just returned from a three night stay at Maes. True to it's reputation, we had a wonderful time. The rooms were great, but the hospitality was even better. Vlad was a terrific host, and he has quite a keen sense of humor and is really great fun to listen to.

The morning breakfasts were great. Fresh croissants, rolls, bread, butter, jam, jellies, tea & coffee, dutch pancakes, coffee cakes, breakfast cakes, cheese, ham .... you get the picture. All served in a communal kitchen where you can start the day talking and sharing your experiences with the other guests over a great breakfast. It was really a nice way to start the day.

The neighborhood is very upscale and located between several canals. Vlad gave us a great restaurant tip that turned out to be the best dinner of our trip, which included five days in Paris. Hard to believe, but true!

I cannot say enough good things about our short stay. When we return to Amsterdam, there is only one place we will stay...Maes B&B.

If anyone has any questions I can help with, please feel free to ask!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2006

We stayed at Maes B&B for the Queens Day celebrations. The attic room was spacious, with great views and even had fresh flowers. Ken and Vlad (as well as their staff) where friendly and helpful and their suggestion of venturing out to the Keukenhof gardens became one of the highlights of our trip. The breakfast was outstanding and although the B&B was fully booked it was very quiet (in fact we hardly saw any of the other guests during our three day visit). I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to anyone planning a trip to Amserdam.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fergontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 May 2006

my friend recommended Maes.. it was perfect. i was on business - Ken and Vlad were so kind. The delicious Thai food from next door was devine... and the great wine store on the corner. i slept so well and was thrilled to have an apartment to spread out in as i worked and relaxed in the evening.
they coudln't have made me feel more at home. it's perfectly situated for the best part of town.
i can't wait to return.. and the new hot tub and roof deck for the summer - what could be better.
the breakfasts were so tasty, fresh coffee, fresh everything - very refreshing service and attitutude. i want to keep it a secret, but i promised to write so i am... hope to see you soon guys...
peace and love, Janie x

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2006

This is the second year I have spent a week at the Maes B&B in Amsterdam and I love it so much I plan to be back there next year and the year after, etc. The hosts Ken and Vlad are excellent at what they do. They care for their guests and have a wonderful staff as well to make this cozy home away from home a truly fine place to stay. It is centrally located, within walking distance of Central Station so easy to get to and from Schipol Airport. The neighborhood is trendy with lots of interesting shops and cafes and more than enough restaurants to choose from. Also it is within easy reach for canal cruises and tour companies for alternative destinations and activities while in Amsterdam. Accomodations are clean and comfortable with some having access to patios and outside terraces as well. This is a place I would definitely recommend to anyone who wants good value and good accomodations in one of the best neighborhoods in Amsterdam!

Helpful?
3 Thank Footloose916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 April 2006

We can not say enough great things about our stay at Maes B & B. Everything was amazing. Our room was clean, bright and cozy. The bath was pampering and soothing after walking in Amsterdam. The breakfast felt like grandmothers Sunday spread. Each morning we woke to the smell of freshly made pancakes. The staff, especially Jim, were always helpful and attentive to our needs. The hosts Vlad and Ken are very warm and outgoing. We instantly felt welcomed. We have traveled for the past 20 years and have always stayed in B & Bs. Maes is one our favorites! We can't wait to return to Amsterdam.
Kevin and Mark from New York.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#165 of 368 in Amsterdam
280 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 336 in Amsterdam
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#20 of 336 in Amsterdam
295 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 336 in Amsterdam
917 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#18 of 234 in Amsterdam
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Property: Maes B & B
Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Hotel Amsterdam
Maes Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing