We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Charming in a Lovely Area”
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #32 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
OKC, OK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quaint and Charming in a Lovely Area”
Reviewed 20 August 2006

This was our first stay in Amsterdam, and traveler reviews as well as the B & B website helped. We really enjoyed staying at this place. We mainly saw Vlad, one of the two owners, who is very charming, and wants you to have a good, and safe time in his city. The part that concerned us first was trying to go to an unfamiliar city and language (even though in Amsterdam itself, most people speak English quite well) and carrying a bunch of luggage around on public transport.

We took one of their suggestions on how to get to the bed and breakfast, which was by a specific cab they mentioned, and it worked great. More expensive, but it really eased our mind. In their instructions to you when you make a reservation, they are very specific in their instructions. Believe them and follow them.

They are very glad to give recommendations about things like places to eat, things to see, good place to rent a bike, etc. Great suggestions.

We loved the location in the Jordaan area. It was easy to get places from here. Some of the city closer to the central part had more crowds, more graffitti. The area around here was nice and felt safe.

The building is very comfortable. These Dutch houses are high and steps are steep. That's the way it is for everything, and this was no exception. However, they took the heavy bags, which we really appreciated. We were there during the record breaking heat wave that was gripping Europe and temps were in the lower to mid-90's. Also like most places over there, they do not have air conditioning, but with a good fan and open windows, you can bear it.

The people who stay at the bed and breakfast are quite diverse and very interesting, so breakfasts were really great. Just an FYI for those who think it's important, they did have wi-fi that you could easily get in the breakfast area.

We were very glad we stayed there. There might be other places that are even fancier, but it was well located, comfortable, clean, interesting and safe. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    81
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
111
324
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2006

We arrived and were warmly welcomed by Ken, one of the 2 co-owners of this lovely B&B.
We stayed in the Garden Room which is on the 1st floor and overlooks the back of the house into a quiet gardened area backed onto by a few more houses and apartments.
The bedroom was clean and neat with some nice gadgety touches such as the bedside lights with wierd "ball on a wire" switch mechanism as well as the taps (faucets) in the self contained upstairs bathroom which required your finger to be inserted and used like a joystick!
The bathroom for the Garden Room has to be the highlight, the room is built up into the roof of this part of the house with dark slate mosaic tiles and contrasting white basin and Jacussi bath. My favourite though had to be the lovely drench "rain" shower again operated by finger in the hole chrome joystick taps!
Breakfast was a vaired assortment of cakes, cookies, cheese, ham, breads and fruit. Coffee, tea and juice are also free flowing.
There's plenty of guide books on hand to help with your travels around the city as well as the advice from the hosts.
There was no lock on the door to our room, but the house is safe and secure with closed circuit mini cameras secreted around every nook and cranny to keep an eye out for you, or on you :-)
Staying somewhere like this beats the faceless chains hands down. You can find cheaper places to stay, but for the feel-at-home factor, breakfast and lovely bathroom we felt it was worth the 120Euros a night.

  • Liked — The Bathroom
  • Disliked — Felt as though you were being watched.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't use the toilet at the top of the stairs unless its yours!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 July 2006

Mae's B&B - Herenstraat 26, Amsterdam, Netherlands
"Precious Amsterdam B&B"
While in Amsterdam, I had the pleasure of staying at Mae's B&B. I was warmly greeted by the witty and kind Vlad, one of the owners. The home was charming, clean and cozy. My room overlooked a garden and felt very "homey". It had a tv, private bathroom, with a shower and jacuzzi. There was also free internet access for guests. The B&B seemed to attract a very friendly, funny, warm group of people of all ages. Breakfast was yummy and the morning conversations with the guests were always a fun way to begin the day. On my future trips to Amsterdam, I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 July 2006

Maes B&B is by far the best B&B we have ever stayed in, and we are real B&B lovers. The wonderful experience started with emails prior to our arrival discussing the appropriate accommodation for us. We are tall and need quiet. This is the only B&B we could find with a queen size bed in a quiet location.

Your arrival to Maes starts with Vlad serving breakfast to weary travellers (we came from the US). Then the beginning of many suggestions of where to go and what to do ensued and continued throughout our visit.

We then saw our attic apartment which was spacious, quiet, and full of light. The narrow stairs are no problem as the staff brought our suitcases up and down. All Amsterdam B&B's have narrow staircases-it is just the nature of the buildings in this lovely city.

Plenty of other reviews talk about the great location, quiet street, wonderful breakfasts, friendly staff, fresh flowers, great advice and travel tips.........

What really impressed us about Maes was Vlad and Ken who take tremendous pride in their B&B which becomes your "home away from home." Their attention to detail is stellar. They truly want you to be very happy while being with them.

We are already planning a return visit in 2008!

Victoria and William
USA

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2006

I booked two nights at the Maes B&B based entirely on the excellent reviews found on TripAdvisor. I was not disappointed. Both Ken and Vlad were very welcoming and helpful, and it was interesting to eat the generous breakfast around the big table with other guests, sharing recommendations and tips. There were so many personal touches at this B&B, such as fresh orchids and a bathrobe in the room, and the invitation to help yourself to anything in the kitchen, that it made the short trip just like staying with friends.

The location is fantastic: only 15 minutes walk from Centraal Station, but just around the corner from the Herengraacht. Most sights are walkable (the best way to see Amsterdam), and the area around the B&B is full of beautifully window-dressed shops and cafes/bars. There is a wonderful chocolate shop on the corner of Herenstraat, selling handmade chocolate animal and flower shapes.

We stayed in the small double room (with private bathroom next door), which is up two flights of stairs, and it was clean and quiet. The stairs are very steep, so take this into account if this is an issue.

We were sad to only have 2 nights on our short visit, but will certainly be staying at the Maes B&B when we return, because of the warm welcome of the hosts. I have already recommended this B&B to several people I know, and cannot wait to get back to Amsterdam to stay there again.

Thanks Vlad and Ken, for such friendly and well-organised accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ludwigvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2006

My husband and I loved Maes Bed and Breakfast. The access to the kitchen was great bonus, as my husband is a diabetic. Ken and Vlad were wonderful, friendly and helpful. The other guests were a delight as well. Many different people from many different places. The location is perfect.

The only thing I would have liked is a safe in the bedroom, as ours was an unlocked room from the outside and although I had no fear of the other guests, I think it's a wise thing to offer guests and most hotel and B&B's have them.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank seeksocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2006

We spent 2 nights here after our trip to Africa. Other than the rather steep stairs, which we should have expected, our accommodations were excellent. We were warmly greeted by Ken, one of the owners, who quickly pointed out some added plusses we hadn't expected, such as free, always available internet, a phone to use as needed, 24 hour access to the kitchen and its treats. All this besides a well appointed, very comfortable room with a large, very nice bathroom. The young man who provisions the rooms and the kitchen, Arnel, is a very competent, eager-to-please guy who made us feel very special. The only people this b&b would not work for is those who might have a problem with steep stairways. We are in our 60's and had no problem. We loved this place!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Harriet_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#164 of 368 in Amsterdam
280 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 336 in Amsterdam
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#21 of 336 in Amsterdam
295 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 336 in Amsterdam
916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#15 of 234 in Amsterdam
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Property: Maes B & B
Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Hotel Amsterdam
Maes Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing