We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place”
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #36 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2006

We stayed at Maes 9/11 through 9/13 of 2006 and loved it. We arrived at about 7AM at Centraal Station and took the #2 tram to its first stop - don't turn right onto Herengraacht, continue going west and you will see Herenstraat. We were greeted with breakfast and were able to leave our bags with them until checkin time (11AM). In the mean time we went to the the Ann Frank House 2 minutes walk away. When we returned, Vlad gave us the tour and recommended a restaurant or two for our short stay. The room was nice, and the kitchen and terrace were lovely. The stairs getting there are a bit tricky, so I would not recommend them for the elderly. Vlad and an employee took our bags up them, so that was no problem.

They provide hair dryers at the bed and breakfast that are European compatible, but our next hotel on the coast of Holland didn't, so I asked Vlad where I could buy one. He said he had just replaced some and had an extra, so he GAVE ME A HAIRDRYER. Where else would that happen?

Breakfast was absolutely delicious - pastries, hot Dutch pancakes, juice, coffee, tea, ham, cheese, on and on (see the picture). You can't see it in the pictures, but there is also a dressor and a chair or two in the bedroom. It's not huge, but it was fine for the two of us and our huge amount of luggage.

The location is also excellent - it's in a quiet residential neighborhood with many good places to eat nearby, and far from the insanity of tourist areas. There is a computer available on one of the floors with internet available, for free. Each person gets a key to the building which stays locked, but you can only lock the rooms from the inside. There were only two other couples staying in our building, and we saw them every day at breakfast, so we were fine with this. Our items were much safer in the room than in our backpacks where they could be pickpocketed.

I would certainly stay here again should we visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank stacde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2006

I would like to share that I stayed at Maes Bed and Breakfast for 2 weeks this September 2006. I really enjoyed my stay there as the owners Vlad and Ken are so welcoming , kind and professional . The Bed and Breakfast is really clean and nicely furnished. I love the breakfasts in the morning ! The food is so delicious and well prepared ! Also the location of the Bed and Breakfast is ideal as it is located centrally in the coziest part of Amsterdam the Jordaan ! I intend to return to Maes Bed and Breakfast whenever I am in Amsterdam. An excellent choice for all travelers !

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ajohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2006

After reading the excellent reviews here on tripadvisor, i booked a 2 night stay for me and my boyfriend here at Maes B&B.

As they were busy, we stay in 2 different rooms for the 2 nights we were there. Although, this might inconvenience some people, we found the room change to be no trouble at all. It gave us the opportunity to stay at both Heren and Maes. I think it speaks volumes that i had booked 6-8 weeks in advanced and both houses were full and they had no cancellations when we arrived.

Both rooms that we had were spacious, clean and tidy. Both rooms had ensuites which were lovely especially the jacuzzi bath in Mae's.

Breakfast was delicious with fresh croissants, youghurt, cereals, lots of choice. We found having the use of the kitchen to be hugely beneficial to us as we had the midnight munchies!! We could help ourselves to what was in the kitchen. Much better than stumbling out of your hotel at 3am trying to find somewhere that is open!!

The staff and Vlad were friendly and helpful and were more than happy to help with anything you needed. It was my boyfriend's birthday the day we arrived and Vlad set up a suprise of a few continental beers for him. A lovely, warm gesture- thanks Vlad.

This was my first time in Amsterdam but next time i will defnitely be staying here. A word of warning though, don't do what we did and leave the house without a street map- all the houses/ streets/ canals look EXACTLY the same!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank princessyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2006

I was at this place last December with my girlfriend and we stayed at the appartment.!
Very good place quiet, clean and with everything you need inside. Very romantic place for couples to spend one night, with a good bottle of wine ( that onwer Vlad offer as),music and with that great view on the canal.
I am late for my comments for this place, I was last winter there but i learn this web site now and i have to write about it.
If you want to go to Amsterdam you have to go to stay there.
I will go again this winter !!!
We are from Greece for Crete Island and from the lovley town of Chania.
Nectarios..

Stayed: December 2005
2  Thank netis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2006

This is an ideally situated B&B that has such character you will love it immediately. We had a room in the Heren building which was a couple of doors down from the main Maes B&B. The bedroom was lovely and nicely decorated and the bathroom was simply gorgeous.

Vlad was friendly and welcoming as was the rest of the staff. Breakfast was a delight and chatting to others staying each morning was so much better than being at a corporate-driven chain of hotels.

Most of Amsterdam is within walking distance and Vlad is always ready with tips to help. The B&B is set on a lovely street in the gorgeous part of Jordaan. Please visit the bar along the street called Cafe t' Kalfie. The staff are friendly and it is an excellent laid back atmosphere that oozes genuine Dam-ness!

It is clear why so many people gave it quality reviews and why so many people return there. The best compliment I can say is that on our next visit to Amsterdam, this will be our first port of call. I seriously doubt that there is a better B&B in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ginner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2006

This was our first stay in Amsterdam, and traveler reviews as well as the B & B website helped. We really enjoyed staying at this place. We mainly saw Vlad, one of the two owners, who is very charming, and wants you to have a good, and safe time in his city. The part that concerned us first was trying to go to an unfamiliar city and language (even though in Amsterdam itself, most people speak English quite well) and carrying a bunch of luggage around on public transport.

We took one of their suggestions on how to get to the bed and breakfast, which was by a specific cab they mentioned, and it worked great. More expensive, but it really eased our mind. In their instructions to you when you make a reservation, they are very specific in their instructions. Believe them and follow them.

They are very glad to give recommendations about things like places to eat, things to see, good place to rent a bike, etc. Great suggestions.

We loved the location in the Jordaan area. It was easy to get places from here. Some of the city closer to the central part had more crowds, more graffitti. The area around here was nice and felt safe.

The building is very comfortable. These Dutch houses are high and steps are steep. That's the way it is for everything, and this was no exception. However, they took the heavy bags, which we really appreciated. We were there during the record breaking heat wave that was gripping Europe and temps were in the lower to mid-90's. Also like most places over there, they do not have air conditioning, but with a good fan and open windows, you can bear it.

The people who stay at the bed and breakfast are quite diverse and very interesting, so breakfasts were really great. Just an FYI for those who think it's important, they did have wi-fi that you could easily get in the breakfast area.

We were very glad we stayed there. There might be other places that are even fancier, but it was well located, comfortable, clean, interesting and safe. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mikocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2006

We arrived and were warmly welcomed by Ken, one of the 2 co-owners of this lovely B&B.
We stayed in the Garden Room which is on the 1st floor and overlooks the back of the house into a quiet gardened area backed onto by a few more houses and apartments.
The bedroom was clean and neat with some nice gadgety touches such as the bedside lights with wierd "ball on a wire" switch mechanism as well as the taps (faucets) in the self contained upstairs bathroom which required your finger to be inserted and used like a joystick!
The bathroom for the Garden Room has to be the highlight, the room is built up into the roof of this part of the house with dark slate mosaic tiles and contrasting white basin and Jacussi bath. My favourite though had to be the lovely drench "rain" shower again operated by finger in the hole chrome joystick taps!
Breakfast was a vaired assortment of cakes, cookies, cheese, ham, breads and fruit. Coffee, tea and juice are also free flowing.
There's plenty of guide books on hand to help with your travels around the city as well as the advice from the hosts.
There was no lock on the door to our room, but the house is safe and secure with closed circuit mini cameras secreted around every nook and cranny to keep an eye out for you, or on you :-)
Staying somewhere like this beats the faceless chains hands down. You can find cheaper places to stay, but for the feel-at-home factor, breakfast and lovely bathroom we felt it was worth the 120Euros a night.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
928 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#65 of 338 in Amsterdam
64 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#24 of 338 in Amsterdam
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#33 of 338 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 338 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Breitner House
#14 of 338 in Amsterdam
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £84 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Hotel Amsterdam
Maes Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing