We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fabulous B & B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #28 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“What a fabulous B & B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at Maes B & B for seven days after getting stranded in
Amsterdam when the airports closed -- and it was the most wonderful place in the
world to have been stranded!!! The room was clean, comfortable and peacefully
quiet with an extremely large bathroom that was absolutely luxurious. The bathtub
was huge, the shower like a rainforest . The breakfasts were always
delicious with lots of hot coffee (tea), croissants, Dutch pancakes, fresh fruit,
and cheese and meats. We were set for the day! Vlad and Ken were the most
accommodating and helpful hosts when the airport closed and our flight was
cancelled. They allowed us to remain in the same room the entire time -- which
helped so much as we worried about getting back to MN. Their kindness
made the "delay" a wonderful "extended vacation." We would definitely return
to Maes!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar10508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    79
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
111
317
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

We booked this B&B with great expectations, after reading the reviews online on this site. When booking by email, I had asked for a private bathroom, preferably en-suite. The location is in the Jordaan area, near the Anne Frank House and many good restaurants, and a nice stroll from the train station. However, the street directly outside the B&B is currently undergoing renovation and is virtually blocked, and we had great difficulty maneuvering our way to the entrance with our luggage - this is something we feel they should have mentioned to us while we were making our booking. Also, the room they showed us at the top of a steep flight of steps had the bathroom accessible from the outside by another steep flight of steps - a problem in the middle of the night when I wanted to pee and had to force myself fully awake first in order to not fall while navigating the steps! Also, the bathroom had these beams all over the place that I kept bumping my head on. The breakfasts in the morning were plentiful but nothing special - we had just had a fabulous stay in Brussels and then Bruges prior to Amsterdam, and the breakfasts in the B&Bs in both those places were always fresh with fresh-squeezed orange juice and eggs and coffee/tea/hot chocolate made to order - whereas here they were filling but not made to order or anything like that. The morning after our first night there, we discovered a live rodent under one pillow (!) and when we asked for Vlad to come explain (we never met Ken, his partner), he said that this was a mouse, not a rat as I called it - as though that was the important issue! He did finally agree to change our room, but after trying to explain to us how mice were plentiful in Amsterdam and could be everywhere - but hey, I don't want them in my bed, regardless of how plentiful they are! Anyway, the location and Vlad's restaurant suggestions were very good, but the price we paid (literally and figuratively) for the stay was too high - we got a better quality of stay for the same or lesser price at B&Bs in our other cities!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lilac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

My partner and I went back to Maes on our recent trip to Amsterdam since we had such a wonderful experience the first time in 2007. And they did not disappoint! We still had the same amazing service we had back then. This time, we were fortunate enough to get upgraded to an apartment since they were overbooked and the apartment was AMAZING!! There was tons of space, a great kitchen, free wi-fi, large living room, back porch, and even a washer and dryer! Vlad was a wonderful host as always. The only difference I could tell was that the breakfast may have been scaled back a bit now compared to the first time we were there. It was still delicious, but I somehow remember more options back in 2007.

Regardless, still one of our favorite hotels/B&Bs anywhere, hands down!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlfmn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

Northern Ireland. O'Kane. My husband and I stayed four nights in Maes. We were very happy. We had the attic room. Everywhere was very clean. We looked forward to our breakfast of fruit, yogurt, a variety of breads, cheese, ham and special dutch pancakes. This was a great start to our day. Lewis (excuse spelling if incorrect) looked after us and made sure we had enough to eat. Vlad and Ken were lovely. When visiting Amsterdam, be sure to include Queen's Day (30th April). What an experience! Also do not miss out on Kuekenhof gardens and the tulip fields. Amazing!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raggie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

I can't recommend this b&b highly enough, it's amazing. It's a beautiful period house full of character. Service was superb. Vlad is such a lovely host, and he was so helpful. Our room was the double room on the first floor, and it was so lovely with views onto Herenstraat. The kitchen is right next door, which was high spec, cosy and spotless.
The breakfasts are amazing, we were woken up in the comfiest bed in the world by the smell of pancakes!
The B&B is close to everything, it's really central. 10 min walk from Central Station, but it's in a lovely quiet neighbourhood. Fabulous boutique shops in the street below. Lovely cafes and restaurants nearby.
We were there for Queen's Day, you can watch from the bedroom window here if you like. If you get the chance you have to see Queen's Day, it's spectacular!
Nothing bad to say about this place. The only sad part was having to leave.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazztickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

I found this on line while looking for a B&B but since the B&B was completey booked was offered a 1 BR ground floor self service apartment.We like the flexibility that a apartment offers and were not disappointed by choosing this option.
We were greeted on arrival by Ken and Vlad who have thought of everything .....maps, books, directions for food, markets,museums .We ended up with 4 people instead of the planned three, so this apt was perfect for our needs. There is a large and very well equipped eat in kitchen., complete with cappuccino maker, gas stove, dishwasher. The apartment was spotlessly clean,high quality appliances , TV , furniture, beds very comfortable, and a wonderful modern shower .The location is so convenient , on a quiet pedestrian side street( presently under construction so it will be beautiful when finished), close to train station, tram, Anne Frank museum .Ken and Vlad are readily available a couple of doors away,and the Jordaan area is wonderful .I would recommend this apartment highly and when we return won't be looking any farther than their web site to make our bookings.Many thanks Vlad and Ken

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank klm-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

Just so helpful!
We arrived in the evening, having booked for the Attic Suite but in the meantime I had a fall and injured my back making walking and a steep climb very uncomfortable. Ken rearranged his other bookings and gave us a lovely room (?Garden Room) on the first floor just above the breakfast room - an interesting feature was the private bathroom which was up another flight of steps although there was a toilet and washbasin on the bedroom level so no real problem for me.
We stayed in this room for three nights, then had to move to another room at Heren B&B, run by Vlad and just a couple of doors down the street - again a lovely room on the first floor.
Then we got caught out by the Icelandic volcano and couldn't get our flight back home - came back after booking train tickets and needed accommodation for another three nights! Ken and Vlad were just so helpful and put us in to a small apartment next to Heren B&B - absolutely perfect, with our own street entrance and all at ground level. We would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to stay longer than a few nights as you have the option of cooking for yourself in the very well equipped kitchen.
Breakfasts were great - cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurts, croissants, little pancakes, meat and cheeses, a wonderful start to the day and served by two very friendly young men. Also interesting to meet other guests at breakfast and swap experiences and advice.
The B&Bs are an easy walk from the station and really from anywhere else you might want to go while in Amsterdam. Ken and Vlad were very helpful with suggestions of sightseeing and places to eat, and there are lots of little cafes in the streets closeby.
All in all, we would really recommend Maes B&B and Ken and Vlad as excellent hosts for your stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#161 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#35 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#61 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#46 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Property: Maes B & B
Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast and Apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Bed And Breakfast
Maes Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing