We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Apt Rental thru Maes B&B”
Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #34 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice Apt Rental thru Maes B&B”
Reviewed 18 March 2007

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apt rental from Maes B&B. We liked the area. Easy to walk to most places. The apt is located about a 5 minute walk from the B&B. Ken and Vlad were great to deal with, responding to all our quesitons in advance and providing photos of the aprtament prior to renting. They also gave great advice on places to eat and visit. The apt had many travel books and lots of info on AMS. The apt is up a steep flight of stairs, so not a good bet for anyone with difficulty walking up steep steps. On the first floor is a living room and kitchen with a bath with toilet and sink. There are 3 large windows in the living room with great views of the canal. Furniture was fine, nothing fancy, but comfortable. There was a sofa bed, 2 chairs, TV, cd player and books. Kitchen had basics and was ok for us. We only ate breakfast in and had wine, cheese etc in the evenings. The bedrooms were up another winding, steep staircase. The front bedroom also had nice views of the canals and was a bit larger than the 2nd bedroom. Both bedrooms had twin beds pushed together at our request. Between the bedrooms was the shower and sink. No toilet on the second level which was ok, but not the perfect set-up. Rates for the rental worked out to be less than 2 average priced hotel rentals. Was nice to have the living space to sit around. Defintely worth checking out for amoderately priced apt rental.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    80
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
111
323
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2007

Centrally located this B&B gives very good value for money. The room we had was very clean and functional. The bathroom was tiny however and the house is not suitable for those that cannot climb near vertical stairs. Vlad was friendly and helpful in all matters. Breakfast was typically continental and plenty to get you up and going.

The only downside was early morning building work in an adjoining property. This of course was not the owners fault but did highlight a lack of sound proofing, despite double glazing.

If you want somewhere traditional, that is central and good value, clean and comes with helpful owners, this is for you.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Ridds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2007

This is our third stay at Maes, and i wanted to write to say it just gets better. I now feel like Ken, Vlad and Jason are our friends and as all the reviews say its like a home away from home.

We stayed in the garden room with the italian bath room including jacuzzi, which was really airy and bright.

The breakfasts are great, but i end up eating too much!

the local information provided by Vlad, Ken and jason are what makes our trips each time. Top Thai is my all time fav.

we are planning to go again in the summer.

i agree with another reviewer, i wouldnt stay anywhere else in amsterdam

thanks Ken and Vlad

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solotrav7701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

We had a great stay at Maes, in Jan 07. The room was lovely, clean and close to all the main attractions as previous reviews had also promised. Unfortunately the owners were on holiday so local knowledge on the areas highlights and best places to visit were rather lacking. But buy a good guide and you are well set!

Best suited for young travellers rather than families, as stairs are steep and breakfast a cosy affair seating just 6 so be prepared- you may have to wait for a seat!

Nice atmosphere and excellent restaurants nearby so we would happily stay here again.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Difficult to get feedback on best places to visit etc
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FourPaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2006

Amsterdam is a tough city for decent, well located, mid priced (100 euro pn) accomodation.

Maes bnb seemes to have cracked it. Perfect hospitality, perfectly placed, extremely well priced for the quality of the accomodation.

I came rushing to trip advisor to write a review of Meas BnB, I thought I had found an undiscovered gem, but the path looks pretty well trodden.

Forget some indifferent 3 star hotel, for the same money you can stay here. Rooms full of antiques, great breakfast, awesome coffee that seems on tap.

It is so nice to stay somewhere where corners have not been cut to improve profits.

  • Liked — Our bathroom was as big as our bedroom. Biggest hotel bathroom in my life.
  • Disliked — stairs stairs stairs. but that is amsterdam and its skinny houses for you.
  • Tips/Secrets — noordermarkt is a market square around the corner from Maes. Saturday great organic food, Monday flea market, with a lot of vintage fabrics. Don't just go once, every day seems to be a different type of market.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank orange66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2006

Maes was great and we really enjoyed ourselves. We were lucky there was a last minute cancellation and were able to get the room. Vlad was awesome and really hospitable. The house is very centrally located. We arrived at close to midnight and it was little tricky getting there in the dark b.c. the street names were so unfamiliar. We had the attic room which was very unique and pretty spacious, the only warning is the stairs are extremely steep. But you do get used to it after the first time or two. We paid a rate of 115 euros a night during a peak time, during Queen's Day. Anyway, I think the other reviews more than cover how great Maes is but I thought more photos would be helpful so I'm posting ours. The room is much brighter than it appears in the picture, the lighting was off. Please ignore the mess, who has time to tidy up when you're exploring a whole new culture!

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travel947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2006

We just returned from 4 wonderful days in Amsterdam. Maes B&B was just great! The service is perfect, Vlad and Ken were both there to greet us and welcome us to their terrific establishment.
We arrived very early in the morning upon which we were seated at the table and provided a great breakfast and excellent coffee. Every morning the table was full with breads, jams, ham and cheese, nutella, fruit etc. It was great and the people who were staying there were quite friendly too.

We stayed in a a queen room that was so comfortable (a rare find in Europe to have a queen sized bed). We had the room with the fabulous Italian tiled and outfitted bathroom. You had to climb some stairs to get there but it was worth it. The nice surprise in this bathroom was the jacuzzi. We used it and it was so nice to relax after long days walking and touring the city.

The staff is so nice and helpful. Jason was there for the most part and he was so attentive in the mornings.

Vlad gave us maps and between he and Jason they helped us make our way around the city. They have an assortment of books to learn more about different attractions etc. Lots to do in this city.
There is a line of shops outside the B&B that are really quite terrific, one store has all sorts of ecclectic gadjets and unique gifts. We enjoyed it. There is an awesome Thai restaurant right next door. Some of the best Thai food we have ever had. Vlad also suggested a great restaurant that we enjoyed so much. It had the best ribs I have ever had.

There are no locks on the doors to the rooms at the B&B but I never felt uncomfortable about this at all. All our belongings and valuables were extremely safe. Our privacy was respected as well.

Like the title says, this felt like home away from home. I highly recommend this B&B. We intend to stay there again if our travels get us back to Amsterdam. I really hope we do. I would be thrilled to stay in the same room again.

I can't imagine it could get any better than this if you enjoy B&B's.
Go to Maes - you won't regret the decision.

Raleigh, NC, USA

  • Liked — It's very comfortable and very safe
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — go to Maes - its great
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wendyphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#27 of 331 in Amsterdam
288 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 331 in Amsterdam
937 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 331 in Amsterdam
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#32 of 331 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#46 of 331 in Amsterdam
119 reviews
Vondelpark
Flynt B&B
Flynt B&B
#88 of 331 in Amsterdam
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Property: Maes B & B
Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Hotel Amsterdam
Maes Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing