We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maes B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maes B & B
Ranked #28 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Ridge, BC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect location, and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at Maes, which was recommended by friends. Our room was in the secondary location on Singel Canal, in a newly-renovated, beautiful building 2 blocks from the main B&B on Herenstraat.
If there could be any complaint at all, it would be that there was no view from our room. Our "picture window" looked over the backs of several buildings. OTOH, there was no street noise, only some minor noises from the water-heater.
The breakfasts were a feast, unvarying but generous. The hosts recommended 4 local restaurants, and we tried them all. Our favourite: the tapas at tasca bellota. See our reviews here on TripAdvisor.
Fabulous location... we walked everywhere, as old Amsterdam is a very walkable city. But watch our for the bicycles!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uno_de_los_amigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    79
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
111
317
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

Amsterdam was the last place for us on a month long trip and this B&B was the perfect choice to wind down, yet still experience the city, Ken and Vlad are very welcoming and have plenty of advise about restaurants and unmissable attractions. Breakfast was an amazing spread with something for everyone. Room was lovely with a King size bed and private bathroom. We WILL be returning!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victhekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at Mae's during our recent honeymoon and loved it. Our room was in the apartment on singelgracht in the basement. Vlad and Ken were very helpful in getting us on our way to the local attractions when we first arrived. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic! We loved that we were around the corner from everything. The area felt safe at night and the apartment was secure so we could leave valuables there.

We would recommend this to anyone staying in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puttermutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

... and, we had stayed at some pretty nice places!

My boyfriend-for-life (aka husband) and I spent 5 weeks in Europe, camping and Priceline™-ing. We stayed at a nice hotel via Priceline for our first couple of days in Amsterdam but had made reservations at Maes B&B for our last few days in AMS. My mother was joining us for our last leg of our trip to Denmark, so we rented the "Yellow" suite, I believe. It was the most beautiful room ever - actually it was the whole floor. Giant living room with a nice couch to sleep on, the best bathroom ever, and a bedroom. It was a bit of splurge for us but split up between the three of us it was not bad at all.

The owners are very nice. They helped my mom with her luggage up the steep stairs. And, the breakfasts were to die for. Amazing food, served by a very nice guy!

But back to the room... I loved the furniture, rugs, and art on the walls. Some of the prints inspired my mom to look for old illustrations of Amsterdam to buy as a souvenir. I also really appreciated that they had old guestbooks from YEARS ago. Many, many people have enjoyed their stay. If I make it back to Amsterdam, I would definitely stay here again.

One more thing, the neighborhood is awesome. Amsterdam is very walkable (and, get-lost-able) but this neighborhood was in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimbertEyestain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed 3 nights in the newly opend Maes appartments right at te single gracht.
We got ugraded as the double we had booked was taken.
The Maes is really an excellent place. the Appartment was absolutely gorgeous, spacious and with a really nice view at the Gracht.
The Breakfast is also ver, very good and the people are extremely friendly.
Next time we are in Amsterdam we will again stay at the MAES

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic-oli-muc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We recently visited this delightful B&B, the owners were helpful, friendly and professional. The accomodation was immaculate and well located. We would recommend this B&B without any doubt to anyone wishing to stay in Amsterdam, and wish to thank the owners for their hospitality.

Maureen and Derek Mawson

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AmandaVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

Many thanks to Vlad & Ken for being charming hosts during our stay in Amsterdam. We had booked a ground floor apartment in Herenstraat. Both hosts were there to meet us on arrival and we were showed around the apartment. The accomodation was first class and had a lot of charm. Also deceptively spacious inside. An upside for us was being smokers there was an outside terrace in the apartment for use. The bed was very comfortable and gave us a great nights sleep. The location was also ideal in a beautiful area of the Jordan, away from the noise of the busier areas yet within easy reach of the attractions of Amsterdam. We have been in Amsterdam 4 times now (both in hotels and other partments) and this was by far one of the best we have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieLass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#162 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#34 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#71 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#48 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes B & B

Property: Maes B & B
Address: Herenstraat 26, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy home ambiance... In the center of Amsterdam, located only minutes away from the all major sights and nightlife spots and within walking distance from the museums, yet in a quiet residential area: Maes Bed and Breakfast and Apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Bed And Breakfast
Maes Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing