We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful B&B with great owners!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #26 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A delightful B&B with great owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We had such a pleasant stay here. Carlos was a warm and welcoming host. The breakfast was heaven!! Great location for Amsterdaam, on the canal and in easy walking distance to all the museums and Dam square, also easy walking from the train station. Like most of the B&B's in Amsterdam, the stairs are spiral and steep that go up to the rooms, I would not recommend for elderly travelers as there is no "ground" level room. We did not mind the stairs though and having only 2 small bags to carry, it was fine. Comfy bed and plenty of room for 2 people. Great, great value for Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlbug04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
372
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

If you're not interested in staying in one of the funkiest, most charming, well-located and well-run B&Bs anywhere, then don't stay here. If you are, however, looking for a real taste of 1600's Amsterdam architecture without sacrificing all the modern amenities, a location that is close to all the action -- yet still in a quiet, laid-back neighborhood, overlooking a fabulous canal, and you're also interested in staying with B&B owners who care about their guests and are affable, entertaining, knowledgeable -- and put out a terrific breakfast -- then this is your place. Sunhead of 1617 delivers a good value, a great ambience and an excellent location. Owners Carlos and Roelf-Jan do it the way it should be done. I couldn't recommend a better place to stay in Amsterdam -- or anywhere else, for that matter.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whaleypatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Clean, ready on time, wonderful breakfast, wonderful hosts, amazing location! We had a great time in Amsterdam and staying here was a very good choice. My children said they wouldn't want to stay anywhere else when returning to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnAmericanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Stayed 3 nights at the Narcisuss 'Yellow' Room. Right at the top with no view as B&B was fully booked. Small but comfortable room with limited internet connectivity. Delighted daily by Carlos' sumptious breakfast and humorous banter. The location was convenient and we were able to move around by bus and foot.

Room Tip: Book early to enjoy the rooms facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed at this B&B in Amsterdam for three nights and it was a delightful place to stay. It is located in a very convenient quiet location--close to the Dam, Anne Frank House, many restaurants and the tram line. We stayed in the red (tulip) room which was on the top floor but worth the climb up the typical steep Dutch stairs. It is right on the scenic Herengracht Canal which provided interesting views of the boats going up and down the canal. The owner Carlos is a kick. He provides not only a very generous and tasty breakfast in the morning but also lots of humorous stories as well. He is full of useful information on tours, restaurants and things going on around town. We would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanBinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Carlos makes Sunhead absolutely worthwhile -- his stories, tips, and opinions over breakfast were one of the highlights of the trip.

We stayed in the Jasmine room, which is apparently new. It has a lovely view out onto the canal, and a big basin sink in the main room, as opposed to in the washroom.

The combo of no AC, a single heavy duvet, and recent warm weather made sleeping a little tough some nights, but that's a minor complaint.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluetorbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Firstly the location was perfect! Sunhead is only a few minutes walk from the Anne Frank House and Dam Square, so is ideally located for all the main visitor attractions, either walking or by tram. We arrived early in the morning, left our luggage and went about our day. When we did see our room, it was just perfect. We stayed in the Red Tulip Room which had everything we needed - a shower & bath, toiletries (just in case), a Nespresso machine, kettle, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. The room had both a table/chairs and sofa and a most comfortable bed. The best part of the room was the view. A tree lined canal! Everything on the website is as described and the owner 'Carlos' was the perfect host. He was able to answer all our questions and helped to book tickets online when needed. His breakfasts were only fantastic! Fresh produce only. Smoothies & fresh orange as well as bread/cheese and a cooked breakfast - so much that you didn't need to eat any lunch (but we did anyway!). The stairs to the rooms are steep, but this is typical for the building we choose and we were aware before we arrived. We did much in the few days we stayed, a canal trip & world war 2 walk - both booked at the Boathouse. If interested, try and visit the Anne Frank house before doing the WW2 walk, it helps with the context of the walk. We visited the windmills at Sanse Schrans and hired bikes there - we weren't so brave to hire them in Amsterdam - this visit was actually a highlight. Then we did the usual trips around the city, red light area, museums etc. A wonderful restaurant nearby called Envy was a real treat. Coming back every evening to Sunhead, was the icing on the cake of a most wonderful tip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavinia095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#145 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#158 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#61 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th-century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing