We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #30 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for five nights and found the Tulip Room, breakfast, and owners, all first class. The stairs are a nightmare but they helped by taking our luggage up at the beginning and down at the end of our stay otherwise we may well have had to leave it in the entrance!! But quite an experience and worth the effort for the comfort of the room and the views from the windows. We assume this is what you get in a building nearly 400 years old. Well placed for all of the sights of Amsterdam which are all within walking distance

Room Tip: Only saw the Tulip Room but well recommended
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisplatt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
372
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

What a wonderful bed & breakfast and a fantastic alternative to the big chain hotels! Sunhead of 1617 is located in a narrow house right on one of the many canals. A great location! Two of the rooms overlook the canal, but the back rooms are just as nice. The hosts are so warm and friendly. Our family of five took over 3 of the 4 rooms for 3 days. At breakfast the first morning the hosts said the remaining room was not booked during our stay so we were welcome to use the 4th room. Wow! So nice. The rooms are individually decorated, so each has its own cozy personality. My only complaint is the lack of reading lights next to the beds.
Breakfast was a delight. Carlos was very kind to accomodate our gluten free needs. We had eggs with veggies, herbs and/or cheese. Every morning at breakfast we were greeted with fresh smoothies and Rolf took our coffee/tea orders while Carlos prepared breakfast. The final breakfast course was always delicious fresh fruit with fresh cheese. What a fantastic way to start the day! It was such a delight for the 5 of us to enjoy breakfast together each morning. It was like our own private house in the city.
Carlos and Rolf were great at helping us plan our day and called a cab on our last morning. They really seem to enjoy being hosts and it makes the inn all the better.
The location was great. Amsterdam is a great walking city. We had a great time venturing off each morning navigating the canals and bridges.

Room Tip: The two front rooms overlook the canal. The stairs are very narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livetotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busan, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Me and my friend stayed at Sunhead1617 for 3 nights and we had the perfect holiday. It has a delightful room, very comfortable. Everything is provided, from shampoo and conditioner, tea and Nespresso machine. And the breakfast? it was EXCELLENT. We had a wonderful stay at Sunhead and I am confident it will not the last.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPark0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We are a family of four from Singapore and we stayed at Sun Head in December 2013 on way back from Ecuador. Having had an average stay at Amsterdam from an earlier working trip, my wife did the research and uncovered this place. First, hosts Carlos and Rolf were all attentive, warm and friendly. The location was great - walking distance to Albertsein supermarket, the Dam Square, Anne Frank Museum, among others. On breakfast, Carlos dishes up great stuff, not to mention about speaking about this passion while doing so. Overall, we found the place very cosy for our two kids and ourselves. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms with the Canal view are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephr47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We was at the Sun Head way back in 2004-2005, it was awsome place to stay, and Mr. Carlos he,s very good cook ,the breakfast was better then the hilton, no lie very health and colorful breakfast. We also stayed at there apartment they had/have it was maybe 200-300 meters down the road and its was a super place to stay. you will always feel like you at home when you stay at the Sun Head. We hope to stay there this summer.

Room Tip: When you stay at hotels, or B&B IN Amsterdam bring a small suit case, the spiral stair case will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamaricanlover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I had a lovely 2 nights here. Our hosts were delightful and generous. Its located in the best part of town with shops, cafe's and restaurants very close by. Our room had a spectacular view of the canal and street. No TV in room, so if you need this bring some movies on yr ipad or laptop... The stairs are very steep so if you can't do stairs (and plenty of them) beware. Room was lovely and spacious. Nespresso machine in our room was a bonus. Breakfast was a highlight! Carlos is a bit of a chef. And you won't be hungry before 3pm :) I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose the tulip room. Best view ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendushka_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

my boyfriend and i stayed in sunhead two weeks ago for 4 nights, our stay was really great. When we arrived the host are very friendly he discussed all the attractions in amsterdam. The room was so clean and tidy, but the best thing that i really love is their world class breakfast. The location is perfect it is in the hearth of amsterdam. So if ever i comeback to amsterdam i definetly stay with Sunhead. It was an amazing stay at Sunhead. Thanks for the generosity and kindness of the host Mr. Carlos.....

susan tan

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanbeijing2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#141 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#160 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#65 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th-century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing