We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desirable Vacation Location”
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #40 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Sunhead of 1617 is clean, the tulip room is spacious and relaxing, and the breakfast is delicious. Carlos and Rolf treated us as first-class guests. Once we booked our room, we received an email with links to fun places in Amsterdam which helped with planning a fantastic trip.

We usually stay in hotels, but this place looked so nice and we are glad we chose it. Sunhead of 1617 is near restaurants, the Anne Frank house, and so many other attractions within walking distance. It's also located in the nicest neighborhood in Amsterdam (less students, quieter, aesthetically pleasing landscaping) called Jordaan.

The entire b&b is spotlessly clean. Very nice aromas in the foyers & staircase. Speaking of staircase, it is very narrow (as are all that we used in Amsterdam). My husband and I are in excellent physical shape and were winded at the top of the stairs the first day. The tulip room is worth the walk up the staircase if you are willing to hike up 50 steep steps. If not, choose a room on a lower floor. No tv or phone in the tulip room.

Thank you Carlos and Rolf!

Room Tip: Tulip room is wonderful. Stay in a lower floor if you do not want to walk up steep stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queensmommy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Sunhead of 1617
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent two nights in two different rooms and they were both just wonderful.
The hostel is very close to the center, in the middle of the Grachten-Quarter.
Its obvious that the two hosts have a lot of travel-experience, everything is just perfect!

Room Tip: Take the Tulip Room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indosurfivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Amazing! Fantastic position by Herengracht canal and easy to walk around central Amsterdam. A very lovely, comfortable, spotless ensuite room with a view over the canal. Carlos and Roelf are lovely and are seriously some of the best hosts we have come across! The most delicious breakfasts whilst socialising with the other guests and at the same time Carlos can advise on the best places to visit. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Amsterdam now and thoroughly recommend the experience

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leigh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had two lovely nights at Sunhead. Carlos and Roelf were great hosts - friendly, interesting and helpful. The house is so interesting and in an excellent location. We had the Tulip room on the top floor, which was comfortable, with a good view of the canal and very clean. The delicious breakfast beats a hotel meal any day - we certainly hope to return to this B&B.

Room Tip: The Tulip Room is a climb - but worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for two nights, but we wish we could have stayed longer! Sunhead of 1617 surpassed all our expectations. The breakfast was beyond amazing, the location was perfect, and the hosts were lovely. We loved chatting with Carlos in the morning over breakfast! We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jasmine room, and it was completely up to Dutch standards - spotless! It had a beau...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmaandaaron2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Great time at this amazing bed & breakfast, certainly lived up to expectations and reviews. We stayed in the Tulip room, an experience of exposed beams, cosy furnishings and interesting decorations, with bonus views of the canal. Carlos and Rolf are excellent hosts and very accommodating, especially helpful with information prior to visit. Both mornings of our stay we looked forward to a delicious, beautifully prepared breakfast, with friendly chats around the grand old table. Well situated for accessibility of city sights. Would love to re-visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This B&B is everything you could wish for, clean, comfortable beds, and centrally located so you can access all the Amsterdam sites. When you read reviews from other travellers you just hope they are accurate. In the case of Sunhead they are more than accurate. I would recommend this B&B to all my friends who visit Amsterdam.
Carlos and Roelf are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble and over breakfast they keep the conversations flowing, always interesting and humerous. The breakfasts prepared by Carlos are wonderful and kept us going all day. I cannot overstate the case this B&B is No.1.
Even the stairs are fun. We will be back.. Tom & Lorna

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomFairnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#141 of 371 in Amsterdam
233 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#172 of 371 in Amsterdam
457 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#26 of 337 in Amsterdam
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#18 of 238 in Amsterdam
163 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#27 of 337 in Amsterdam
200 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#57 of 337 in Amsterdam
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £96 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th-century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing