We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star class for a very very good price”
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #30 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bromsgrove
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“5 star class for a very very good price”
Reviewed 16 October 2009

we stopped 3 nights in September,Faultless all round,Room/breakfast/location all perfect, and not forgetting Carlos who makes you so welcome,and is avery good host.
Visits, you must do, dam sq,Nemo,anna franks house,canal bus hop-on-hop-off.
museums Ons'lieve heer op solder,climb the local church by anna franks house.
And not forgetting the red light area,it's an experience,very well controlled,

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raytaximan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
372
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabang
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This B and B is very centrally located. I stayed in the Tulip Room overlooking the canal along Herrengracht. The room was cozy and the bathroom, although it had a small sink, was clean with a big bathtub. Breakfast was very delicious and personally prepared by Carlos, one of the proprietors. The room was at the top most floor and the stairs were very narrow and steep, so I suggest traveling light. But if you have a large suitcase, you may leave it downstairs and just bring in a smaller bag what you need. They have a list of recommended restaurants, cafes, groceries and pastry and cheese shops, which was very useful. Carlos knows just about everything a traveler would like to know about Amsterdam and would give good directions on how to get to places. He also makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minneypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I stayed at Sunhead for 4 nights with my mum.Carlos, the owner, is a funny, genuine and amazing guy always full of energy.Any query we had he was always very helpful.The place is beautifully furbished and arranged, fresh flowers in the kitchen made it always even more nice.For the start of the day the breakfasts were excellent, very homely and tasty.Would love to stay there again next time I visit Amster. The location is great as it is only 10 min walk from the Centre as well as from the train/tube station. And it is a very pleasant walk! :-) Thank you, Carlos. Jana&Marta from the Czech Republic.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We spent 5 days at the Sunhead B&B in Amsterdam. Our room was cozy and comfortable and Carlos, the innkeeper, was friendly, helpful, and a lot of fun. He made great breakfasts that kept us going the whole day. The room came with an espresso maker, coffee, a pot in which to make tea, an iron, and hair dryer. The B&B is on a lovely canal and in a good location. Carlos has good information on where to eat. When we go back to Amsterdam some day we are definitely going back to the Sunhead.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Corsica18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

A fantastic location for exploring amsterdam on a quiet canal. The yellow narcissus room was adequate although there is a bit of noise from the water tank in the ceiling and a few tiles missing in the bathroom. The owner Carlos was irritable on the phone since we did not turn up exactly when he expected even though he has not made us aware of any time constraints. He seemed to take an instant dislike to me calling me 'very blonde' ie thick which was not so pleasant. All in all for someone in the hospitality business I think he should cheer himself up a little. Would try elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank practicaltraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

After a hectic two-week trip in Italy, we stayed in Amsterdam for a couple of nights. What a perfect ending. My boyfriend and I stayed at the Singel apartment (also owned by Sunhead) and my sister stayed in the Tulip Room. The apartment was perfect for us. Comfortable beds, clean, great bathroom, and an excellent location! My sister also loved her room. Definitely check out Carlos' recommendations list. Very hilarious and spot on. We ate at a great Indonesian place, Cilubang.

Here are my only regrets... I didn't get to meet the hilarious Carlos (my sister loved him!) or Roelf. We had to go home. We will definitely stay here again when we are back in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxifaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Spent two nights in the Red Tulip Room at the Sunhead of 1617, overlooking the beautiful Herengracht. What an excellent experience. As others here have said, great location, comfortable rooms and a scrumptous breakfast. Carlos and Roelf-Jan are exceptional hosts, most gracious in providing advise on the ways of Amsterdam, helping us with restaurant reservations and generally making us feel welcome in sharing their home. Yes, the stairs up to the rooms are steep, but a part of the charm of staying in a canal house. When we return to Amsterdam, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryAkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#143 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#157 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
b&nb Herengracht
b&nb Herengracht
#69 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th-century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing