We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunhead of 1617

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunhead of 1617
Ranked #28 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South-west UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Just back from a long weekend in Amsterdam, the first visit for both of us, and can't recommend Sunhead of 1617 highly enough. The location is brilliant, right on the Herengracht (one of the central canals), which means there is lots to do within walking distance, including the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum. We didn't need to use public transport at all, but at the same time the area is incredibly peaceful, the only sounds we heard all night were church bells at 11pm and 7am. Great breakfasts, with yogurt and fresh fruit, fresh bread rolls, ham and cheese, were more than enough to set us up for the day. Helpful advice from Carlos meant that we really made the most of our time. He was able to recommend the best Indonesian restaurant in town (and tell us what time to go there to be able to get dinner without a recommendation) and also told us about the Friday evening late-night openings at the Van Gogh museum, which feature music, wine and no crowds (the school parties and coach tours have long gone by 7pm and the museum is open until 10 on Fridays). He was also able to point us in the direction of good canal/walking tours, both perfect introductions for first-time visitors. This local knowledge was invaluable. As well as the location itself, the traditional canalside house (yes, the stairs are steep!) made us feel we were really getting an authentic taste of Amsterdam. Room and ensuite facilities spotless and no tv or phone made the break even more relaxing. Definitely planning to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HettyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    76
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
372
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CGree
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

We arrived early on the Saturday morning but we were still able to check in when we arrived. Because it was quiet, one of the owners upgraded us from our origjnal room to an apartment which took up the whole of the second floor. This meant we had a huge bedroom with a fantastically comfy bed, small bathroom with shower over, and a kitchen with a dining room table and sofas which had a beautiful view over the canal.

The location is ideal, behind the main shopping street and 30 seconds walk from some lovely restaurants and cafes. The tram stops at the end of the street and central station is a 15 minute walk or about 10 euro in a taxi. Carlos was really helpful and gave us a map, advised us on the best places to go and the easiest ways to get there. The breakfasts also deserve a special mention - delicious fresh fruit salads, eggs, meat, bread, home made preserves... We certainly never went out hungry in the mornings.

Finally, if you stay here (which you must!), have a careful read of the blue book which provides recommendations for various places to eat, visit, and so on. The commentry is so funny and really made me laugh. Thanks for a great stay guys!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

This B&B ist absolutely wonderful. we had a charming room - it was very quiet and has a beautiful view on the river. the owner is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious (eggs, ham, bread, cheese, fruit and yogurt, different jams, fresh orangejuice, tea and coffee)! We will definitely go there again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmbitiousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

The reviews are right on. Of our two days/nights at Sunhead, Carlos breakfast was about the two best meals we had over a two week stay in Europe! Very good. We were in the yellow room, which was clean, quiet and cozy. Just hope next time we can try the red room to enjoy the view. Unbeatable location, and Carlos is a wonderful host. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

This was our fifth trip to Amsterdam. We've stayed in hotels in the past and opted to try and find a nice B&B to stay canal-side. We lucked out completely with Sunhead of 1617.
Carlos was the consumate host and entertainer!! We are vegetarian/vegan travellers and Carlos had no problems accomodating our needs. Fresh squeezed OJ every morning and soy products instead of meat. The fruitsalad every morning was also a special treat. We stayin the Red Tulip room which was spacious and airy. We looked right out over the canal and could watch boats and people all day! A 10 minute walk to the Damsquare, 10 minutes to the nearest grocery, and 10 minutes to the Leidseplein. We were absolutely thrilled with our accomodations at Sunhead of 1617.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saranacbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

Great experience in the heart of Amsterdam. Carlos is the consummate host and the food was excellent. Be ready to climb a few steps to get to your room, but once there the amenities are superb. We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank wrongway_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

I did a lot of research and I am so very glad that I picked Sunhead 1617. Thank you Carlos for a perfect 4-night stay. I walked everywhere and never used a tram, cab or bike. Great restaurants within a easy walking distance. The Anne Frank house is just a few blocks away. Several nice coffeshops near by. I found Sunhead 1617 neighborhood to be a quiet at night. I actually plan on coming back to Amsterdam within the next 2 years and will stay no where else but at Sunhead 1617!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#23 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#161 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#144 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#102 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Property: Sunhead of 1617
Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunhead of 1617 is located in the heart of the wonderful 17th-century canal district. Built in 1617, it is one of the oldest heritage monument buildings of the Herengracht. The Herengracht is the most beautiful and prestigious canal of lovely Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing