We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden secret...!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fenan Klein Afrika

Fenan Klein Afrika
Ranked #1,266 of 3,729 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
1 review
“A hidden secret...!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Our first experience with african food. The atmosphere was great, the food delicious and the service excellent! Definitely going back there. Perfect for every occasion, thereby it is quite cheap for Amsterdam standards.

Helpful?
Thank Mjwierckx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
145 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

After visiting Ethiopia I can now say that in one of my favourite restaurants in Amsterdam, one gets fabulous, genuine Ethiopian cuisine at a very sharp price. The atmosphere is good, the Eritrean owner very friendly, and the banana beer, served in a wooden cup, is chilled down to the right temperature. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeNotaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you want real ethiopian food, that's it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Simply amazing food! When we go we never order from the menu, we just tell the chef\owner to bring whatever he wants and it has never been a disappointment. The price is super reasonable. We have never paid more than 15E per person including drinks. The ambiance is very exotic, super casual. If you are in town and if you like Ethiopian food, this place is a must.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank welsh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great East Africa food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Me and my family had a special meal in this little but special cousine restaurant !
A real test of 'ngera with all kind of spicy meat and vegetable food.
With the smile of the waiters and the special test from the kitchen we had a wonderful test of our favorite dishes!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank P_Brunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“African in Amsterdam? This is THE place!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

If you a person that likes to try different food in life, this is a nice place to be. One thing: you need to be able to eat with hands!
They have really nice things, the service is fantastic, the price is quite good and the best is that you can eat quite late also (that in Amsterdam is BIG difference!). You can arrive at 22.00 and they are going to serve food without any problem.
I went there many times and always the owner (who is from Eritrea) is with a big smile offering and explaining the things that they have.
Recomendation: try the honey wine, the banana o mango beer combined with the Menu with different options with meat or vegetables. The one with pumpkin is great!
If you don´t like spicy food, try lo let them know because also the "soft" is quite spicy.
Is nice to go with friends also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andykdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fenan Klein Afrika also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Fenan Klein Afrika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing