We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last option please.”
Review of Keytours

Keytours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$112.79*
and up
Skip the Line: Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum Tour Including Amsterdam Canal...
Ranked #134 of 362 Tours in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Keytours Excursions has a long tradition in organization tours. With many years of experience the best highlights have been selected including tickets to must see museums and attractions in Amsterdam. With our carefully developed excursions, we go out of our way to make sure you experience the best that Holland and Belgium have to offer. We use luxurious coaches and multi-lingual professional guides.
Level Contributor
284 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Last option please.”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I have never encountered such lackluster service and uninspired tours on any of my frequent journeys. They just drive you around. It's a bus ride that is better done by public transport.
If you're traveling to Holland, please read up and go by train and see the sites you self.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jairaj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    8
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only booked this to get tickets to Anne Frank's House and I'm VERY sorry we did”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Unfortuntely because Anne Frank House tickets sell out about a week in advance, we missed the opportunity to get tickets there directly. We needed alternative options so we book the KeyTour Amsterdam City Tour with fast track tickets to Anne Franks house and Diamond Factory tour.

It was such a huge disappointment and waste of time tour - the only redeeming factor was getting the Anne Frank House tickets. The tour attracted a very annoying type of tourist. The tour guide on the bus had to speak four different languages for all of the audience. This meant that there was only a relatively short amount of time where information was actually given to us. The tour guide was even confused at time and I don't blame him - although his skills were no doubt impressive.

The actual content of the tour was crap - I do not need to know about the most expensive hotel in Amsterdam. I would have liked to hear about life for the locals or the history instead of 'on your left is a windmill' or 'students generally share apartments to cover the rent'. Boring. Not useful at all.

The Diamond factory 'tour' was the biggest sham of all. Entrance is free anyway to where they took us and why shouldn't it be - it's a STORE. Staff showed us about 5 minutes of craftsmanship - but we couldn't hear anyways because the room was so crowded - and about 1 hour of merchandise you can buy. It was no different than going to a mall or duty-free store and trying (ugly) jewellery on. This 'tour' was not informative, but try and buy experience. The Diamond Factory was not trying to hide this, however this was poorly communicated to us by the descriptions online or by the tour guide before. I can't believe they even call it a 'tour' or 'factory'. Shame on them for taking away from the history and artistry of diamond making.

I also bought tickets to the Van Gogh Museum through Keytours the day before but this doesn't help at all!! You still need to queue up. They don't really tell you that - even for the amstercard card with free admissions you cannot just walk in. You need to queue for at least 30 minutes outside in the 'special- advance tickets line'. You can only walk straight into places if you book a timed entry - advanced planning is key in Amsterdam but not with Keytours (see what I did there).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Convenient if in a hurry”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I need to say at the outset that I do not like tours. We were in Amsterdam for only two days so took two tours for convenience. We did the Ann Frank House tour and the Volendam tour. Ann Frank was most useful because we saved a lot of time otherwise spent in a queue. The other elements, a coach ride around a small part of the city and a visit to a diamond factory were of marginal value. The ride was pleasant enough but the diamond factory told us little we did not already know and was then annoying as the hard sell proceeded. The other tour was to Marken, Volendam and to windmills at Zaanse Schans. This was enjoyable enough but people messed around in the cheese shop dithering over what they would buy while the rest of us stood about, we were then led to a cafe and encouraged to eat there. This was all time wasting and what I dislike about tours. The clog making demonstration was interesting for a few minutes and the cheese making was well enough presented. The towns themselves are very pretty and well worth a visit. Given our situation we are more than glad we did these tours but if you have more time organise your own trips. Also be careful of the subsidiary offers such as a canal cruise. The company offered us a 'special dea' on a canal cruise for 14 euros. We went across the road and got the same canal cruise for 9 euros.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JackAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We went on the city tour with Keytours. With no disrespect to the guide as I do have the utmost respect for multi-lingual people, but this tour was not very informative. The problem is, the tour was given in 4 languages. So the guide only has time to say " this is this building" etc. with no history, information or much of any thing else. So for the majority of the tour, you are listening to languages you do not understand. Then you have to listen carefully for when your language comes up. I am sure this is monotonous for these guides and it shows in the delivery. . Boring is the best way to describe this tour as they need to say the same thing over and over. Get a good map and you will be better off.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skylark205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waretown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Key Tours RULES!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We went on a guided bus trip to see how cheese & wooden shoes were made, WE LOVED IT! We also went to the little town of Edam, which is extremely beautiful & Charming! Tour guide & Bus driver were the bomb!!!!!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Biki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keytours also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Marken, North Holland Province
 

Been to Keytours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing