We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heart of Amsterdam
Ranked #122 of 242 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great location in the city center, right on the Red District. Nice and helpful stuff, the rooms are clean and the interior is really nice , the lockers are big enough, and the bathroom was clean also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishnzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Heart of Amsterdam isn't that bad compared to other hostels; as soon as you walk out the down literally across the road are working girls in the Red Light District so if you're uncomfortable with that stuff I'd steer clear... Steps are steep and no elevator so dragging your stuff up flights can be a drag, keypad to get in is a good touch though (no having to carry swipe cards around)... 1 Bathroom per 8 people so if you have an unhygienic roommate look out! Not the best, not the worst ~ overall not bad though :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuixotixAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The smartest in architectural solutions, (you can sit on your lower bed without hitting yourself into a head). Interior design in movie themes (every room different movie). The cleanest hostel I've ever been! (they change sheets &towels everyday). Reasonable price.Super nice helpful staff. Sometimes you can get a room with view on the Red Light's girls, so it's quite unnusual. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The lowest room has a open-window-door where you can get directly to Red Light street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAGDANASKRET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kieran S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The staff were helpful and the rooms good - especially the ensuite bathrooms. However, a visit from a mouse during my stay unfortunately put me off - otherwise it would have been 4/5*s. Bring some ear plugs as being right in the red light district was great as it was so central, but noisy during the weekend nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank awinkajenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I really did not enjoy being inside the Heart of Amsterdam hostel. Out of all the hostels I've stayed in it stood out as one with the darkest, quietest (in a bad way), most cramped-feeling rooms, least friendly service, and (no fault of theirs I know) least friendly roommates. I literally felt uncomfortable any time I was in the room, trying to be maneuver my bags in complete silence by the light of my personal bed light, and conversing in whispers with my traveling companion. I can't comment on the cleanliness of the room but it was kept dark enough that it felt dirty anyway. Without fail there was always someone asleep at the various times of day we stopped in. Luckily it DOES serve its purpose as merely a place to stop in, get a couple hours of sleep, and get the heck back out to all the sites of Amsterdam easily walkable from your room.

Pros: 1) Location(!!!), as long as the red light thing doesn't bother you, you really can walk out your door to dozens of bars etc, and minutes to Dam Square, Central Station and really in such a flat city, any site you want very easily. 2) There were 2 passably-clean bathrooms for our 8-bed dorm, so little to no wait time. 3) For Amsterdam, the price probably cannot be beat! 4) The breakfast was fine, I booked online and it was included, I would say worth it even if you do have to pay the 3 Euros, but maybe that's only if you steal a purse full of snacks like I do.

All in all not a "pleasant" experience but good for my purposes and good value for the money in a relatively expensive city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csylviareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Went with the lads and had a great time. Hotel rooms are all themed on a movie. Makes for a fun atmosphere. Bathrooms were clean and modern. The only confusing thing on this place is that you book it online and pay for it when your there. They will not charge you twice. Also the location is just perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iprefertobefair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 242 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hans Brinker Hostel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 242 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £19 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart of Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Heart of Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Heart Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Heart Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing