We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”
Review of Heart of Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heart of Amsterdam
Ranked #119 of 253 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My partner and I had a private room with en suite, room number 1. Only steps we encountered were the ones entering the hostel. It was everything we needed for a 3 day stay. Clean and fully functioning with TV and shower. Little noisy at night with other hostellers but that's what you expect when on holiday in Amsterdam! Reception staff very helpful with regard to local attractions and taxis after getting ripped off at the airport on the way to the hostel we decided to trust them organising us a taxi on the way back, which they did for half the price (with a very professional gentleman taxi driver). We had a locker I'm the room for our more valuable goods which we had our own key for, making it feel a little more secure. As previous reviews mention it is a hostel and it is in red light, but that's what we wanted and loved every second we spent there.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

This establishment makes use of hotel touts which look for travelers from amongst other places, Centraal Station. Once they have offered their assistance, they take you to various hotels, obviously for a fee. This hotel offered me a room, at quite a hefty price. After paying, I was taken downstairs to a basement where I had to share the basement with about 10 other people. When I complained, I was told that the other rooms upstairs are more expensive. I was also told that I should guard my personal belongings as theft is quite common. Needless to say, I did not stay the night. This place will not see me again. It is also not a hotel, but a hostel at best. To be fair though, they do serve a good breakfast. The selection below does not allow all dates. I travelled there in 2002.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f_labuschagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The location of the hostel is amazing, completely in the middle of everything and only a few minutes walk from Dam square. I went with a group of 6 friends, all 18 and we got the six person private room with our own bathroom. The rooms were clean, fresh sheets and new towels each day. The breakfast in the morning was free and was just enough, with a selection of bread and condiments. Our bedroom was right at the front of the hotel and never had an issue with noise and the staff were very helpful. The value for money is excellent and I highly recommend it to any tourist, especially groups of friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _elliedavidson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I would recommend this place for its location and price. Right in the centre you are in the middle of the red light district and only a short walk from Damrak and Centrum.

I found this hostel to be a tad heavy on the street noise, the 8-bed dorm I stayed in was at the bottom with doors leading onto the main street. There was an international football match in town so maybe this was an exception.

The staff were friendly, the guests seemed fine and despite some minor construction work in progress, the hostel was generally clean and in good condition.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Location is fantastic although it is the middle of the red light district we never had any trouble at all. Had a room of 8 for us twenty something group of lads. Rooms where good, clean and fresh towels each day. The fact the room has it's on bathroom is Also fantastic and is really nice and modern with a good shower! Tv in the room was also a good touch.
All in all it was great! Only issue being maybe the stairs are quite steep but just be careful :)

Will be back soon!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JGKBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great location in the city center, right on the Red District. Nice and helpful stuff, the rooms are clean and the interior is really nice , the lockers are big enough, and the bathroom was clean also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishnzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Heart of Amsterdam isn't that bad compared to other hostels; as soon as you walk out the down literally across the road are working girls in the Red Light District so if you're uncomfortable with that stuff I'd steer clear... Steps are steep and no elevator so dragging your stuff up flights can be a drag, keypad to get in is a good touch though (no having to carry swipe cards around)... 1 Bathroom per 8 people so if you have an unhygienic roommate look out! Not the best, not the worst ~ overall not bad though :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuixotixAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#9 of 253 in Amsterdam
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#188 of 253 in Amsterdam
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 253 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £33 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart of Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heart of Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Heart Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Heart Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing