We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfy and great location”
Review of Heart of Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heart of Amsterdam
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy and great location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from one night here with a group of friends, and we were very pleased with our stay. The "Fight Club" room and ensuite shower/WC were clean and comfortable. Each bunk bed had it's own free locker (big enough to fit a cabin luggage sized bag), reading light, electric socket, comfy pillow and duvet. I was pleasantly surprised that facial tissue, handsoap, shower gel/shampoo was provided too.

The stairs are fairly steep (as per every dutch house I've been in so far), the floor was on a slight incline (probably due to the building construct) and you can hear the noise from the street (which is to be expected from being in the red light district).

Overall, I would recommend this place as a great back-packers/budget hotel. It's reasonably priced for what you get and being in the middle of the city. It's right next to a bar, and a short walking distance from the tram, train station, restaurants, cafes etc.

Wouldn't recommend bringing minors/children to this area, as there are lots on display with very little censorship. Even around lunchtime.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim_ta22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    139
    123
    39
    75
See reviews for
17
21
82
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay here and this hostel really exceeded all of our expectations! A group of 7 of us stayed in one of their private rooms. The room was clean and spacious. Definitely not what we expected! It is everything you need when all you'll be doing is just returning to the room to sleep. The staff are also very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect; right in the middle of everything including the red light district. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone. I'm already planning a second trip their for later on in the year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the Men in Black room. All the rooms are themed after different films. The room is on the 4th floor (2 sets of small winding staircases) with no lift so not ideal for dragging massive suitcases up (which we had).

We had 2 x bunk beds which were comfortable and clean. The bathroom is clean but is on the small side and there is a step up into it which is slippery when wet!
There is only 1 mirror on the back of the bathroom door so it was difficult for 3 girls getting ready, plus there was only strip lights and no bulbs so the lighting was quite dim.

Breakfast is average, selection of breads and random meats but it was included in our room rate so can't complain for what we paid. Get there early as it gets busy and it's a small cramped room with only one toaster (everyone eats the toast).

The reception is 24hours and everyone we met were extremely friendly, to the point where we thought "why are they being so friendly?".

The location is ideal, literally in the heart of the Red Light District, about a 10-15minute walk from the train station (20-25 minutes with suitcases).

This hotel is located in the Red Light District, so if you are unsure what this is, please google it before you stay - it isn't for the faint hearted.

If you're looking to come to Amsterdam to party (who isn't) I would recommend this hotel. If you want a decent nights sleep and a spa...don't come to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmagoughitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in Room 23 which is the Men in Black Room. All the rooms are movie themed and our room had 2 bunk beds which were really comfortable and clean. The rooms are basic but neat and tidy. The bathrooms are quite modern, the toilet itself strangely faced the wall and your knees are up against the wall. The shower was great and plenty of water. By the head on the bunk bed there is a handy little area with a shelf, electical socket and a light. There was 4 safes in our room which were big and could accommodate most bags and it is a €5 deposit (great). The breakfast was ok at best, orange juice, bread, cheese, ham and corn flakes etc. I only had bread and chocolate spread with orange juice both days. Sheets and towels changed daily. Great central location but bare in mind it is right in the red-light district (didn't really bother me). Price wise it was by far the best value we could find in all of Amsterdam. If you have trouble looking for it, it is on the same canal as the Cannabis/Hash/Hemp Museum.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryJe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

stayed her with 7 friends so 8 of us in the 8 bed dorm... good size, didnt feel cramped! the lights are strange and it is a little dark so 8 girls trying to do make up was funny! had batgroom in room which had a better shower than most of our homes however 1 shower and toliet for all 8 people is a pain when getting ready to go out... fine for us but could imagine it being frustrating if your in the room with 7 strangers! yes it is noisy but its in the middle.of red light district so you have to accept this! breakfast is normal european style so toast, cold meats, egg, cereal tea and coffee! overall a good stay with friendly staff!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Spent 3 nights in a shared accommodation of 8, rooms were spartan and a bit dingy but clean and comfy beds. Staff were helpful and informative and top location.
Good for the budget traveler, but if money can be burned i'd look else where.
Points for a clockwork orange painted on my accommodation door though.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#173 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#11 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Amsterdam

Property: Heart of Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart of Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Heart of Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Heart Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Heart Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing