We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Heart of Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heart of Amsterdam
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Basic but clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

I went with my wife to this hotel in early january 2009. We only stayed for one night and used the place just simply for somewhere to get our heads down for a few hours. It's location is smack bang in the middle of the red light area with sex clubs and window prostitutes literally on the doorstep.great for those who go simply to indulge in the carnal pleasures of amsterdam!
The hotel is basic with a capital B but it is clean if shabilly decorated. The shower was good and the room was spacious enough. Didn't try the buffet continental breakfast but can't imagine it would be much because there isn't a dining room.
This hotel would be ok for the lads on a short stag do but thats about it!!
Amsterdam itself and this area in particular is full of shady, seedy and sad characters and the dutch people come across as being unfriendly rip off merchants particularly in the pubs and clubs.
I personally would never go back here and I can see why so many who do live here need to be out of there heads on drugs. I saw many a sad sight in the bars and coffee houses where young men and women were totally out of it all day long.
Many establishments adopt a no smoking policy even the coffee shops but some of these will allow you to smoke if you are smoking just marijuana although the odd one will allow you to smoke a normal cigarette! Totally ridiculous!
There are much better places to go than amsterdam in europe and I for one think the attitude of the people currently involved in catering for the tourists in Amsterdam will eventually be responsible for its demise as a tourist destination!

  • Liked — The shower
  • Disliked — The decor
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank andyhall56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    138
    123
    39
    75
See reviews for
16
21
81
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

We're just back from 4 nights in this hostel, and the experience was overall very positive: great location on the heart of the redlight district (between sex shops, marijuana museum, and video shops) althought being two girls alone we always felt safe. We also appreciated the breakfast, the thematization of the rooms, the lockers in the room (with a 10euros deposit... don't loose the paper!), the computer available in reception with free internet connection, and the cleaness (they change towels everyday, and seem to vacuum the room everyday.. not moping). We had an ensuite (room with bathroom inside) and therefore the private bathroom was clean (i have no idea how are the shared bathrooms). Our room was mixed, and we shared it only with guys, but it didn't make a problem to us.
The only bad point i have to comment, is that the morning before our checkin they charge 48euros on my credit card: i had no notification of this when i booked, and no proof (receipt) of it. Staff just told me not to worry, that they didn't charged the money (althought in my credit card account it appears as a charge) that it's just a deposit, and i will have it back in 10 working days... so I checkout before having it back, we'll see. The staff was just ok, but couldnt give me more explanations than that on this matter.
Overall the experience was very good, i would recommend it, and go back there.

  • Liked — the lockers in the room, the location and thematization
  • Disliked — the 48euros they charged me as a deposit, with no notice about it nor receipt. should have it back in 10 working days
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Laetitia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2008

If one's done enough research will know that Heart Of Amsterdam is really a "hostel". As a frequent traveler who travels easily 30+ times/year. This is my very first time setting foot in a hostel... ALONE (I am a female). Not expecting much, the place is very neat and tidy, and newly renovated, quite decent for first impression. (For people who did not feel the same, perhaps u went there when it wasn't renovated yet?) Staff were neutral, but always polite and helpful. Walking into the room, VERY clean & neat, a bit dim due to the design, but everything's in place where they should be (after all it IS just a hostel!) The set up of the dorm room was spacious yet cozy, with a couch and flat screen TV. Shower maybe be a bit clogged, but that's not the end of the world. Breakfast is alright, but rooms are cleaned and made EVERYDAY!! For someone who's used to staying at nice hotels, this was really something unexpected. It IS located in the Red Light District, very convenient, and very safe. Fitted for a slightly more mature group, I'd say in the 20s, who'd like to take in the culture, enjoy the life of Amsterdam, just chill, without the crazy kids/teens running around. There's also free internet that you can use anytime. I do HIGHLY RECOMMEND this place for anyone who's looking to stay at a hostel. I regret having to move to another more famous one around the block after just staying 2nights. I would DEFINITELY go back if i visit Amsterdam again!!

  • Liked — Clean & Tidy, beds made everyday, great location, great price
  • Disliked — not the end of the world, but clogging shower
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank babaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

I really dont think there is a word to descide how much of a [----]this place is. Everything about the place is a joke: broken windows, dirty smelly rooms, [----] filled toilets and shower area shared between 12 or more people. by all means go for it if you want to stay there but you'll be lucky to come out alive it is that bad believe me!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — paddling in through the piss in a morning to reach the shower area
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Gemmell83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2008

We wanted to saty somewhere central in Amsterdam, and this hotel seemed to fit the bill. It is located centrally on a canal, but when we got there we discovered it was also in the heart of the red light district. It is an old traditional building that has been renovated. his means it has the old steep stairs, which you expect in Amsterdam. You don't expect the entire decor to be in black. Our double room ended up being a triple, which consisted of 3 single beds all with extremely ugly (you guessed it, black) safe type units next tot he bed. Basically it was a dormitory room. Fine for stag weekends, but not for couples. This hotel, similarly to most in Amsterdam does not reflect good value for money. On the plus side, it was very clean and the staff were helpful. They just need to redecorate and make it clear how close they are to the red light district.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelphiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2008

Heart of Ams is definitely not for the family or elderly couple or anyone really. It is located in the red light district. Be careful of the drug dealers right on your door step, as well as the crowds of people constantly walking past the hotel which keep you up all night with their swearing and fighting. May be the type of hotel a group of young single guys would appreciate as they wouldnt be in it much anyway.. Everyone else- stay well away!!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank misst28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2007

This is by far the worst place I have stayed in my entire life, I had to sleep with the lights on and above the covers, Bedbugs and all! I have seen cleaner places in Afghanistan! They charged my card 1 month after I stayed there, and I still am battling with my credit card company to fix it. I have stayed in some bad places but this by far is the worst place yet and should be condemned.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The Bedbugs
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chryz707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
White Tulip Hostel
White Tulip Hostel
#172 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#9 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart of Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of Amsterdam

Property: Heart of Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, 1012 DT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heart of Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heart of Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Heart Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Heart Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing