We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste you money!!! Look elsewhere!!! AVOID”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #321 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't waste you money!!! Look elsewhere!!! AVOID”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Im shocked this is even called a hotel. My friends and I stayed here as we was looking for somewhere cheap to stay whilst on a weekend break and thought a hotel would be a little nicer than a hostel. Where not relatively fussy but didnt expect what we walked into. The receptionist was rude and basically trying to rip up of charging us more than originally booked and then told us to speak to the manager in the morning ... SURPRISE, when we asked for the manager the following morning the other receptionist said that the manager would not be in today? SHOCKED, not?

The room was filthy, the laminate floor needed a good mop, there was damp all on the ceiling, mould in the shower and graffiti all over the wardrobe and walls. We booked an en-suite but yet are toilet was along the corridor so we had to share with others who was banging on our door all throughout the night.

To get to our room we had to walk up 6 flights of stairs which your feet don't even fit on the step and there is NO lift. It's a joke I don't know how health and safety let them get away with it. The wires in the room are half hanging out and the TV is half off the wall. The shower which was in our room, the door to get into the shower is see-through glass? So everyone who you share the room with can see you showering?

They gave us hand towels instead of bath towels?

One morning the receptionist was ringing our room at 6am non stop until we answered telling us our taxi was here? We didn't order a taxi, the fool just woke us up.

Also make sure if of go take your own hair dryer, the one they have in the room isn't worth drying your hair with.

If you are looking to book here, id make your stay more enjoyable and go elsewhere. We had other friends staying n a hostel in the red light district and they said there's was fine. Don't be fooled by the hotel in the name, this is not a hotel.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    67
    83
    49
    95
See reviews for
27
71
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kisumu, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I just read through some of the bad reviews regarding the cleanliness of this hotel, but personally I didn't have any problems with it.

Hotel is small and quaint, with typical steep and narrow Dutch staircases. It's good value for money, especially considering the location. It's within walking distance from pretty much anything you'd want to see.

The rooms are very small, but since you probably won't be spending much time in your room anyway, it's really not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTravelFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Ok people, My wife and I stayed with 3 friends in a 5 share room for 3 nights. The room was very small and cramped, nearly no room for our backpacks. The colour of the "white" doona was filthy but the doona cover white. The pillows were crap. But alas, the location of the place is smack bang in the middle of the "coffeeshop" area downtown. You can walk 3-4 mins to get to the main train station, the "Grasshopper" (one of the biggest weed coffeeshops) is about a 45 second walk. Big shopping strip also very very close by and good food too. If your not too uptight about luxury and want somewhere close by to the redlight district and all the weed areas, this location is worth the cramped rooms. If your not in Amsterdam for the nightlife and weed, and want a nice room, look elsewhere :)

P.S - As with all the best location places in Amsterdam, its pretty loud at night from the streets but we slept fine

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birzebbuga, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Continental Hotel:


We booked a room of 6 at the Continental Hotel and we were overcrowded even if we were five people. The room consists of 3 bunk beds and a small wardrobe which practically fill up all the space available in the room. We used one of the beds to put our luggage on. There were another 2 very small rooms which were one for the toilet and one for the shower which included a very small sink that your hands can barely fit. Unlike the reviews I read, we never saw any cockroaches or insects even if it was warm in Amsterdam at the time we visited.

Another complaint about the hotel is the steep stairs. We were lucky that our room was at first floor. I can’t imagine the climb that customers on the 4th floor have to face to go up with their luggage. Even it is dangerous if you’re a bit drunk or high.


Apart from these disadvantages, Hotel Continental is quite central and for me, it is in the best location in Amsterdam. Minutes away from the Centraal Station, the red light district and the main coffee shop which makes it the best hotel to reach after a night out. Also, very near the hotel there is a good take away where a doner kebab is only 3.50EUR which makes it the cheapest food available around and very worth it !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuti_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Amsterdam - August 2012

I booked a night at this place and turned out to be my worst experience in a hotel. Needless to say this is your 'standard' Amsterdam hotel with staircases so tiny you can't even fit your footh on a step; you have to go up the stairs sideways unless you're a dwarf.

The location is brilliant (opposite Damrak Street, entrance of Red Light District) and that's as far as the good points go. Being in such a prime location you would expect slightly better service and standards really.

I was happy to pay the 70 euros for the night as it had an ensuite (50 if you wouldn't mind sharing the toilet/shower outside the room). Having checked in on room number 025 (first floor, right by the stairs that lead to the reception donwstairs) I was straightway taken by the smell of the room and the lack of air, There was a window but could only be open about 20 cm. I left the window open and thought it would somehow freshen up the room (Wrong!).

After takng a nap (constantly waking up because of the noise of travellers going up and down the stairs) I had a shower and left the room. The shower and the room itself were clean and also had clean towels/toiletries.

When coming back to the room in the evening I was surprised to be welcomed by a rat running around the bed and wardrobe. He was so quick Usain Bolt would be proud.

I was given a different room by a very apologetic receptionist and this time one floor up on room 100 next to room 101 full of young french revellers that only stopped making noise at 5 am. After falling asleep, safe in the mind the rat episode was long gone, i was awaken by the strange noise of a bag moving, then realised my nightmare was back. yet another rat moving around.

Regardless to say I will never comeback to this place and would seriously advise people not to go there. Worst night in a hotel ever !

Room Tip: Have a look at the room first if you can and then make your mind up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lion_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#323 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#301 of 367 in Amsterdam
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#324 of 367 in Amsterdam
661 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#165 of 367 in Amsterdam
925 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#174 of 367 in Amsterdam
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Damrak 40/41, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Continental 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing