We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, BAD HOTEL” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #321 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
ubackiha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Location, BAD HOTEL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Great location, just the hotel its self is a complete mess! Staff don't have a clue whats going on, every time you leave the front door the same receptionist asks if you're checking out LOL.

Rooms are cleaned every day but the dust on all the sides looks like it has never been cleaned, and they're really small! I been to Amsterdam a few times and the rooms have been small but these a tiny!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank city_guyUbackiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    63
    82
    48
    90
See reviews for
23
67
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Cool place to stay in the heart of Amsterdam ith the big Grasshopper building right across the street and many shops around the corner.. its TIGHT my big suitcase had a time getting up the narrow stairwells.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adam2562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Antwerpen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Awfull... In our countries, even prisoners are better of... The rooms are small and depressive. The rooms are not clean. The showers and toilets filthy. Both the people at the reception as the manager are rude and unfriendly.
STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Get a room at another place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

I don't know if they'd read these reviews and cleaned up afterwards but myself and three friends stayed here. Sure, its not pretty; your room kind of resembles a prison cell but it was very cheap and in our experience, very clean!
If you're going to amsterdam for the hotel, don't go here. If you're going for the city, you can't get a better location.

And the beds were mega comfy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickeyCarroll01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Im shocked this is even called a hotel. My friends and I stayed here as we was looking for somewhere cheap to stay whilst on a weekend break and thought a hotel would be a little nicer than a hostel. Where not relatively fussy but didnt expect what we walked into. The receptionist was rude and basically trying to rip up of charging us more than originally booked and then told us to speak to the manager in the morning ... SURPRISE, when we asked for the manager the following morning the other receptionist said that the manager would not be in today? SHOCKED, not?

The room was filthy, the laminate floor needed a good mop, there was damp all on the ceiling, mould in the shower and graffiti all over the wardrobe and walls. We booked an en-suite but yet are toilet was along the corridor so we had to share with others who was banging on our door all throughout the night.

To get to our room we had to walk up 6 flights of stairs which your feet don't even fit on the step and there is NO lift. It's a joke I don't know how health and safety let them get away with it. The wires in the room are half hanging out and the TV is half off the wall. The shower which was in our room, the door to get into the shower is see-through glass? So everyone who you share the room with can see you showering?

They gave us hand towels instead of bath towels?

One morning the receptionist was ringing our room at 6am non stop until we answered telling us our taxi was here? We didn't order a taxi, the fool just woke us up.

Also make sure if of go take your own hair dryer, the one they have in the room isn't worth drying your hair with.

If you are looking to book here, id make your stay more enjoyable and go elsewhere. We had other friends staying n a hostel in the red light district and they said there's was fine. Don't be fooled by the hotel in the name, this is not a hotel.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I just read through some of the bad reviews regarding the cleanliness of this hotel, but personally I didn't have any problems with it.

Hotel is small and quaint, with typical steep and narrow Dutch staircases. It's good value for money, especially considering the location. It's within walking distance from pretty much anything you'd want to see.

The rooms are very small, but since you probably won't be spending much time in your room anyway, it's really not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTravelFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Ok people, My wife and I stayed with 3 friends in a 5 share room for 3 nights. The room was very small and cramped, nearly no room for our backpacks. The colour of the "white" doona was filthy but the doona cover white. The pillows were crap. But alas, the location of the place is smack bang in the middle of the "coffeeshop" area downtown. You can walk 3-4 mins to get to the main train station, the "Grasshopper" (one of the biggest weed coffeeshops) is about a 45 second walk. Big shopping strip also very very close by and good food too. If your not too uptight about luxury and want somewhere close by to the redlight district and all the weed areas, this location is worth the cramped rooms. If your not in Amsterdam for the nightlife and weed, and want a nice room, look elsewhere :)

P.S - As with all the best location places in Amsterdam, its pretty loud at night from the streets but we slept fine

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#305 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#299 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#113 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#243 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Damrak 40/41, 1012 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Continental 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing