We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”
Review of Hotel Museumzicht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Museumzicht
Ranked #228 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I stayed at the Muzeumzicht for 3 nights while in Amsterdam for a Muse gig( which was flaming amazing).

Firstly, the smell on the stairway is not rotten rats, it is the cats which are kept next door, it is definitely cats, I know that smell, the neighbour should change her cat litter more often or give her cats better conditions because happy cats don't usually produce that smell.

The hotel is a funny little place, I loved it personally, a typical steep-staired Amsterdam house, vintage furnishings, great position and view. Easy access to Schipol on the 197 bus which stops just outside and it is a very easy walk to the canals and city centre. Amsterdam is a beautiful, clean and friendly city and I adore it. My single room was comfortable, bedding and towels were spotlessly clean as were the shared bathroom and toilet. There was traffic noise but that is what you get staying in a busy central location, I expect a canal side hotel might be quieter but also MUCH more expensive. Nice fresh breakfast and pleasant staff also. For the location and price it perfect for the not overly fussy traveller for a few nights. No TV but that is no problem because Dutch TV is rubbish (sorry but it is) and it did me good to get away from the world for a few days... you don't go to Amsterdam to watch telly do you? If you want luxury, pay more but for me this hotel was just right.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puddleduckKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

everything is nice except the smell of rotten rats and the stairs.i have told its smell coming from next door but it isnt coz its coming from dead rats or mouse. i am sorry but i had to tell you this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Mohammed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The house is old with narrow stairs, but no problem to us. The hotel is old fashioned, and I think we had the only room with toilet and bath. Madress need to be changed. Breakfast ok, the man working in the hotel very kind and helpful. We stayed 5 nights. It is okay for two or three nights. No tv in rooms, but there is one in dinning room. Don´t know if it works.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Annegrete34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Cagdas T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Grace_of_Pearl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 March 2013

A really nice place to stay. Warm and cosy. It had excellent transport links to the main centre and was very close to the best museums. I loved the simple, 'arty' decor. The breakfasts were good and the classical music played during breakfast summed the place up. An excellent, relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roblie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Quite vintage and rather cheap hotel in the museum district. For fit travelers as the steps are pretty steep.
If I could ask for one improvement it would be that the management considers to serve breakfast before 0830 ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#184 of 374 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#220 of 374 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#195 of 374 in Amsterdam
232 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#138 of 374 in Amsterdam
554 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#194 of 374 in Amsterdam
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museumzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museumzicht

Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 22, 1071 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £77 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Museumzicht 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Museumzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museumzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing