We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Museumzicht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Museumzicht
Ranked #228 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2008

My fiancee and I stayed at Hotel Museumzicht for 2 nights. The view was fantastic and the room clean. There are quite a few stairs, but not very bad if you're prepared for it. The breakfast and breakfast room are nice. And you can't beat the location! We had a view of the Rijksmuseum from our room!

  • Liked — Great location near museums
  • Disliked — stairs, but they weren't bad. Nothing else to list is all.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank elizmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    76
    41
    9
    13
See reviews for
15
67
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KaizerSoze_SF
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2008

Wow. I guess I hadn't really appreciated what a "budget hotel" was until I visited this place.

Here's the upside:
It cost only 50 euros / night for a single bed w/ a shared bath/shower. The location is quite great - right on the #2/#5 tram stop, across from all of the museums, walking distance to the touristy Leidsplein or further walking to Dam Square. If you need a cheap bed, you'll find one here.

Here's the downside:
The room was the SO small, the bed was the smallest bed ever created, the room was barely what one would consider clean, the walls are paper thin (you hear everything of your neighbors), and the shared shower and toilet are shared among MANY rooms. So many that it was always a wait in the mornings. The shower is about as big the smallest closet that you've ever seen - and the toilet closet, is, well, a toilet in a closet.

I'm happy to have saved money during this trip - but it was the least comfortable hotel stay I've ever had. Poor nights' sleep, crappy showers after a long wait. Yes, this place is a budget hotel - but if you can afford a little better, consider an upgrade. If not, you've been warned.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — size of room, bath rooms, and cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KaizerSoze_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2008

Great location next to Museumplein with a tram stop in front of the hotel. The previous reviews aren't kidding - lots of steep narrow steps, pack light! My room was small but more than adequate, comfortable, clean, loved having the sink in my room. The toilet & shower rooms were tiny on my floor but just one floor down they were plenty roomy. Breakfast was very good in a delightful breakfast room, loved it. Larissa was good to share some recommendations with a map to help get orientated to the city. Overall if you're looking for an American-type hotel experience you won't like it; if you're looking for a typical European experience you'll be quite pleased! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksrinlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North America
Level Contributor
209 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2007

Location is good, lovely old building and the stairs were not as bad as some reviews indicate but could be a problem if you are disabled or elderly. However the place smelled strongly of cat urine, there was animal hair on the carpets in the room and there is a grumpy nippy little dog. All in all I will look for another place next time I am in Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank suitscase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2007

And there were lots of stairs. Immediately inside the door, guests must climb to the 3rd floor reception, and most room are one or two floors above that, and all are very steep and narrow steps. The elderly or disabled would face great difficulty here. The breakfast is simple but good, and the breakfast room has greats views of the Rijksmuseum across the street. The double room had a sink but no bathroom, and is one the expensive side at 75 Euros, as it was very small as well and had no extras like TV, refrigerator, or air conditioning. Staff was friendly and helpful, but their 5% fee for credit cards is a little high as I believe that more than covers their costs for using credit card services. On the last night, other guests were young and clearly in Amsterdam for a party, and that would be fine if the staff had been willing to do something about their noise or the shared bathrooms that these young guests chose to trash. Good location for the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, but a long walk from the central area.

  • Liked — Location and friendly, helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Too many stairs
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redway, california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2005

I've stayed here a couple of times in the last five years and have a sentimental attachment to it. The folks who run it are wonderful, and it's homey and comfy. It's an amazing location, just on the Museumplein, on the tram line two blocks from the Leidseplein. I highly recommend it!

Stayed January 2003
Helpful?
9 Thank snickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#126 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#161 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#115 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#245 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#214 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Museumzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Museumzicht

Property: Hotel Museumzicht
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 22, 1071 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Museumzicht 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Museumzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museumzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing