We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a quick bite”
Review of Cafe Wheels

Cafe Wheels
Ranked #1,740 of 3,905 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick bite”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We found this by accident, it's not very big, but does decent toasties, beer in a friendly atmosphere, we were heading back to the central area and glad we stopped here before being back in 'tourist menu' zone only a few minutes walk away.

The toasties were good and not expensive by Amsterdam standards ( 4 euros), we didn't try but the cakes looked good as well. Decent selection of beer and friendly staff.

If you friendly, easy going atmosphere for a drink/lunch it's a good option.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsdutchburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Superb for people watching and beer”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This was a haven for us from the persistent rain and almost freezing temperatures in our January trip. It was a case of having walked around for hours completely absorbed in the beauty of the area and suddenly realising how thirsty we were. We were welcomed very warmly and the lady who served us was very knowledgeable about the local small brewery bars on tap. She even taught me how to say' thank you' and 'where are the toilets?' it was a fun little experience. There were a another couple of people in at the same time who were also very friendly and shy.
The beers we had were lovely and the cafe so warm, we sat by the window at a table which had an oriental rug as a table cloth and only then did we look up Cafe Wheels online :)
It was hard to leave; to go out into the cold and rain again when is was so cosy and relaxing inside but there was so much more to see :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carriegault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice mint tea”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stumbled across this little cafe when we needed a light refreshment and a sit down.
We were greated by - you cant sit there this is our service area - even though there were three stools free at the bar! so we moved over to the next available stool. The next people who came in did exactly the same, and were told the same and promptly left. Another guy on his own also came in and was told the same and he moved over to the other end of the bar and was told by the girl at the other end of the bar that he could nt sit there either so he moved to the middle. That was ok. It was reasonably full and we probably caught them at a bad moment but not very organised and not a very friendly welcome! Didnt stay long, but did enjoy the mint tea. Need to look at your customer service

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSFYORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Very quaint cafe”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We came across this small cafe and stopped for a cuppa. Atmosphere inside was great, the service was excellent, food and coffee no complaints. Very pleasant & peaceful. All staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the gentleman who served us. Very helpful with directions and ideas as to what to see in Amsterdam. Would certainly recommend this cafe.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronp1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Wheels also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing