We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best burger in dam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Wheels

Cafe Wheels
Ranked #1,983 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Dutch, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best burger in dam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Had been walking around Dam and found this cafe by accident, but soo glad we did. Had the best burger and latte of the holiday.
Would return again.
Recommend that you try it!

Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    27
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quick Drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Only had a beer and 'bitterballen' with friends on way to dinner. This was in a great area (9 streets) in Amsterdam to stop off for a quick chat and drinks.

Get the impression that if I had spent more time here i would rate it higher.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank clntng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The most friendly cafe in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

We found this by mistake...and a great place to find for a casual lunch. The burgers were fantastic, well cooked and good value, especially by Amsterdam prices. Home made cakes recommended especially carrot cake or apple pie. we were there with our 6 year old son who was made to also feel really welcome. Staff very, very friendly. Top spot, thank you

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BMfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We found this by accident, it's not very big, but does decent toasties, beer in a friendly atmosphere, we were heading back to the central area and glad we stopped here before being back in 'tourist menu' zone only a few minutes walk away.

The toasties were good and not expensive by Amsterdam standards ( 4 euros), we didn't try but the cakes looked good as well. Decent selection of beer and friendly staff.

If you friendly, easy going atmosphere for a drink/lunch it's a good option.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsdutchburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Superb for people watching and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This was a haven for us from the persistent rain and almost freezing temperatures in our January trip. It was a case of having walked around for hours completely absorbed in the beauty of the area and suddenly realising how thirsty we were. We were welcomed very warmly and the lady who served us was very knowledgeable about the local small brewery bars on tap. She even taught me how to say' thank you' and 'where are the toilets?' it was a fun little experience. There were a another couple of people in at the same time who were also very friendly and shy.
The beers we had were lovely and the cafe so warm, we sat by the window at a table which had an oriental rug as a table cloth and only then did we look up Cafe Wheels online :)
It was hard to leave; to go out into the cold and rain again when is was so cosy and relaxing inside but there was so much more to see :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carriegault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Wheels also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing