We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay in amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
Ranked #291 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
England UK
1 review
“Our second stay in amsterdam”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is the second time that me and my boyfriend have stayed in Hem Hotel. And the second time was even better than the first! We stayed for 4 nights. Our room was so spacious, even had a jacuzzi bath too lol. The rooms were clean and tidy, service was good, food was alright too. The location is spot on! Its not far from the aiport and definatly not far from Dam Square as the tram number 2 is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and it takes about 10-15 mins to get to Dam Square. Would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank charlene e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    469
    586
    287
    367
See reviews for
232
571
109
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I've stayed in many places in the dam and thoroughly enjoyed this place. You definitely need tram tickets for the duration of your stay but is really good for the airport, no need to go to central station.
Food available 24 hours a day, same for coffee. I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Very lovely staff and services, only problem is the location of the hotel. Distance from the centre of town is quite more than it may seem looking online.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My friend and I recently stayed one night at the HEM hotel. Although this was my first visit, my friend had stayed here three or four times before. We usually stay at the Inner hotel near the museumplein but the rate for one night at this hotel was hard to beat on this occasion. We paid just £17.00 each for a twin room (not including breakfast).

The Hem hotel is out of the city centre and is located in what looks like a “dodgy” council estate. It is about a 5-8 minute walk from Heemstedestraat metro station (50 train). The No 2 tram also stops here.

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly chap who checked us in. As we arrived early our room wasn’t quite ready but we were able to leave our bags in a secure luggage room. After a few hours in the city we returned and checked into our room which was located on the first floor.

I have to say I was really surprised how spacious our room was. For a cheap budget hotel the beds were excellent with very comfortable mattresses. The furniture was in good order with plenty of storage space. The room came with TV and telephone. The bathroom too was very good, we were supplied with two towels each plus toiletries were supplied. The shower was also very good, water was hot and powerful. The room was very clean. The only real gripe was that there was no in-room safe, other than that the room was perfect for our needs.

The hotel itself had a number of amenities including a lobby bar, a restaurant, pool table, a night club and an outside patio area. One big plus point is that if you come by car there is parking available at the hotel, something that is a bit of a nightmare in the city centre hotels.
Breakfast is optional, you can choose between a light breakfast in the lobby bar or a full buffet breakfast in the restaurant for 10 euro’s. I went for the full option which included the usual European fair of meats and cheeses, boiled eggs, cereals and various breads etc. Tea, coffee and fruit juices completed the fair.

Getting into the city centre is very easy as previously mentioned the Metro station and the No2 tram are just a short walk away. Also, very close to the hotel under the motorway bridge and in amongst the estate are a number of shops including a very large Lidl plus a couple of eateries. The hotel is also very convenient for Schiphol airport being just one stop away from Lelylaan station.

For the money there were no grumbles from us and we would certainly consider staying at the HEM again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finkfloydman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. I came to visit places of interest that represents the local culture of Holland. I didn't like the smell of smoke in the hotel corridors. The hotel needs a pest control to clean it from bugs and mice. I was shocked to find out a mice eating my cheese (photos will follow). Staff were nice but it doesn't make it a good place to stay. The hotel doesn't deserve a 3 ***. I have been studying Management in Travel and Tourism and worked in Conrad and Hilton hotels. This cannot be compared to this. I've been to many hotels and places around Europe but I have never seen like this one.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAbdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This place was weird. It felt like a hostel, there was always a random man sleeping in a chair in the lobby.
The room smelt of stale fags, clearly not redecorated since the smoking ban a couple of years ago. The room was basic, but fine. The bathroom was new, and nice. Clean and modern. But location, if you don't mind a 30 min tram to the centre, it's OK. Tram stop just around the corner.
If it's cheap then fine, but as I stayed during Marathon weekend I was ripped off.
There was also a water waste pipe (we think) just above the ceiling tiles in our room, which sounded like running water actually in our room, through the night. Very odd.
Our room also didn't have a view, it looked out onto a covered courtyard with about 5 scary paintings of Buddha.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view. Ours looked out into a covered courtyard with about 5 scary paintings of B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi_500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stay in HEM Hotel for two night. and we like it !
We were very happy with the price, It's cheaper that others hotels in Amsterdam.
The parking is very convinient, especially in a city like Amsterdam where it is quite difficult to park.
It is not so far from the city center : the tramway station was just near the hotel and in 15 minutes maximum we were in Leidseplein !
The rooms was correct and clean.
The only negative point is that is is a no smoking hotel and the only smoking area is outside ..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,042 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#165 of 368 in Amsterdam
173 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#211 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#233 of 368 in Amsterdam
715 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,414 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#264 of 368 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Property: West Side Inn Hotel
Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing