We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel, but poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
Ranked #297 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cholsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
569 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel, but poor location”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here for one night this weekend.
Got an excellent deal through Hotels.com for £29- the same price I paid for the relatively nearby Menninger but a much better hotel.
Easy check in, and good service from all staff.
I was in room 8 on the ground floor. Decent size room with a fridge, good en-suite (my shower head was adjustable which other reviewers have pointed out to not be the case) and plenty of seats plus a desk. Also a telephone but that was disconnected.
Food in restaurant was good- pizzas come highy recommended, and reasonably priced.
One complaint about the room was 2 of my towels were stained, but I took these back to reception and they were immediately replaced.
Problem with the West Side Inn is the location- in terms of being central to Amsterdam it is actually very close with a regular tram service taking 20mins to Central Station. However, it is a nightmare to find, and on a very nasty looking estate with high rise flats (I suppose the kind of Ilford of Amsterdam?!) and doesn't feel safe at night.
What was worse was that I returned at 23:30 in the pouring rain to find the gates all locked. I hadn't been told about this, nor had I been told where the side gate was! After wandering around for a while I found a gate with a bell and pressed it about 5 times, each time it buzzed and the gate remained locked. In the end the Night Porter came out to unlock it manually, but this was something I could have done without!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    473
    593
    296
    383
See reviews for
238
591
110
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Over all we had a very good weekend at the hotel. Can't really have any complaints. Trams to center are round the corner and service was all first class from staff. We plan on staying here again when we return in May. I should also mention there is a very hand shop less than 5 mins walk from the hotel but the hotel do supply 24 hour food and drink service that is also very handy.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allancmrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for having taken the time to give us feedback on your recent stay at West Side Inn Amsterdam.
it is so nice to read that you had such a good experience and that you give us a 4 star review.
We hope to welcome you again in May.

Kind regards,
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I've been to Amsterdam on August 2013 for 4 days with a friend.
The Hotel was in a nice an quiet place but the city centre was about 20 minutes away by tram (n°2). We didn't have hurry and we usually walked through the little park next to the canal, really nice.
The staff was friendly and the room was always clean.
We ate at the mini-restaurant of the Hotel what a GREAT MISTAKE! We're Italian and we have taken two pizza.....were inedible.
There was also the free Wi-Fi connection, it worked very well.
I don't have more to say..All good except the food!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review. So nice to read you had such a great time at our hotel.
We are glad you find our staff friendly and you have enjoyed the walk to the city center.
I am sorry that you did not enjoyed your meal at the hotel, you can always contact waiter, so we can help you directly.
We hope you choose our hotel again the next time you will visit Amsterdam!

Kind regards,
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Good value hotel, reasonably clean, and a reasonable distance from the city centre.

All the receptions we spoke to were helpful and used good manners. We stayed in a room with four single beds. Did the job for what we needed, just a place to crash and get ourselves ready for the next outing. Fresh Towels and beds made daily. LCD TV on the wall in room, but we didn’t use it. Don’t expect great views from the windows, but it was quiet at night etc. which is a plus, as if you were in the city centre there would be a lot of noise.

Worst factor is definitely the maintenance of the hotel, especially our room. The pool table in the bar area was out of order and no sign was on it to notify people of this, so we ended up putting 2 euros in, and had to play silly buggers to get the balls out with the hotel worker.

In our room, the shower head was completely broken and when turned on, it just sprayed water all over the place, which left a completely soaked bathroom floor. Also there was holes in our ceiling, and a constant foul smell coming from the bathroom (poorly maintained drains, maybe?).

No in room tea making facilities (not ideal for an English group!), there is also no hair dryer (which also didn’t help with our flamboyant English hair styles).

Also, take your own drinks back to the hotel. The hotel charges 2.50 euros for a can of Coke. They can probably do this because there are no shops around and it would be effort for tourists to go and search for one.

I would probably stay here again, only if I was on a budget stay like I was.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Room key cards don't work, night door doesn't open, lift out of service, and service just average. This hotel looks like it's not been carefully maintained over the years. Otherwise fine. Located 5 minutes by walk from tramway #2.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Julien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are very sorry that during your stay with us you encountered some issues. It is always possible to contact the reception to see if they can do something directly.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Spend there 7 days .Six people with 3 difeferent rooms. Booked electronicly and paid aproximetely 10E/per day !!!

The room was acceptable for that amount of price .
The hotel was in a nice location with the public transport station very near it
Everything easy to navigate in and out of the hotel
Huge disapointed by the personel except 2 young boy and lady in the reception and the lady that gives
brekfast in the lobby with extremely good value of 3E if its still on dont miss it .
Amazed by the rudeness of some people in there but think of the money you would spend somewhere else !
If you only consider that the word "filoxenia" does not exist in their dictionary
The next time i'll visit Amsterdam i 'd like to stay in an other hotel but i would not buther the same in that price again

Room Tip: All the rooms are prety much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#164 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,064 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#155 of 368 in Amsterdam
195 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#242 of 368 in Amsterdam
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#244 of 368 in Amsterdam
610 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Property: West Side Inn Hotel
Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing