We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
Ranked #294 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I do not advise this hotel for allergic people because carpets and curtains didnt seem to be cleaned correctly. When you open the window you will find à lot of dirt and dust and the air conditionning was out of order even if it was so hot in the room with an old person. I would give 5/10. The receptionnist was kind.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Said B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    470
    586
    293
    376
See reviews for
237
578
109
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nothing excellent about this hotel. I could say that on a rating scale is below average but comparing the cost with what you could get in Amsterdam it is value for money. On the good side you get clean sheets, clean bathroom, staff OK and good location (by tram you can be in City Center in 10-20 minutes). The down side is the quite old appearence of the hotel. I've seen it more of a transit hotel and you can see is not that well preserved. However, I think it is an OK choice for a few nights in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the room on the upper floor next to the elevator door. It holds also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CataM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived at the West Side Inn for a Weekend trip. The First Impression was that it is a Hotel which is more fore younger people which are staying for a party trip to Amsterdam. As we are also planned to stay there for a party weekend we did not mind that the people smoke weed outside the hotel in the garden.
The Hotel reception was occupied by a friendly employ which spoke english, dutch and german and he was very friendly.
Arrived in my room I was a bit frustrated because it was really hot in the room (Outside temperatur 18°C) and there was no window which could be opened. The AC did not work at all in the whole hotel. After 1 Hour in the room I wanted already to change it because it was so unbelivable hot. That was actually possible said the person at reception with no huge effort and arguing from my side. As I was not in a hurry I offered them to change the room in the next morning so they do not have to hesitate to organise the switch of the rooms.
Back in the morning I went back to the reception for the switch. Unfortantly there was not the same person anymore and I explained my problem and also the agreement with the other receptionist. Unfortanly the employees which were really friendly and helpfull had off this day. The receptionist, Gabi was his name I think, was really unfriendly and said that I would not have done this agreement with any of the employees and called me a liar. He also said that the hotel is totally full and there is no chance to switch the room. In the same evening luckly the other employee was back and allowed to change the room to a room with a window which made the stay in the room really comfortable. Also the cleaning and security employees were all really friendly and helpfull which made the stay in total pretty nice. The standarts are not really high but the price was good so we were expecting not a high standart.
In total the stay at West Side Inn was a pleasure except from one employee which can destroy the whole image of a Hotel.

The rooms:

The rooms are normal space the beds are really soft which for my opinion is really not comfortable. The room was mostly clean except some marks on the carpet. There was a TV which had a certain amount of TV Programms available.


Employees:

In general really friendly except one person.

Food:

The food we did not actually tried there so I can not comment on this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 55Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very nice, always helpful staff, is a fair distance into the city centre but its a 10 minute walk from the tram which went into the city centre, WiFi in the rooms and the food was nice ... Nice, quiet bar area with TV and pool table, small outside drinking areas at the front and back of hotel as well

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for posting this review. We are glad to read you are really positive about the hotel and give us a 5 star review. The hotel is indeed not in the city center but just outside it. But there is a good public transport connection day and night, so you can reach the city center within 25 minutes.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Large clean rooms and large bathroom and located in a quite neighborhood 10 minute walk from the tram stop.
Great location, buffet breakfast is well worth it. Free wifi in rooms, reception very friendly and helpful
We enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank allyceeew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We would like to thank you very much for your stay at West Side Inn Amsterdam and for taking the time to provide us with your lovely feedback.
It is nice to read that you are so positive about our rooms, breakfast, location and our staff.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

hotel was nothing special, an average type, but rooms were fortunatetly renewed and they were clean and well done every day.
bathroom was not optimal: we had a bit of flood everytime while showering...


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert_PG25BY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,052 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#160 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#229 of 367 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#207 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,056 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#234 of 367 in Amsterdam
589 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Property: West Side Inn Hotel
Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing