We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
Ranked #292 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT worth the money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

First of all, the pictures that they provide are NOT accurate. They make their property look very charming and quaint, which was NOT my experience. I expected to pay a bit in order to stay in a hotel with a carkpark/parking lot, but when we got inside, we were bewildered to see what our money had bought. This hardly fits the name of hotel. Hostel would be more accurate. The hotel had a derelict and dingy feel all about it. When we got into our first room, it had a funny smell. As we looked around, we found that the drainpipe in the bathroom was open. The shower drained directly into an open pipe, which had dirty, stagnant water just open to the air. We requested a change in room, which they gave us, but the new room had the exact same problem. We gave up hoping that we would find a reasonable shower and just covered the drainpipe with a spare towel. Obviously we had to move this towel in order to shower, and when the first person in our group tried to shower, his foot got caught in the open drain and he fell in the shower, injuring himself. Not promising! In the first evening, we noticed that our room seemed to have a lot of mosquitos. The room felt stuffy, as there was no real air conditioner or swamp cooler or fan, so we opened the window, but that did not help. The next day, there were still an awful lot of mosquitos. We covered the drainpipe with the towel again and were unable to shower for the rest of our trip. (Gross.) The mosquitos stopped showing up, though, which leads us to believe that they were coming out of the drainpipe all along. Also, every evening, we could hear a large number of rowdy guests up and down our corridor. Their closed doors and our closed door did nothing to block out the noises of their drinking and sometimes even fighting. It made restful sleep impossible. Altogether, not worth the money we paid, given how far out of the town it was and the horrible quality of the living situation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    461
    571
    279
    356
See reviews for
221
557
108
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed there for five nights. It was very nice in most ways! The room was clean and quite big and the housekeeping was nice. In the lobby there is a mini restaurant which is open until late in the evening so it was possible to eat something very late if you wanted to. The bar was also nice. Breakfast was good but quite expensive (10 €). The location is okay but you have to walk about 7-10 minutes to the tram which was the most boring part. Recommend this hotel for young people and if you get a good deal it's definitely worth the stay in lovely Amsterdam :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Þórdís Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

A 10 min walk to metro #2 to downtown Amsterdam, where the fun begins!! Great staff (Jos is the best) Great breakfast! Top floor is hot, but have air conditioner. Little bistro awesome! Laid back, quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Google Translation
Hartelijk dank voor uw bezoek en uw beoordeling.
Het is een enorme motivatie voor ons team om te lezen hoezeer u heeft genoten van uw verblijf.
Wij hopen u wederom te mogen begroeten.

Met vriendelijke groeten
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keaau Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

West Side Inn (the old HEM) helped make our recent stay relaxing. The staff are so helpful and nice: getting extra pillows & towels, no problem. There are two lifts where most hotels don't even have one! The rooms are large for Amsterdam and my request for a window that opens got me a huge, fully opening panel: A'dam is hot in July but our top floor room stayed cool. The grounds are a lovely garden with many private benches so that smokers don't feel like lepers. A few minutes' walk to Delflanplein with AHeijn & Liddel markets, sandwich & other shops, it is also close to a canal where we saw a hunting heron, a family of swans and a nestful of moorhen chicks. The ride in on the #2 showcases many small businesses outside the Centrum. Who cares if it's five minutes more to the Leidseplein?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labrujaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you so much for choosing West Side Inn and for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you think so highly of our hotel and staff. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trelleborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a Boring location. The room was ok, very basic, but poorly cleaned. The AC didn't work. It was cheap but we have visited much better hotels with in that pricerange. It was fairly easy to walk to the nearest tram station, to get in to the center of Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna196909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms were large and the beds were very nice. The staff was very nice and helped us with all our questions. The staff spoke several languages, even Danish. I don't understand why everyone is so concerned about this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West-Side-Inn-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing all these wonderful words regarding your recent stay at West Side Inn Amsterdam.
We cannot wait to welcome you in our hotel again!

Kind regards,
West Side Inn Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#158 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#262 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#206 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#230 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Property: West Side Inn Hotel
Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing