We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would not recommend this so called hotel to my enemies!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Side Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Side Inn Hotel
Ranked #286 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Malmo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would not recommend this so called hotel to my enemies!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

To be fair there are two good things about this hotel; they serve good breakfasts and the trams are within easy access, but that is pretty much it.
We were a party of five people travelling together and had booked three rooms for a weekend. They were all quite shabby, with mouldy patches on the walls/ceiling and with showers that flooded the bathroom floor, when used. The sleep quality was poor as people were running and talking loudly in the corridor during the night, using the fire escape to go out and smoke and slamming the door shut behind them. The staff in the reception was extremely unprofessional and rude. The overall impression is that of a poor youth hostel rather than a hotel and therefor extremely overpriced! I am an experienced traveller and have stayed in hotels and hostels all over the world and rarely have I come across a place of a poorer standard.
I would never go back to this place or recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    454
    561
    275
    350
See reviews for
216
550
108
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mission
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

It is amazing that Americans like myself are willing to travel 1000's of miles to spend our hard-earned dollars on average motel rooms. It was clean, but there was no breakfast included and the hotel itself is hard to find and out of the way. The price was too much.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctjbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed here with my boyfriend in March and had a really good time. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very helpful Dutch lady. When checking in we paid for parking which was quite expensive. We were also given our room number and details which we said were wrong. The lady tried her best to get us into the room we wanted but couldn't so we were happy with the room we had. When getting to the room I wasn't sure what to think. I looked all right but it was rather shabby. I thought there is room for improvement. I though the bathroom could do with some doing up. the shower wasn't very good went from cold to hot, the floor needed something as the water came through the shower door and I slipped not expecting it to be wet before I put the towel down. I thought the hotel was very far out from the city centre but the tram was only a few mins walk from the hotel. The nights sleep was disturbed as I have no idea what was going on and I don't want to know what was going on but nothing was done by staff even with complaints. In the morning we went down for breakfast and it was the nicest hotel breakfast ever. No complaints about that at all. I do think something needs to be done with the lobby as it looks crowded and not welcoming. I'd say if anyone wanted a cheap hotel away from all the hustle and bustle of the city. This would be perfect for them.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby_Dooby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemHotel, Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for the feedback.

Indeed, we have considered restyling our lobby and done it recently. The elevator shaft in the middle of it, however, makes it very hard, so we did only incremental changes. But that is definitely something to consider for the near future.

Excuse us for problems with your bathroom. I have forwarded your comments to the maintenance department for further investigation.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osijek, Croatia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

Considering the price of 250 euros for 5 x B&B for two people, you can't ask for more. But accomodation is a bit below average, and too far from everything.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VedranaiBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemHotel, Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review.

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. In fact, tram 2 is within a 5-minute walk and metro is within a 10-minute walk from the hotel. Maybe, we should have provided clearer directions, for which, please, excuse us.

We hope you give us a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

A short walk from the tram which provides access to everywhere in Amsterdam quickly and efficiently, we enjoyed the hotel. The restaurant and bar was friendly and had just the right choices. Staff provided assistance for touring and were very accommodating. Rooms and bath were clean and roomy. A great budget choice.

Stayed April 2010
Helpful?
Thank cgkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemHotel, Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for the feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the coming future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

After reading some of the unfavourable reviews on various sites about this hotel, we were slightly anxious about our stay. The hotel in general could do with a little spruce-up and some attention to detail, but overall it's not too bad and the staff we came across were friendly. The buffet breakfast was particularly good with a variety of hot food, cereal, bread and fruit.

We stayed in the main hotel building, and the room was clean and adequate. A few gripes though: apart from the dull main light, our room only had one bedside lamp, which made the room quite dark and difficult to read in. In spite of reporting this several times, the problem was not rectified during our stay; not enough towels were replaced each day, we had to keep requesting more; there was no bath-mat so the bathroom floor got soaked after a shower.

There is a Lidl and Albert Heijn supermarket just up the road from the hotel which is very useful for buying water/snacks, especially when the hotel charges €3 for a small bottle!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemHotel, Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

I have forwarded the mentioned issues to our housekeeping department, so they could look into them.

Excuse us for the inconveniences caused and we hope to welcome you back some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Hotel fair way out but can walk through Vondelpark - allow 45 minutes-1 hour
To reach the hotel from the airport you can take the number 2 tram from Central Station but the queue for 48 hour ticket on a Friday night is very long. You can buy single ticket on tram. Get off at Westlandstraacht, then walk through to hotel.
Quickest way from airport is to get train to Leylaan Station. Take bus number 62 outside and then get off at bottom of road by hotel. 2 minute walk to hotel. [avoids city centre when very busy]
Trams run till midnight then the 358 night bus from city centre.
Good venue - VERY quiet - hotel providesd food till 4am - useful!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surreyLoneranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#163 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#224 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#206 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#63 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#121 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side Inn Hotel

Property: West Side Inn Hotel
Address: Voorburgstraat 250, 1059 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly HEM Hotel Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — West Side Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Side Inn Amsterdam is perfectly situated in the South West part of Amsterdam, next to the main highway the A10. Schiphol Airport, World Fashion Centre, World Trade Centre and RAI Congress Hall are only 15 minutes away. West Side Inn Amsterdam can easily be reached by public transportation or by car, which you can park in our own parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your West Side Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hem Hotel
Hem Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing