We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Side Inn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$663
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,055)
Filter reviews
2,055 results
Traveller rating
174
495
626
328
432
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
495
626
328
432
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopnumber trampublic transportlidlvondelpark
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,040 - 1,045 of 2,055 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I booked this hotel through Hotelclub.com and I have been stung by them before! The hotel is situated far away from the centre of Amsterdam but luckily 15 minutes journey on a tram. The hotel is scruffy and the service from the staff is poor. We had a triple room as I was travelling with my wife and 14 year old daughter. The room itself was of a reasonable standard but totally innappropriate as you could see people in the shower as the wall between the shower and the room was glass? The room was tidy and the bedding and sleeping arrangements were good. Breakfast was acceptable. The whole experience was ruined by poor customer service and very tired shabby looking interior to the hotel. We also got stung for a £35 car park charge on checking out which they did not tell us about on check-in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuiggersClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemHotel, Manager at West Side Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you for the review.

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.

Indeed, we are 15 minutes away from the centre by tram and we are honest about our location on all resources.

Our parking lot is not free, we charge €12,50 for 24 hours, which is much cheaper than public parking in the centre, which costs €5 per hour. Though, reception should have warned you about that extra cost. We are going to have a word with our reception employees.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you give us a second chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I read alot of reviews on here after booking this hotel over Christmas, and I must say this website must be full of people with pretty high standards, because for the price the HEM was perfect. We stayed in the annexe, unfortunately in a non-smoking room. It was a twin room which was clean and tidy. The bathroom had a habit of flooding though. Very good location in comparison to the tram stop, and it's only 5 minutes from a little greengrocers. The staff by and large were friendly, with the exception of the barwoman who answered my question about the location of the local supermarket with "it's closed.".. Overall, a very good budget option, and I shall probably be returning there in September.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

NIce people working there, always wanting to help. Good rooms and well-communicated with downtown.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
Thank MartaRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

To be fair there are two good things about this hotel; they serve good breakfasts and the trams are within easy access, but that is pretty much it.
We were a party of five people travelling together and had booked three rooms for a weekend. They were all quite shabby, with mouldy patches on the walls/ceiling and with showers that flooded the bathroom floor, when used. The sleep quality was poor as people were running and talking loudly in the corridor during the night, using the fire escape to go out and smoke and slamming the door shut behind them. The staff in the reception was extremely unprofessional and rude. The overall impression is that of a poor youth hostel rather than a hotel and therefor extremely overpriced! I am an experienced traveller and have stayed in hotels and hostels all over the world and rarely have I come across a place of a poorer standard.
I would never go back to this place or recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilia_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

It is amazing that Americans like myself are willing to travel 1000's of miles to spend our hard-earned dollars on average motel rooms. It was clean, but there was no breakfast included and the hotel itself is hard to find and out of the way. The price was too much.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctjbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews