We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap! fun! great with kids! an adventure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia, pa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“cheap! fun! great with kids! an adventure!”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

we stay in all kinds of hotels: 5 star, hostels, boats, air bnb and were looking for something inexpensive in amsterdam and found it! after going to the website every week or so, found the price dropped to about 80 euros for our family of 4 to rent a 4 bed room. with this rate, they wanted to charge 10 euros each for breakfast, so we declined, but when we got to the hostel, they gave us breakfast anyway. most of the hotels in amsterdam will accomodate only 2-3 people so you have to book 2 rooms...t,his was ideal for our family to stay together.

location: a bit out from central station (but nothing is that far) but very nice if you are going to museums as well. easy to get to from the train from the airport. station 2 blocks away.

hotel: really friendly, very hip and young vibe, our middle ageness and young kids didn't bother anyone. kids got free frisbees from the front desk. free internet but you can't access it in the rooms. nice lounge area with tvs inexplicably set to cartoons. our kids loved that. very large lockers that are easy to use and inexpensive. we stuffed 2 large backpacks into one.

room: very very clean and basic. you make your own bed with fresh sheets and strip the beds when you leave. bathroom fine. we had 2 fire alarms that night and the corridor can be noisy but it settles down later.

breakfast: great! long line. go early. very filling continental breakfast: boiled eggs, lunchmeats, bread, cereal, milk, juice, etc.

you can rent bikes as well.

overall an unconventional fun cheap way to stay in amsterdam with kids!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetakethekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    774
    267
    58
    39
See reviews for
124
152
404
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Vondelpark is a bit of a ways from the Centraal Station, but that is still walking distance if your used to it. Everywhere in Amsterdam is almost walking distance and impossible to get lost. I even intentionally tried. Stayokay have done well as even if your away from the station, your close to Heineken brewery, Van Gogh Museum, and some really good shops. If you want to stay in Amsterdam for the straight and narrow this is a good spot, or if you want to see Amsterdam for the 'legal' things they have, it is still a good spot with Vondelpark right next door to relax in and a lot of 'coffee shops' 15min walk away. The red light district is also only 30min if you take your time in the same direction, but honestly if you know where to look they are everywhere.

With free breakfast being substantial enough for even big eaters, and the carded doors to enter the hostel and throughout, with one on your door too, it is probably the most secure I've stayed in. Coupled with good speed and fairly reliable free wifi, I think it's a good choice. Just bring a good sized lock for your locker in the room, and everything else will be good and relaxing.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank brendy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

i choose this hostel because i wanted to be near the main museums in amsterdam. Also i didnt want to be close to the party area of RLD !! it is a massive hostel and was mostly filled with younger people ( im late thirties !)
good breakfast, the earlier u get down for it the less q there will be for it. One big tip, remember to make bed with sheet and duvet cover etc before you come back late at night ! i made this mistake and had to sleep sheetless as i couldnt make bed quietly in dark !! lesson learned !! good safe lockers(bring padlock) and good left luggage also if neded for after checkout. enjoy. stay safe !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yer_man_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My European first hostel experience. Rooms were big and had bathrooms and showers to share amongst 10 people. Free wifi which is essential, although it cost to use the computer. Great location, right opposite VondelPark. Good continental breakfast. 10-15 minuite walk to the Dam (city centre).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stay this hotel just for one night.
the staff is pretty gppd and helpful.
location near to central amsterdam and red district,
Overall I fully enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

stay here for 3days 2 night. the staff were very friendly and helpful. Room were clean and free from mite but toilet and shower was a bit small. if you're looking for cheap accommodation and not mind staying in dorm i would've recommended this place.
the drawback of this place is, it is far from public transportation esp if you are traveling with heavy loaded bag.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfarhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed in a 6 bed room with my girls.
Went on a week trip to Amsterdam with University and loved every minute of it.
The hostel was great, i couldn't fault it in any way. Breakfast was great, so easy as it was make your own buffet style.
The beds were comfy and the hostel as a whole was very quiet and relaxing. Great bar facilties and the people who work there were always very friendly and helpful.
In a great location too, the hip Leidseplein was great for us. If you're a young group then do stay here as there are great bars and restaurants on your doorstep and the red light district is only a short tramride away.

Room Tip: There is a bus that goes direct from the airport to the hostel. Look this up as we didn't before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punkyfish149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#141 of 367 in Amsterdam
910 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,299 reviews
Hostelle
#39 of 231 in Amsterdam
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 231 in Amsterdam
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing