We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Good points. Good location; close to the heart of town, a tram ride, bike ride or walk was easy. Being alongside Vondelpark was lovely. Close to museums. Was safe and secure. I stayed in a 20 bed dorm which was fine. Great places to eat, go out close by. The bar staff, and the bike staff were really friendly and had great customer service. Locker system was great. Take your own padlock so you don't have to buy one. Inclusive breakfast was very handy.

Bad points. The bathroom in the 20 room dorm had no soap to wash your hands, and the shower no place to put your stuff while showering which I found annoying. The front desk staff were unfriendly, almost hostile. Perhaps they were stressed... You really need/want friendly people to greet you on arrival, and departure. Granted they get asked the same questions over and over but that is how it is. They really need to pick up there skills at reception. One woman ridiculed me because I asked about dollars instead of Euros ...

Room Tip: A1 with 20 people was fine. All one does is sleep there; not hang out in the dorm. Take a padlock fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

2 persons bed room for me and my girlfriend.. The rooms look like. An mental hospital. The sanitair is ok but no towls and they ask 450euro. For only 1 meter of thin towl. No wifi up stairs and no wifi after midnight. Corners in the room are dirty.. There were bugs that bite. Missies got bitten 4 times.. We left the room that same night. The hotel couldn't offer us anything else because there was no staff until 7 in the morning.. We waited for them for an solution.. When they arrived they told us that they were so sorry and could offer an multi person room.. Our money back.. We took it nd left.. Now we have ibis and it's fuc** great..

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuuLz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Generally in Amsterdam I guess it's the most budget place, which you can find. Location is very nice in city center close to Vondelpark and Laites plain.

Internet connection, breakfast, safe box etc. are the best positive points of the place. You can also find too many deals for daily tours, rent a bike, hop on hop of there ... But it's a little bit busy.

Room Tip: 404 C ... it's for 6 persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Whilst not the nicest, cheapest or most amazing hostel on the trip, there were no problems at all with this hostel. Good location in Amsterdam, with the rooms and facilities basic, but certainly problem free. Recommend!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Being a preferer of luxury and privacy, using a Hostel is out of the norm for me. However, going on a Stag Night in Amsterdam, attracted this option as the most affordable and practical.
We had a room for 6 exclusively. I was very happy with the look and cleanliness of the hostel on arrival. We were allowed to leave our bags in a room until our room was ready. Checking in was hassle free leaving the rest of the day to drink! The Hostel bar was excellent. The room was perfect for our needs, and created a fun atmosphere.
The location was also perfect. Very close to Vondelpark for a cycle ride, close to a large square of Bars, and right next to a Tram line into town, which we never needed as we walked everywhere.
My only gripe was the poor wifi, but I could happily forget Facebook for a day or two!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

i picked up this place because it was the cheapest in Amsterdam and net to the centre. I travelled alone and i was put in a dormitory for 20!!! people which was fortunatly not full because there were only 2 toliets and 3 showers... and it was only for girls. The hostel in itself is ok, nice lobby to relax, if you don't have wifi they have computers (1 hour 3 euro) breakfast is really basic but i was not expecting more from a hostel. What really disappointed me was the numer of toilets in my dorm, the lackage of sockets (1 every 4 bed, maybe less, i trid to charge batteries and somebody was constantly unplugging). They praise to be eco freindly, then they should thinking about old tap to mixer tap. The place was clean if you plan to visit just the centre on Amsterdam you can easily walk there. If you travel alone this might be your cheapest choice in Amsterdam but from 2 to more people maybe you can find a decent price in a regular hotel. I paid about 27 E pro nigh.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valevale71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I stayed in this hostel some months ago during a trip to Amsterdam with my friends; we had a really good time!
The rooms and common areas are clean and large; in the lobby you find some nice open spaces in which there is all you need!
The only problem we had was the dinner (which was included in our reservation): it is like at school but we had to wait almost 45 minutes to get something to eat. The second day we went out, despite the fact we paid to stay there in the hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackkkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,282 reviews
XO Hotels Blue Square
#165 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostelle
#35 of 242 in Amsterdam
271 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#61 of 242 in Amsterdam
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 242 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £26 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing