We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“chill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

great breakfast! nice crowd and enthusiastic staff.
The bedroom was spacious and bright, and most importantly, the heaters worked!
Very impressed at the cleanliness of such a big hostel.
I must warn though, it is a bit of a walk from the train station but the walk is worth it, there were winter markets and street performers. A great sight!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hakamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    729
    247
    52
    39
See reviews for
106
144
379
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here whilst on a topdeck tour in early September. It was a pretty good location and had a tram stop just 500m up the road so easy to access the city. The rooms were quite big, we had 6 to a room and still had room to move about. The beds were nice and big and had excellent charging points right by each bed - handy to keep your phone and camera near you when charging. Only thing that was a bit of a pain was the shower, it was a push button on so had to push it constantly to get water, and the drainage wasnt that great, the floor was always covered in water. The food was amazing and also the bar had cheap drinks. The laundry was the cheapest across the whole of Europe that i used. The FREE WIFI actually worked which is nice for a change. Overall good hostel. Will be recommending to my clients!!

Room Tip: Second Floor rooms - we had 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agentoftravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were traveling in a group of 4 and had booked a quadruple sharing room. When we first entered the room, we were disappointed due to the small size and that the room had not been cleaned and prepared before our arrival. We immediately brought it to the attention of the staff and it was all uphill from there. The staff were extremely prompt and efficient in addressing our concern. They inspected the room and readily shifted us to a 6 sharing bigger room with no extra charge. This readiness to respond and take immediate corrective action melted away any sense of initial disappointment. Kudos to the team! Room is basic with bunk beds, attached bath, fresh towels and toiletries (no hair dryer), 2 very large windows so ventilation was sufficient despite no AC or fan. Pros - Good location, though its a 20 min walk from Dam square and 30-40 mins to Amsterdam Centraal station; good breakfast; very economical (breakfast inclusive rate was Rs. 3000 per person per night in August'13); nice bar and friendly bartender; helpful staff. Cons - Nothing really, except that 4 sharing rooms are slightly small.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxha10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights. This place is more than the expected for a hostel.

This is probably one of the best hostels I've been. Clean rooms, bathroom with shower in the big rooms, friendly staff (they act as touristic office, even selling tickets for attractions in Amsterdam) and the best breakfast I've ever had in a hostel. The installations are completely clean.

Smoking is not allowed and windows can´t be completely opened (I can imagine why, but I think that the stuff with the windows is a bit excesive).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto_profname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed in the Stayokay Vondelpark hostel for 7 nights. I had a great stay. I actually switched from another hostel nearby to this one because I loved it so much. The rooms are very clean, the facilities are nice, the wifi actually works unlike most hostels, the bar is great, the breakfast is very tasty, and most of all, the people who work at hostel are just amazing. I've never met such friendly and kind hostel staff as the ones at Stayokay Vondelpark Hostel during my travels. The location is great too. Vondelpark is absolutely gorgeous, and a lot of the city attractions are nearby. I highly recommend this hostel to everyone. Keep up the good work Stayokay staff!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randers1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and great compliment!
We are really glad that you enjoyed and extended your stay!
Kind regards,
Anna from Stayokay Vondelpark
front office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Accommodation generally seems quite expensive in Amsterdam so my friends and I booked an 8 bed dorm in this hostel for the weekend.
Rooms were basic but functional: hot water in the shower room, plenty of plug sockets, shower, sink and toilet all separate (important when sharing with others) and comfy enough beds, although it was annoying having to make your bed on arrival.
The staff at the hostel were friendly and helpful. We bought tickets for some of the museums at reception and this got us a discount and fast track queuing, which is great for the weekend queues! You can also rent bikes from the hostel, although we didn't do this.
Breakfast was simple but tasty. Freshly baked bread, meat, cheese, cereal, jams and hot drinks. The queues were very long though so it was worth getting up a little earlier to avoid the 9.30 rush.
The location was also great. Vondel park is huge and lovely to walk around. Easy walking distance to all the main attractions too.
Overall, it was a nice enough stay, but I think next time I visit Amsterdam I would rather pay a little more and stay in a hotel room as I don't think the prices were competitive enough here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keri_C_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear,

Thank you for your response!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our staff is great! Good to hear that you liked our breakfast. It is a good start of the day.

Did you know that our prices are lower in the low-season. Keep an eye on our website!

Kind Regards,
Anna from Stayokay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#146 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Volkshotel
#42 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#14 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing