We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayokay is okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I was in Amsterdam for two days and my friends and I stayed here overnight. Location is good, and they provide the bare minimum that would be expected at a hostel. It's a bit stark--sort of more like a shoddy hotel than your typical hostel--but it got the job done.

There were seven of us and we booked beds in an 8-person room, but when half of my group checked in they put us in a 7-bed room, which was nice.

I really enjoyed the breakfast, but definitely try to get there early! When I ate there was no line for the food, but about an hour later I went back to refill my water bottle and the line was going down the stairs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thanks for your review and ratings. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. The breakfast can indeed get a little busy, most people sleep in a little before they go up for breakfast. But we're happy that you got to enjoy breakfast before it got busy! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 1,712 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

I visited Amsterdam back in February from Monday to Friday. It was the best hostel i've ever stayed in and it was in an ideal location to get around Amsterdam. I went with a group of friends and we all shared a room which was great, however i wouldn't have been so keen to share it with strangers, as the bathroom wasn't cleaned the whole time we were there. The breakfast was also very basic and i ended up walking to the local supermarket each morning. However i spent a few evenings in the bar which was relatively cheaper than the bars around Amsterdam. I thought this was a great place to stay with friends but i don't think i would recommend this hostel as a family hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freyaaa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thanks for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you guys enjoyed your stay with us. Private rooms usually get cleaned once before, while shared rooms get cleaned every day. Of course it's no problem if you like us to clean the bathroom during your stay, just let us know next time! Most guests really enjoy our complimentary breakfast, but we are always open to suggestions to improve it. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

If all you're looking for is a hostel to bed down for the night in Amsterdam then the Stayokay should work for you. It's in a great location - next to the Vondelpark, the museum quarter is just around the corner and it's easy to work out from the hostel in which direction you need to head to reach the various attractions around central Amsterdam. The hostel is very large so expect a queue in the morning for breakfast - don't head up just before it finishes, 9am to 9.30 worked for me each morning.There's bike hire (didn't use it) and free wifi in the communal areas. There were what appeared to be a lot of school/college parties staying at the same time as me and these communal areas filled up quickly.

However, if you're looking for a cheap hotel then this isn't for you. It's been years since I stayed in a hostel but I knew what to expect. If you don't then you're going to be in for a shock. My private room came with everything I needed - a simple bed, a shower and a toilet but that's it. A place to kick back and relax it wasn't. But with the city just outside you really shouldn't need to…..

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dante1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate all the nice words! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

If you're looking for a clean bed in a good location you'll get it here. If you expect literally anything else I suggest you look elsewhere.

Here are a few examples of how Stayok barely even made our one night stay ok;

- We wanted to buy a few things from the vending machine however the change machine was out of order. The staff at reception refused to provide change to us claiming they didn't have any. The next morning we magically had no issues with getting change. Strange that.

- We were looking forward to hanging out in the bar and meeting some cool people in the common room however we were met with what resembled a hospital waiting room and an empty overpriced bar. We, like many others it would seem, chose to stay out that night.

- We were vaguely encouraged to see on reviews that the breakfast was good. We went down 15mins before it should have finished and were met with a line coiling all the way down a staircase. We decided to go back just as it should have been finishing and the doors were locked and nobody was around. Why not be just a little bit accommodating when there are so many people to be served?

Overall the staff were unaccommodating and rude, and there was absolutely no vibe. We weren't expecting a hotel, in fact we were expecting exactly the opposite. But what we got was a characterless corporate place to sleep that we were happy to leave in the morning.

Room Tip: Choose a room, choose any room...in a different hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you liked our location and cleanliness. We are sorry to hear you experienced some inconveniences during your stay. Regarding your comment about the change. The hostel is open 24/7, however, the reception is open between 7AM and midnight. You can get certain items during the night from the night guards at the reception, but most things will be handled by our receptionists during the day. This is also the case with refunds for vending machines and/or change, as the night guards do not have access to that. Regarding our breakfast times, unfortunately we have to set specific times for this. It opens 7:30 in the morning and closes at 10AM. We are sorry to hear the door was already closed. Sometimes it's open a little longer, but like we explained, we do have these hours which are well communicated. We are sorry to hear that the bar in our hostel did not life up to your expectations. We do believe, however, that our prices are reasonable. Especially during our happy hour, where you can get a 50% discount on drinks! We also take hospitality and friendliness very seriously, so we will look into this. An unaccommodating and rude staff is, of course, unacceptable. If you like to elaborate your feedback, please send us an email (service@vondelpark.stayokay.com). We do hope that you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Nice facilities, excellent breakfast. Wifi gets up to the second floor (at least in my room) the location was good, close to the museums. Kinda pricey but everything in amsterdam is. The rooms may need a couple more showers

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alejodp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thanks for your review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you liked our location, breakfast, and other facilities! We are aware of the fact that some rooms need more showers. Therefore, we are planning a renovation at the end of this year. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was in Amsterdam with a friend back in February, and we decided to book a room (we were two people in a four person all-female room) at the Stayokay Vondelpark after reading the positive reviews on Hostelworld. I was quite impressed with the cleanliness of the facilities, and the front desk staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I have already recommended this place to several friends travelling to Amsterdam. The location is excellent (right in Vondel Park!) and just minutes away from the Van Gogh Museum, Rijks Museum, the iconic I Amsterdam sign, shops, restaurants, basically anything you could need! During the weekend, we both felt very safe. We forgot that breakfast was included, so that was a nice surprise during our stay. Definitely worth the price; great value here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teeyap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your amazing review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you loved your stay with us during your time in Amsterdam. Thanks for recommending us and we hope to see you again some time soon! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

2nd year with a party of 18 year olds. Excellent again. Multi lingual desk with very helpful people. Great food great bar great atmosphere. Really close to Van Gogh museum and rijksmuseum and a 20 min walk to dam square. If in coach drop off at the end of small road as coach won't go down. An excellent hotel and will be back next year. Superb

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us once again. See you next year! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
XO Hotels Park West
#61 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,950 reviews
Hostelle
#38 of 237 in Amsterdam
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#51 of 237 in Amsterdam
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £17 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing