We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed in this hostel for a couple of nights and enjoyed our stay. It was a great location with clean and comfortable rooms. The only things that I would warn travelers about is that they do not have towels included in the rooms, wifi only in the downstairs lobby, and no kitchen available for the guests. It is also a little more expensive than most hostels and felt more like a hotel than a hostel. If you are traveling by yourself it is a great place to meet other young travelers though!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    756
    257
    53
    39
See reviews for
112
151
391
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

As if paying around €40 a night to sleep in a dorm, this hostel is a classic case of overpaying for a subpar hostel. The facilities are decent but nowhere worth the price. As if it wasn't already expensive enough, towels cost money as does using the computers. About the only affordable thing in the hostel is the luggage storage, but what type of hostel makes you pay for luggage storage? Would not stay here again

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ofriedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sistermans, General Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear ofriedm,
Thanks for sharing your experiences. Amsterdam is a very popular city in July & August. Our pricing is comparable to similar hostels in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and extensive facilities.
We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.
Jan, Hostel Manager Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We came from the Croydon in the red light district (the place was a complete nightmare) and stayed at the StayOkay because it was the only place that had rooms available around the same price range.

It was excellent! Other than the fact that there's bunk beds and you share a room with other people (there were 6 beds in our room), it was practically a hotel.

I would absolutely stay again and definitely recommend. Also the park next door is beautiful to walk through, especially as there isn't much to see in Amsterdam.

Feel free to email me for further details.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same as far as I am aware. We stayed in building A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were in a room of 4 beds. There are lockers in the room so we could put our stuff safe while visiting the city and its amazing museums. Never had a drink or a meal (we went outside) but the breakfast is excellent (4 types of bread, 2 jams, butter, meat, cheese, fresh fruits, milk, coffee, tea, cereals) we really could enjoy a great dish before going outside! Plus the location is ideal, next to the great Leidseplein!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fanny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I went to Amsterdam two times and I always slept to the StayOK Hostel.
The hostel is pretty cool because is near to Vondelpark, a very nice park in Amsterdam. The rooms are standard and clean, the receptionists always were so kind and helpful.
Maybe it's not a Grand Hotel, but for a fast and not too expensive trip in Amsterdam StayOK will always be my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed in a 6-bed room for three nights. The room was clean and very calm compared to other hostels I've stayed in. They day I got there I was shocked to see mold at the ceiling of the shower, but after telling the staff it was painted over the next day. Another thing: Only one power outlet for six people is quite inconvenient.
The staff were very competent and I'd recommend buying tickets to the big museums in advance at their desk, because they can give you tips on what you can visit and there is a discount.
The only thing I did not like was the breakfast. The cheese and bread rolls looked and tasted like they had been left out for hours. But the coffee was better than in most hostels.
Wifi was also okay, but only in the common area which could get quite crowded.
The hostel is conveniently located near the museum district right next to a park. I walked everywhere, but to the city center it takes about 15 minutes. I'd recommend taking the tram there, the stop is not far from the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Good location and good amenities.

Went as part of a large group and tended to find that was the norm, lots of stag & hen dos.

Friendly staff, would visit again in a large group but if I was by myself or in a small group I'd have a look at other options.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cragglepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#145 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing