We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“solo traveller - stayed two nights in february”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“solo traveller - stayed two nights in february”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

i stayed two nights here, i reached there at around 1AM, the staffs were good, they explanined me about the hotel the helped to get some cheap trip tickets, the room was ok, 12 beds in the hall, it was neat, the breakfast was ok, this is worth to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSundaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Front Office at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear Ssundaram,

thank you for your comment.

We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service.

Best regards from Amsterdam,
Christopher
Front Office Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    745
    251
    52
    39
See reviews for
109
149
382
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

We didn't have a big budget being students, so we chose to stay here and it was great value!! Sheets were clean and so was the bathroom. The breakfast was nice and changed each morning. You could chose cereals, toast, eggs etc. It was next to a really nice park and there were trams stops a short walk away. There were lots of bars and restaurants which was about 2-3 minutes walk away. Plenty of coffee shops and bike rentals places too. Although it wasn't in the centre near Dam Square it was only a short walk or short tram ride away, but there were plenty of shop and places to stop off at on the way. They also had happy hour at their bar in the hostel. The staff were polite and welcoming and were very helpful with directions.
Perfect if you're on a budget but don't want anything nasty!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKate151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Front Office at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, 3 February 2011
Dear LKate151,

thank you for your comment.

It's nice to read that you had a good time staying with us.
Comments like yours motivate me and my colleagues to keep up the work. =)

Have a nice day and best regards to London,

Christopher
Front Office Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

We don't normally stay in youth hostels but we were trying to save money and still have decent accomodation. StayOkay Vondelpark offers exactly that... but it is still a youth hostel and some guests have no consideration for others. This is not the fault of the hostel... it's luck of the draw.

You need to get a tram from the train station becuase its too far to walk whilst carrying your gear. Once you are there everthing is fairly central and easy to find.

There is a good TV lounge; good public computers; a good bar with reasonable prices; good security access; and it appears a good quality of people staying there. The staff were friendly and helpful. I can't understand why anyone would complain.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Front Office at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Dear sbr108,

thank you for your comment.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our service and had a good experience staying in our hostel.

We hope you had a good start of 2011 and send you warm regards to Australia,

Christopher
Front Office Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

No friendly service. Terrible smell. Expensive. Towels were a joke. Take your own if you dare to stay here. Euro Three fifty for little more than a handtowel? No atmosphere and no character either.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magnusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Front Office at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Dear Magnusman,

thank you for your comment.

We do our best to have happy customers and are sorry to hear you had a bad experience while staying in our hostel.

We wonder if you mentioned your problems to our staff during your stay?
Of course we are a budget hostel and no 5-star hotel, but we take complaints serious and are always looking for a solution. Surely we can only do so, if we are made aware of the nuisance.

Concerning the towels, we recently did a survey and we came to the conclusion that guests who don't bring their own towels rather pay EUR 5.-- for a big towel than EUR 3.50 for the regular ones we are offering. This is why we will change to big towels as soon as our stock is finished.

This is one of the ways we try to approach the needs and wants of our customers.

Best regards,
Christopher
Front Office Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

Lovely views of Vondelpark out the window which I'm sure is better in the summer months but as we went in Feb it wasn't much use!
Had a good 2-night stay here, however the breakfast was pretty rubbish and it was sooo far from the nightlife. Wasn't fun walking home after a night out. However, for the price it wasnt awful and not half as dirty or smelly as I thought it would be. Good for a SHORT stay,

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKBoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Front Office at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Dear Starrystudent,

thank you for your review.

We are surprised about your comment on our breakfast, as we several times got an award for best hostel breakfast (see comment from carlean_s on 14th September 2010).
But as they say... Tastes differ.

Also what you mention about the location surprises us, since it´s only a 5 minutes walk to the major museums such as van Gogh museum and the main night clubs (Paradiso, Melkweg, Sugar Factory).

Anyways, we hope you had a good start of 2011 and send you best regards to London,

Christopher
Front Office Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

Like a walk down memory lane, these easy to find rooms were simply college dorms as I had in the states. Single wood framed beds, simple shower room and separate room for toilet and sink.
Very simple. But allowed me to spend big in the city on food, entertainment, an the like.
Its not romantic, but it's quiet, clean, and located in the best park and you simply walk everywhere.
Hours spent in the room were purely for sleep and shower, the rest of my time was outdoors. Quite lovely way to do it!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniBeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

Stayed at the Stayokay Vondelpark for 3 nights in late October 2010, in a 6-bed female dorm (in the old wing).
Hostel is far from the train station, and taking a tram (No, 1, 2 and 5) is strongly recommended. Once you get off at Leidseplein, the Hostel is a 5-10 minute walk away, with the Marriot as a useful landmark.
Atmosphere was warm and welcoming, and check-in was efficient. There is a lift (at least for the old wing).
Floor space was a bit tight in the room, considering there were 6 of us and the layout of the furniture, but there was certainly no sense of claustrophobia as the room has a high ceiling. Room was clean and airy, with separate attached shower and attached toilet.
Encountered various members of the staff during the stay (checking-in, paying for internet time etc) and they were all very friendly and helpful. Reception is 24-hours.
Hostel has a fun vibe and is a clean and safe place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayokayVondelpark, Front Office at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Dear StanSG,

thank you for your extensive comment!

We are happy to hear that you had a good time while staying with us.
And yes, there is a lift in every building =)

We hope you had a good start of 2011 and send you warm regards to Singapore,
Christopher
Front Office Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 227 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 227 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Address: Zandpad 5, 1054 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique location offers everything for a perfect stay in Amsterdam. We are situated in the beautiful Vondelpark near the Leidseplein entertainment area. The three major and best known museums in Amsterdam (the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & Stedelijk Museum) are within 5 minutes walking distance. We offer plenty of activities for exploring the city. A free daily walking tour which is great to meet others travelers and to get inside information about Amsterdam. Or rent a Stayokay City bike and discover Amsterdam by yourself. The famous Canal Belt is best to be explored during a canal cruise. Enjoy great food & drinks offers in our bar dur one of the themed bar nights. We look forward to seeing you soon; Welcome in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing