We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and ideal for solo travel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Asterisk 3 star superior
Ranked #151 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Room small but clean, staff very friendly and helpful...went for English speaking driving lessons with Driveright who collected me at the door.After a weekend of driving around Amsterdam(opposite side of the road) I was only too glad to return to my comfy space and chill with TV.Don't forget to help yourself to discount cards in reception and buy your tram ticket there too....it saves time and money.I loved my weekend and felt safe alone at all times.This hotel is near enough to everything, but far enough from things you might not want to do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Basic hotel room but nice, clean and quiet! Very friendly service. Perfect if you, like me, spend the whole of the day in the city and only just need a place to sleep and have breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Bernice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Good location, 30 min to central station or 15min by tram. Near to museumplein (15min on feet). The breakfast is really nice!!
It's ok to stay few days but not if you want to be quiet, it's really really noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Asterisk. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location was good. Our room was small, but then we did go for the budget option, but it was clean and we were given lots of towels. The only downside was that the shared bathrooms need updating.
The breakfast buffet consisted of a very full continental-style breakfast. I would recommend this place for a city-break on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

It was so expensive for the type of the rooms. The location was correct, the service was correct, the breakfast was normal. It was a small room, and not very big, very normal room an without bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mireia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma B, Owner at Hotel Asterisk 3 star superior, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I understand that you stayed in a budget room with shared facilities. The budget rooms are indeed smaller than the rooms with private facilities. Prices are flexible, and depend on moment of reservation and number of rooms left, just like airplaintickets. When you were in Amsterdam, a major congress was held in RAI, which increased prices just like in high season. It is a pity that you did not like the roomtype, because of the absense of a shower and toilet, where this was the roomtype you reserved. Further, I am thankful that you shared your satisfaction on location, breadfast and service.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Pros
-great location on quiet street yet not faraway from attractions
-deluxe room was big compared to prize
-decent breakfast
-helpful staff

Cons
-bathroom was out of date
-noise from other rooms can be easily heard
-there were some insects in the room, not sure what (we kept windows open whole time, though)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Tatu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stay at Asterisk was very pleasant and stress free what is the most important. Also, location is very good as well as you only minutes away from all the night life and if you rent a bike you also minutes away from the main Amsterdam station as well as city center.

Check-in was very smooth and fast. We were also able to leave our bags in the storage and head to city straight away. Staff was really polite and helpful. Also, Emelie added extra mile to suggest any places of interest to visit or any other assistance needed and asked if anything else she can help us with. I am working in London within 4-5* hotels for over 4 years and really would be able to be picky but at The Hotel Asterisk there was nothing to pick up on something.

Free wi-fi, also we needed to check out 30min later, as I was getting my car from car park my fiancee needed to stay in the room so, it did not cause any inconvenience for the hotel.

Definitely, would recommend!

Thanks for all the staff and Emelie. ALL THE BEST FOR YOU!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graaav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#147 of 376 in Amsterdam
413 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#63 of 376 in Amsterdam
514 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Freeland Hotel
Freeland Hotel
#191 of 376 in Amsterdam
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#178 of 376 in Amsterdam
976 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#174 of 376 in Amsterdam
465 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#44 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asterisk 3 star superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asterisk 3 star superior

Address: Den Texstraat 16, 1017 ZA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £84 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Asterisk 3 star superior 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm welcoming hotel, frienly and helpfull reception, located in a quiet street in the center of Amsterdam. Rooms for all budgets, small and large rooms, with and without private facilities. Close to the booming "Pijp" area. At walking distance to nightlife and museumarea. Free Wifi, good buffet breakfast. Main building has an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Asterisk 3 star superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterisk Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing