We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Ranked #318 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hotel was excellent, perfect location up by central station and right next to popeyes coffee shop, couldn't be better. Staff were superb, really friendly and helpful. Room was good and the shower was top draw, brand new clean and powerful. This was my 4th time in Amsterdam and 1st time in this hotel but when I return to Amsterdam next year I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Quentin Arrive Hotel for 4 nights in early June 2013. When we arrived at the hotel I believe it was an Australian manager who simply looked at us & said, "Yes" like we were an inconvenience to her. Was a bit surprised & having stayed a various hotels in Europe over a two month period haven't received a cold reception like that. Not a huge deal I suppose but first impressions. The hotel room was small, standard, and authentic which was ok. The hotel is situated in a great central location. The main issue was our room was beside a dorm where there were 7 or 8 guys staying & the noise was ridiculous. Something I think management should have monitored. I know Amsterdam is a party city but surely when you return to the hotel you can expect some peace and quiet. Leave the party in the clubs.

Room Tip: Ensure you request a room where there are no groups next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a room for three for a few days. The room was alright, the shower and bathroom were shared and sometimes we had to wait, but that's fine.

We had a room on the second highest floor, so the view from the balcony was great, especially in the month we went. However, the stairs were very narrow and it was tough bringing our luggage up. I'd suggest getting a floor on the lower levels.

Had a rather bad experience with the receptionist, she was really rude. Can't recall her name. We came in early, and had to bring our luggage down a flight of stairs and then carry it up again when it came time to check in - it was just 30 mins from check-in time (I understand the entire cleaning process, but my friend was feeling ill and really needed to lie down, but the receptionist was not understanding at all).

We did try to ask her several questions on service and so on, but she was not forthcoming and brushed us off like we were a hassle. Even after we checked in, she questioned us on which room we were staying in and whether we were actually staying there on the second day itself. She ruined our whole experience there, and it was our first time in Europe. The other receptionists were nice enough, though.

I have to admit, however, that the location was spot on, very central. Lots of eateries around the area, and very close to the train station.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihaela B, Front Office Manager at Quentin Arrive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for giving us this review about your impressions. We apologies with the inadequate behavior of our colleague. This incident will be further discussed into a new customer service training with our colleagues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The room was small and we had to share a bathroom. But there was never any issue with the bathroom or shower.

We only stayed one night, and it was a nice place to stay. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and you really can't beat the location!

We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Steep stairs, no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We recently visited The Quentin Arrive, We have stayed in this hotel many times, very central location in Haarlem Straat area, everything is nearby from Popeyes Coffee shop, to No 42 Great snack bar selling the best Chicken in pita bread hot sauce ...lol ouch hehe also if you are a smoker..you are Allowed to smoke out of the bedroom windows, which is great, it does save you having to go up & down the very steep stairs, this time we had a 3rd floor room, not recommended unless you are young & very fit, difficulty in getting my case up the stairs, so I suggest trying to book a room on floor 1. Staff as always are helpful & friendly. Rooms are clean but basic. Much recommended to stay there.

Room Tip: Try booking a room on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMrsDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihaela B, Front Office Manager at Quentin Arrive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Very happy to hear that after many years being our guest you still enjoy staying with us. This is the reward of our efforts of pleasing our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a very convenient hotel to the train station at a reasonable price.As a single traveler, it was comfortable but it has two items you need to plan for. 1) It has a shared toilet and a shared shower on each floor. I never had a conflict even with the hotel full. 2) The hotel has no elevator and steep circular stairs. Luckily, one only has struggle up one time.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Would I stay there again? Absolutely.
Phil USA

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My 3 girlfriends and I stayed at the Quentin Arrive Hotel in Amsterdam, Sept 13-15, 2013. We found the hotel to be very well located, simple, clean, safe and welcoming.

What is beyond satisfaction is the following:

On the last day, I did the unthinkable! I forgot my Apple I-Pad (no security on it) on the Tram. When I arrived at the Quentin Arrive Hotel, the front office manager, Mihaela Balaceanu asked me what was wrong. I was so very upset to have forgotten my I-Pad (with all my grand-daughter photos). Ms. Balaceanu told me not to despair and she took my contact information. My friends and I left for Paris.

The following Monday, my husband received an email from Mihaela Balaceanu (the Quentin Arrive Hotel), saying that the Amsterdam Tram System called the hotel re my I-Paid. Ms. Balaceanu picked up my I-Pad and she sent it to me in Canada. I now have it!

Ms. Balaceanu not only went out of her way to help me out with my I-Pad, she restored faith in me that we still have honest and caring people in the world.

I am recommending people of ALL ages to stay at the Quentin Arrive Hotel located at Haarlemmerstraat 65, 1013EL Amsterdam, Netherlands.

Sincerely
Henriette Carveth – Toronto - Canada

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henriette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mihaela B, Front Office Manager at Quentin Arrive Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words and for the high score you reviewed Quentin Arrive.
I was not thinking that I am doing something special by giving a hand with the i-Pad. I am happy I could help. It was a real pleasure having you and the others charming ladies as our guests.Warm greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#331 of 376 in Amsterdam
197 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#281 of 376 in Amsterdam
245 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#310 of 376 in Amsterdam
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Side Inn Hotel
#315 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,010 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#216 of 376 in Amsterdam
279 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#282 of 376 in Amsterdam
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin Arrive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Arrive Hotel

Address: Haarlemmerstraat 65, 1013 EL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £55 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Quentin Arrive Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a beautiful 19th century building, in the middle of a 650-year-old street. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located close to the Central Station, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Royal Palace, Dam square, Red Light District, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. You will have a variety of restaurants, bars and cafes right outside the hotel door. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quentin Arrive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Arrive Amsterdam
Quentin Arrive Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing