We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient dump with dodgy staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Ranked #300 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Maidenhead, Berks, England
1 review
“Convenient dump with dodgy staff”
Reviewed 8 May 2005

The hotel is very basic and quite dirty, but for the price I can't really complain. The steep stairs and the wiring in the rooms were obvious health hazards but luckily all fourteen drunken stag nighters survived pretty much intact.
When we first arrived it transpired that they did not have enough rooms for us, and they still tried to argue the toss despite me showing the confirmation details of the bookings I had made some months ago. Were it not for the fact I am very determined and skilled in calm negotiation we might have been fobbed off. The girl on the desk when we first arrived was pleasant and helpful, but her male colleague who was there the second night was really funny with us even though we were all well behaved. The guy was surly, rude and unhelpful, which is totally out of order regardless of the cost. The location of the hotel was ideal because it is easy to find from the rail station, about five minutes stroll from all the action, but still far enough away to be fairly quiet in the small hours.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arridon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    170
    194
    92
    110
See reviews for
55
151
63
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 April 2005

Hi i stayed at the arrive for 4 days.When we arrived at the hotel the staff were teriffic very friendly and helpful however the room was very average no room service in the 4 days we were there wardrobe doors hanging off .bathroom no plugs'shower curtain ripped'. We were 3 lads so didnt spend much time there in my opnion you pay for what you get paid 350 euros for 4 nights.Great location central to everything

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 February 2005

I stayed in the Quentin Arrive with 5 friends, we didn't fancy sharing bathrooms so booked 2 en-suite triple rooms. Fortunately as we were all female the rooms were next door to one another. We found one room was very large and another average sized. The en suite bathrooms had obviously just been renovated because they were lovely and very modern. we had to fight over the double bed and single bed in each room, but we weren't really bothered.
Overall we had a lovely stay and really enjoyed the hotel. I think people only write reviews when they are really disappointed so I wouldn't worry too much if you have already booked this hotel. The staff were also very friendly and helped us out a lot.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2005

I reserved this room expecting a basic no frills room. It was a nightmare. The carpets were dirty and smelled of vomit. The curtains were torn. The shower curtain was covered with mold. I went down and complained so they showed us a different room that was not much better. We checked out immediately but they would not refund my money that I prepaid. They are still saying we stayed there when we did not and the front desk person knows this. They are a very unscrupulous outfit.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
188 Thank AKmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2004

I stayed at this hotel in July 2004 - I was expecting somewhere reasonably basic, but I was not prepared for what we encountered. Our room had less atmosphere than a prison cell, with bare walls and no window save for a tiny one in the top corner of the wall which was too high to see out of. The bathrooms on our floor were both filthy and out of order for the entire time we stayed (3 days) and the ones on the next floor down were also filthy and only one had working light. It was truly horrible and put a real dampener on our trip to the otherwise beautiful Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
153 Thank Rimski75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 August 2004

friendly staff and idealy located not far from central stat, 10min walk, and near the busy city center and all its attractions red light included!(very important!)i found the rooms very small as there was a group of 8 of us crammed into 2 small 4 bed rooms so we were led to assume, which were actually old bunkbeds. it was very hot no air cond, no en suite bathroom facilities, i had to go to the floor below me to take a shower which is a nuscience. its an ok place if your not too fussy! and looking for a cheap place, nice staff too

Helpful?
147 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 July 2004

I stayed in the Quintin Arrive Hotel, near Centraal Station. The room was very small, and the shared shower flooded up to your ankles. Other than that the location was great, many coffeeshops right outside the hotel door. Also just a 3 minute walk from Centraal Station. I'd stay there again if I'm alone, but only if they fix the shared batroom.

Helpful?
149 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#293 of 367 in Amsterdam
702 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#295 of 367 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#270 of 367 in Amsterdam
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#315 of 367 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#294 of 367 in Amsterdam
367 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#232 of 367 in Amsterdam
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin Arrive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Arrive Hotel

Property: Quentin Arrive Hotel
Address: Haarlemmerstraat 65, 1013 EL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Quentin Arrive Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a beautiful 19th century building, in the middle of a 650-year-old street. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located close to the Central Station, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Royal Palace, Dam square, Red Light District, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. You will have a variety of restaurants, bars and cafes right outside the hotel door. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quentin Arrive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Arrive Amsterdam
Quentin Arrive Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing